and kimi is good, all he need is a reliable car now
Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Apr 26 2005, 09:23
bridgestone always having better performance than Michelin at cooler temperature . And now the F1 is back to europe, which also helps Ferrrari performance.
Plus, Imola is Ferrari home GP, their factory is just miles away from the circuit and they conduct lot's of testing there. All these fact, actually help Ferrari to have a stunning race last weekend.
[snapback]928180[/snapback]
[Joc]™ said:its those round black things... that we call TAYAR/tyres... and i would believe that this track rewards mechanical grip way more than aerodynamics. As i've read, someone said mr. shoeman was right at the rear wing of AhLunsok...... well that's cause they were both braking into a very slow corner (5th last corner/ near the end of sector 3) where mechanical grip is more important than aero. If you notice, the other part SCHUmaikai was near again is at the hairpin!! Aside from that, he's always 3-4 car lengths away.... so... wanna know if the F2005 is damn good aerodynamically? Look out for the next race in Barcelona, Spain. Any car that has bad aero will be uncovered there! Only conclusion i'm drawing from this race is
1. Bridgestone upped their game
2. The F2005 is very good mechanically (well they were last to bring their new car out, so there's definitely more development.)
3. Schumaikai has bloody good stamina even though he's 36yrs-old
cyclonite said:Yes I think you have a very balanced view of the situation. 1 more thing to add, Schumacher was running on a new engine as compared to Alonso and the rest. It seems that Ferrari was squeezing the juice out of everything just to get a win at their home track, but they couldn't and they know that they can't perform this great in the coming races because so happened everything fell into their favour this weekend. Maybe that's why jean todt wasn't so happy. :(
Next weekend will be Alonso's home race. I hope Schumacher will steal the win back from him la.
butthead said:i believe Schumi has a much better aero package... he was surprisingly fast after leaving the pack he started with and until he was near Alonso and Button...at that point he seems to lost all speed...i think if he was given a clear track...Alonso with or without engine problems would have sucked dust...
even at Bahrain, Schumi was stabbing at Alonso's ass all the time...i jus dun get where the heck did Renault pull all those torque from...every corner it seems that Alonso can jus pull away from Schumi even though he is stuck on his rear wing...
[Joc]™ said:that renault has tremendous traction!! remember last year when they were overtaking 2 cars everytime they get off the start line? that's how good their traction is. this, to me, i think, can be down to two things.
One, is their engine. Renault are now using their 72degree engine rather than the conventional 90degrees. Before this it was their fabled 110degree "wideangle" engine which didn't give them enough power and reliability. So this little engine of theirs have recently came back up the power chart, and i think they have tuned it very nicely, allowing the engine to give plenty of torque even at low RPMs.
Second, it could be their car setup and suspension geometry. Renault were the first team a few years back to fully design a suspension completely around and for Michelins. And i'm sure today, they've fine tuned and built the suspension to the tyre and the tyre to the suspension and it's an iterative process, but i'd bet they've got a hell lot of results out of it.
Can't seem to find any other reason as to why their traction is so good, anyone care to share some light?
prodigy said:i remember 2 years back the FIA banned renaults traction control because they were intercepting some signal and using it to perfectly launch the car once the light turned green.
BoatOwner said:Mclaren launch system can't be too shabby either, notice that Alonso was unable to pass Kimi at Imola :).
[Joc]™ said:Ohhh yes i vouch for that!!! Sigh, damn McLarens... when are they ever going to be REAL good. For the past 4 races now, they've always managed to get best lap of the race or 2nd best at Imola, but they somehow just can't quite make it work and turn it into a win. When kimi's car broke and slowed down, i nearly needed a new tv, but obviously i can't afford one so i refrained. And you know how bloody irritating it would be to have some friends call and start laughing!! Sigh, barcelona is coming and i'm already prepared to be disappointed once more.
prodigy,
yeah i've heard about that rumour, and apparently it is still a rumour, that the renaults have intercepted the electric wave/frequency of the start lights. Apparently after the last red light lights up, and its about to dim off, there has to be a cut in electricity, so there's a change in EMF or flux or whatever (im not a electrical engineer or a physicist), their onboard computer captures it and disengages the clutch. But it was fun watching them fly past everyone. Did you hear Sato's radio during the starts!!! Its awesome!! The BARs are ok too, remember sato nudging schumacher at monaco last year?? hahaha, kamikaze is always his style. Well back to Sato, his race engineer Jock Clear would always go through the start with him. Like who's in front who's behind, until after the first corner and the cars take place properly. So he'll go like "Sauber sauber behind you on the right... williams williams left left left, space in front.... bla bla bla" its real fun to watch!!
prodigy said:joc,
glad you clarified but it could well be true. these f1 guys are pure genious. how could they ever think of doing such thing. however, they're still very much a quick starter.
also glad you're a mclaren fan coz i am too. and yeah, i've been laughed at almost 4 years since mika last won the WDC. its quite dissapointing watching mclaren smoke their cars every now and then. just when i thought they're back with kimi driving strongly over the pass few races, they hit another low by retiring in the lead. just for the records, team mclaren now have 4 different drivers in the championship points.
sato's onboard is real funny. jock clear must have thought sato suck at the starts that he had to guide him thru the first corner. makes me wonder if we're watching 'formula 1 for dummies'. hard to imagine why would they even want sato in the driver lineup if they had to guide him. to please sponsors?