How to use "lah" in a sentence

GNandGS

Catchy title? Hope so, with no offense intended... Im an American relocating to KL with my wife (local) in the coming months.

* -What do you drive(optional):

Daily? S-10 truck (similar to STORM). Also own Pontiac Sunfire, and my two "babies"... both Buicks:

http://gwtra.org/images/afton/shawngn_lg.jpg and http://gwtra.org/images/ol_blue.jpg

Kansas USA

Systems Administrator

* -How you came about to know Zerotohundred.com?:

Google is my pal!

* -What were you expecting or purpose coming to Zerotohundred.com?

Find info on how a car nut survives in Malaysia/Asia. Meet like minded folks as none of the in-laws "get it".

* -What are you planning to do in the next 2-3years?

Figure out SOME way to import the GN. Hopefully be able to take part in some MY drag racing on a few occasions. Very $$ to do though :baring_teeth:

welcome to malaysia mat salleh hehehhehehehe :p

u can use "lah" like this, "where are u from lah?"

welcome on board, GNandGS.

another example of using "lah"

Friend of you, "Your ride is cool"
Answer, "No Lah."

Accually the 'lah' sound can be use in many form of conversation. but it can't be use at questioning ppl.
Am i right??

dun like that lah, the feul price is not so expensive lah, still can afortable lah, see other country, their petrol is more expensive than us. government is very good to us liao lah, dun blame them lah, blame also no use de lah, the most i belanja u eat lala lah.

welcome to malaysia, the best place on earth :shades_smile:

and goodluck with the importing of your car!

P.S : the word "lah" is normally used to emphasise. haha.

hoho... welcome to malaysia... a plc where safe from disaster... hahah

CaN be use as persuaDe,emphasise r rejecting..eg CoMe LAH..don'T LaH..or MOst PoweRfuL/RespectFUL is 'PAk LAH' tHe PM

arh.. welcome welcome mat salleh!!!! Arious~ta!!

flip back general talk to view the motor show pictures,
i have some too.. u can email me then.. hehe..

yea.. in malaysia speaking culture, all meaning and sentences
are shorten. basically "lah" brings no meaning, just a add
on expression to that particular sentences...

ex: Do you want a cup of coffee?
" Dont want lah " instead of " I already have mine this morning "

or ... a very common unpolite terms used here

ex: " F*** u lah ! " ( strightly for example only )

good to know that's an american aboard.......

than can share share ideas and technologies "lo".....

"la","Lo','Ah" are just the common sentence ender with no meaning.....merely an expression....

Australian: "Good to see you mate"
American: "Good to see you man/son/dude"
whereby the 'mate','man','son','dude' doesn't really mean anything.............

welcome to this side of the globe.......plenty to learn!

'lah, loh, le, ah' can be use to question people also.

Now you are telling me you dont want to go out with me lah?

now you want to break up lar???

see?

welcome abroad. better bring some sun tan.

yo guys...
dun forget 'meh'
often use in situation like:
ur gal cun lah!
ya meh...den kena hentam
keke...

bro welcome on board to the hottest place on earth...

Write your reply...