Hyundai Coupe RD aircon issue

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Part 1.5
Situation of my Coupe after taking out the things

Is this the fan/motor for the aircon? it stay next to the cooling coil, behind glove compartment. the small hole on the right is connected to the engine bay.
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/2159/roy20050529055cv1.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Total rip off, another Ouch ...
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/4073/roy20050529056ep2.jpg

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/2792/roy20050529057kl4.jpg

[/FONT]
[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Part 2
Cooling coil replacement

Shifu call me up, tell me that he can't find the quatation for genuine Hyundai Coupe cooling coil, but he found the replacement. and I agree with the price.

At tuesday (ya, after 2 days riding at town without aircon... I almost get toasted and get kill in my BLACK Coupe.), cannot tahan already, ular out during office hour and go to the workshop at Rawang.

Damn, you guys will hate me, and I hate myself also,I forgot to bring the bloody hell camera with me!!! (Later I realise that I have the company (ex-company to be exact) phone O2 mini with me, but hell, I lost those photos when I leave the company.

basically he just installed the new "compatible" cooling coil for me, put back what ever stuff pull out. At the same time I also told him that I can smell outside

Of couse now the aircon is cooler than before. But few of my plastic holder "kaki" in the central console broke, so my central console give vibration and make noise at low speed. Thinking of replacing the that plastic console. (Actually thinking of painting the entire console and dashboard to silver, hehe).

Notice the major different between my old (but original) cooling coil and the new one is that the first blow of air for the new cooling coil is always hot (No matter I start the car at 10am or 6am in the morning), but my old cooling coil won't, usually the first blow of the aircon in the morning (at 6am) is cool. The rest is the same. :)
[/FONT]

Part 3
My original Parts

Took lot's of pictures when I reach home.
Those are the original parts taken out from my coupe.

Notice the word "Elantra" at the box? that the box which comes with my new aircon parts, I think I'm using Elantra cooling coil now

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/1812/roy20050531011yb0.jpg

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/1528/roy20050531012he8.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]1st part, Expansion Valve, FRONT. Original Brand FIDIKOKI.
PS: Changing the Expansion valve is not necessery, but I take the shifu's advice to change it, just don't want to go through those painful experience again.
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/6134/roy20050531013yo1.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]1st part, Expansion Valve, SIDE
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/6765/roy20050531014rt5.jpg

1st part, Expansion Valve, BACK , writing faded
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/4955/roy20050531015ly4.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Expansion Valve, [/FONT]Bottom
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/2815/roy20050531026di6.jpg

[/FONT]1st Part, Expansion Valve, STANDING
The interface with lot's of hole the one connect with cooling coil if I'm not mistaken
[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Word HFC printed on top.[/FONT][/FONT]
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/8112/roy20050531016tk8.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]
now I changed it to DENSO, the packing of the DENSO Expansion Valve. Remember the product code, ya :)
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/7033/roy20050531017ah6.jpg

Expansion Valve, Closer. MAKE IN JAPAN. Which means my Coupe is mix already, Korea + Japan
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/8288/roy20050531018wt2.jpg

2nd Part, Receiver Drier,
PS: Again , changing this is not necessary, my Receiver Drier is still functioning, but I decide to change it.
HCC logo on top as well.

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]Entire block, this fella sitting at the back of the driver side head lamp. In order to replace this unit, you need to take out the our BM honk, the headlamp set.[/FONT]
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/9590/roy20050531022sm9.jpg

What do those writing means? My guess is my Receiver drier is manufacturer at 14th August, 1997.
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/7631/roy20050531019jg8.jpg

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/9749/roy20050531044zi0.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]2nd Part, Receiver Driyer, TOP
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/6404/roy20050531021gw0.jpg

3rd Part, the main charactor , the cooling coil.
The connector at the left connect to the Expansion valve directly.
It look so clean and new after the Shifu wash it..

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/9499/roy20050531025xr8.jpg

[/FONT]
[/FONT]
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5838/roy20050531046se1.jpg

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/9553/roy20050531045vz1.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]3rd Part, the cooling coil. SIDE
Looks like building for me. :)
[/FONT]http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/6949/roy20050531047ua6.jpg

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/4293/roy20050531029ct8.jpg

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/6057/roy20050531048rg2.jpg

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]3rd Part, the cooling coil.
This is where the bloody leaking happen... The leak that cause me all the trouble.
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5595/roy20050531030jq0.jpg

[/FONT]

Entire set I changed
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/7079/roy20050531036ur6.jpg

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/7282/roy20050531035ei5.jpg

[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Sans Serif]- END OF REPORT -
[/FONT]​

Wah.. massive! didn't know it's such a big project to change cooling coil for our cars.. I dont smell gasoline but sometimes I do smell the asap from outside.. My air-cond is still cold though (perhaps I drive alone most of the time).. Is it difficult to turn off the external fresh air duct permanently? Our Malaysia air not fresh la

SIM, that out-door smell problem gone after i replace the sponge

Yup.. understand what you mean.. but is it a big project just to change one sponge?

Yes, it is. You need to go through the same process listed above, because he sponge is at the air con intake.

OK. Then I will prepare some masks in my car.. Wear them when I smell sth funny!

Thanks BS for the detailed report again.....

my cooling coil (old and new) looks exactly the same like yours...just that it does not have the "HCC" mark on it.....i think denso may have this compatible cooling coil for coupe....now still monitoring the aircond system see got any problem or not (i hope not)....not so worry since the Sifu said got 1 year warranty but jus feel very tired keep going workshop.....

All this while my air cond is working perfectly....no gasoline smell and cool even on a hot sunny day....sometimes rainy day and nite when i travel long distance.....i cannot tahan the cool and have to open abit the windows....(i was cursing the aircond too cool that time, now this is my "pou ying")hahahaha

my turn to kena :(

workshop charging me RM815....

he said compressor also kena.... now quoting me.. *pain*

Ivan right?

sorry for the hang up this morning.
compressor also kena? better check carefully. if compressor, RM815 cannot settle.

hehe..yeapas.. demm pain... compressor kena..

wanted to ask how much is compresor usually...
mechanic quoated me 900.. please advice :)

met wid mr lee today.. he could not get the compressor for me...

urm.. anyone has good contacts to help source me a compressor?
need it kinda urgently :)

hehe.. please share any good contact.. cheers

I got 1 ori compressor mah, can sale how much ah?... want it?

I just get a new fog ligh for $110.00 but I think will buy 1 more b'coz the colour not the same, 1 new & 1 old.

hehe.. yu i am interested in it :) gimme a price :)

just an update for everyone...
i called hyundai glemarie.. they quoted me 3k..
then went to haki trade in kemuning (new branch) they have an unit going for only RM350.. but need to mod abit to fit my car :P

haha, RM 300.00 ori but used, no need mod at all

yu911 can le.. can u pass me ur number :)

i think i'll just take from u.. i need it kinda urgently

gumball,
soli for late reply, can't login to this forums, don't know why.
012-2343 911