Hyundai Accent

The only thing the Rally Accent has got that is similar with the one we can buy is the body. Your point is?

And if you want to talk about mods, he can go buy a Proton. After 1 million ringgit worth of mods it'll be better than a BMW.

In stock form its an auntie's car to go to the pasar, as someone accurately pointed out.

hhmmm .... need some opinions here now ...

with a budget of <RM 50k ... watz the best car to consider?

si|verfish,

hmm, but i do have friends who switch from Proton ISWARA/WIRA to Hyundai Accent, and they just love Accent and never consider having another proton in their life.

jonteh,

first you must ask yourself, are you looking for performance car? mod it? or you just want to keep it as stock car?

but <50K can't get Accent also.

jonteh,

are you looking for sedan or 2 doors car?
how about SRM?
http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-3-1105971799.jpg

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-3-1105971961.jpg

Originally posted by Getz+Jan 19 2005, 04:13 -->
QUOTE (Getz @ Jan 19 2005, 04:13 )
--QuoteBegin-acbc
@Jan 18 2005, 18:14
Korean cars = cheap
Spare parts = freakin' expensive!

Hyundai spare parts is the cheapest (mostly) compared to other Korean makes. [/b][/quote]
how bout if u compare them to other brands like japanese brands??? :o

i stil noob bout spare parts's prices... hehe... :D

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Jan 19 2005, 09:54
si|verfish,

hmm, but i do have friends who switch from Proton ISWARA/WIRA to Hyundai Accent, and they just love Accent and never consider having another proton in their life.
Well, like you said it depends on what you want. If you don't mind the lack of performance it will be better than a proton in the sense that it doesn't feel as cheap as the crap you find in a proton. In a nutshell, the Accent is for ppl who want a car BUT its not for ppl who want to drive.

If it look like this, buy it. If the built quality is your main criteria in choosing new car, i think it is much better than our beloved local car. Performance wise it about same as proton with the similar capacity engine.

But if you want performance potential, look elsewhere.

B)

i think the moddability of hyundai cars are possible and quite potential but to do so you'll have to fork out a lump sum to do so as the performance parts are not available locally.

the most probable reason to this that i could think of is due to the large market available to sell performance parts that can be fitted to protons and japanese cars. looking at the large market and demand available, it makes the parts easier and cheaper to be sourced.

it's just a matter of time when korean cars come into the modification scene, locally. if i'm not mistaken D33p$h|t (a forumer in zth, but i don't quite remember his nick) has put in a lot of effort in modifying his hyundai elantra..

everything is possible.

i really don't think Accent is an old folks car or just to go to the market place. If you just look into the reviews of the British that criticizes cars around, then what makes the people that drive a Proton has to say? Reviews sometimes just doesn't do justice to the car.

The comfortness in the Hyundai Accent is awesome I must say, except for the harder cushion seats (new car??). The interior is rather quiet, the suspension is relatively good as well.

Handling wise, not as good (compared to my honda civic) when stock (especially if you are trying to do some sharp cornering at speeds higher than average).. but that could be fixed with suitable struts..

Acceleration is a lil poor, honestly. Why I say so? Sometimes when I want to overtake the car in front of me, the acceleration slowly picks up when i started to floor the pedal but once it revs high.. it's speechless ;). However, the gear change in response to the acceleration pedal is very good and smooth compared to my honda civic automatic which jerks.

Install some strut bars to improve handling, 15" sport rims, bodykit it up and you have a pretty nice ride to go with. Too bad this car ain't what I drive daily, otherwise I would've do the upgrades i've mentioned to it :P However if my dad gets me some other car that I ain't really gonna like (selling the civic!), I'll take the Accent :D

Enough said. For budget around RM 50k (don't mention mod this and that), I think there's not many option available. For a sedan, besides Proton there's only Korean makes you can choose from. Forget Japs car unless you wanna get a 3 or 4 years old 2nd hand car. If you really wanna go for performance mod ($$$ not an issue to you), I suggest you forget Korean makes.

Wira also based on a rally car. To me, unless it has REAL rally or race parts in it, I'd say the whole rally quote is a marketing sham.

Thing about the Accident is that there's nothing wrong with it. Neither is there anything special about it. It's just a car which takes you from A to B, no frills nor thrills.

If I were you, I'd wait for the local Boon/Passo which is going to be released by P2 in a few months time.

thanks for all the feedbacks. really appreciate it.

just got a call from my friend. his friend is selling of his waja 1.8 (full specs) and satria gti (2001) .... and his dad's friend is selling of another waja 1.8

- waja for round rm55k

- gti for round rm45k

- 2nd waja for round RM50k

might consider one of them ...

Get the GTi! :D If its a 2001' and below.
Then change the entire noisy suspension to Titan stuff.

edit: I once read in the autoworld forums... dont know about the Accent, but Spectra owners were saying Hyundai offers alot more accessories at Proton prices, but the quality is about the same as Proton.

damn man, what's this myth about japanese cars better than korean cars? for me, both are comparably good, if not better than proton.....

can't stand it whenever tell ppl i drive a chevy, they go "why dint buy honda civic or toyota altis instead?" damn la....as if everyone can afford to fork out 20k more for jap cars.....it's like saying "why dun buy bmw or mercedes?" when you have a japanese car..best part is, neither any of them are driving a honda or toyota..

NATO = no action, talk only....

also when ppl sit in my car, they also say the same thing.."eh, i think honda or toyota more powerful la"......or another one, "car so cheap, sure spare parts expensive one".....

Why ppl buy Vios or City? Because they doesn't looks like uncle car? Based on what? They perform better than Accent? Or spare parts cheaper? They got good mod option? Or should I say those car also bring you from A to B? Both also selling around RM 80k.

To fellas driving Korean make cars: Don't be so touchy lar. Theres a fellow member wanting opinions, we give it lor. Honest opinions and what we hear from tv, mags, or friends. If you're happy with your car then good for you lar. jonteh will read all this and make judgement for himself.

Back to the point. Theres no denying that Jap cars are a notch above Korean and Malaysian makes. Brands like Toyota, Honda, Subaru etc are also revered by Europeans along European makes like BMW, Mercs and cars from VW. Its the overall quality of these cars.

Thing about Korean and Malaysian cars is they are cheap. When you get affordability you lose quality somewhere. Whether its the interior build quality or exterior build quality, ride, performance, styling, depreciation, maintenance etc. Somethings gotta give.

actually one reason Korean cars are cheap because of the Korean currency (and marketing strategy). :lol: , not because of it's quality ^_^ . Frankly, I think Proton car is not cheap, just that it's the cheapest car (after tax adjustment) available in Malaysia market.

And government trying to knock down Proton's closet automotive Price competitor, Hyundai by tax. :angry: (PS: Sonata increase RM10K after 2005)

Stock Accent comes with 89bhp only. That's what the sales person told me last time. So it's not a pocket rocket, I admit this.

Pupu,
nice optra.

In a fair market (where free trade actually exists unlike Malaysia) the Korean and Malaysian makes will be in the budget category, and that means anywhere else that these cars are sold except our beloved nation. In conslusion, they are CHEAP.

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Jan 20 2005, 12:42
Stock Accent comes with 89bhp only. That's what the sales person told me last time. So it's not a pocket rocket, I admit this.
Don't expect Accent to fly or outrun GTi. I don't know the actual bhp. But I can say they perform better than my previous 1.6 (A) Satria, compared to 1.5 (A) Accent.