How to know Rx8

thinking getting NA fast car .. ..
sometimes scare if TURBO car run highway like KL-Penang... engine cannot tahan / piston etc .. ..and need stop and rest ?

It wont break but... It wears out faster than a normal piston car :/. Rotary mah :biggrin:

You dont need to stop and rest, just get an intercooler when you get your turbo pasang-ed and it should keep your engine cool for the whole trip back and fourth. Maintain your engine (Like service it when youre suppose to, use quality oils etc etc) and it should last long also.

ohhh ic ic ..
anyway . .. i just looking (A) sporty car and power .. ..
ok lets end topic turbo ..

back to the 2003 rx8 .. .. how izzit 4speed (A) , the price almost same with others sporty car like
Evo7/skyline gtt/subaru/fairlady/celica/mrs/coopers/

actually a lot ppl just misunderstand rotary...its actually not tat fragile o hard 2 maintain

learning...ok...evo7 gta is not bad...gtt fails witout gtr bodykit....subaru auto?....fairlady roadtax is xpensiv....celica really underpower....mrs same like celica but cornering vr good...cooper no idea...i prefer JDM

But if it is not that hard to maintain or the engine easy to fail, why there are so many people disposing their rx-8s? Search at mudah or motortrader, rx-8 most of the time got the most number listed among other jdm sports car. Just wondering...

actually a lot ppl just misunderstand rotary...its actually not tat fragile o hard 2 maintain

learning...ok...evo7 gta is not bad...gtt fails witout gtr bodykit....subaru auto?....fairlady roadtax is xpensiv....celica really underpower....mrs same like celica but cornering vr good...cooper no idea...i prefer JDM

Cooper too common and the facelifted one looks kinda well... gay :smokin:

I'd go with the Gtt :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 12:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:56 PM ----------

But if it is not that hard to maintain or the engine easy to fail, why there are so many people disposing their rx-8s? Search at mudah or motortrader, rx-8 most of the time got the most number listed among other jdm sports car. Just wondering...

Cause its EXPENSIVE to maintain, its not hard, just pay for an engine rebuild lah :biggrin:
Then of course, people who drive RX8's dont have light right foots...

Get what I mean? :rolleyes:

Its on its way out... the rotary engine tends to wear out faster then normal piston engines but im not too good in this department here haha :rofl:

Any sifu's can help?

the onli thing tat rotary will spoil is the apex seal...this 1 is quite common for FC and FD...for rx8,madza do a lot of RnD for the engine to run smooth,low fuel consumption and much better reliability....y sell ar...the wan faster car loh....so it depends on ur daily drive style...if u like 2 go fast boost here n there...then straight go for turbo car....y rx8 n then bot it...no point...

u c...old FC3S turbo onli has 180-200hp nia....RX8 NA got 250hp

let me clarify this abit more clearly.rather then "disposing" you should really understand RX-8 is one of the main cars that grey importers "dumped" into the market years before due to anticipated demand but its one of those cars that is basically oversupplied hence the "low" price that you new buyers enjoy.

Ask any "old" RX-8 owners and i bet they tell you the same story when they bought it almost brand new at premium price and saw our beautiful car depreciated so bad in the market.That my friends,doesnt mean the car is getting bad or what.

If you still doubting me,take a look at the Fairlady 350Z,my personal "rival" in this matter,Previously it was priced much higher comparo to the RX-8 per se about at least 50-70k higher right now a basic 03' unit is available at 140k or so. thats around 20-30k difference from a good 03' unit right now regardless of transmission.Compare this with the prices around 3 years ago it still hold their prices pretty high even if they are allready registered and used.

learning86,I have to say that i've seen a fair share of bolton projects on the RX-8 and mostly its a disaster because of either unluckiness/misinformed/half-baked while the one that succeeded last even up till today after years of usage.A modern age rotary isnt even comparable to the old-age rotary where the standard of the engine (the quality and the reliability of the internal/external engine parts ) are markedly improved.

That said,i've known several 70-80k plus rx-8 users that is driving the car to its teeth without problems at all.

Comparing the cars with those turbocharged rally-derived box would be logical,but impractical because they are of different "species".A Mitsubishi Evo (regardless of model 78910 pick your choice) or a Subaru STI WRX (regardless of model too) are a turbocharged 4wd saloon that will give you alot of speed-per-RM and a whole lot of fun.

But you're seeing here is a Mazda RX-8 man..a rotary 2+2 coupe,its one of the best grand-tourer born in japan.nuff said :proud:

Test drive 1st then make up your mind. The green Veilside RX7 sold already kar? :biggrin:

350Z year 2003 model 2nd hand price is as low as 130k now. Actually I understands 350z depreciation, as one of the main reason due to the road tax.

Currently I'm considering Celica or the RX-8, previously drove MR-S. Definitely will be getting one before CNY. Due to extreme horror stories on the 8, somehow I hesitated... as I don't have spare hard cash to rebuild or overhaul the engine & etc.

I am looking for a 2006 facelifted auto but somehow cannot be found at all except one on mudah but no response from the seller. Any more advice?

yea roadtax is one of the factors,but if someone can afford to run a Z i'm sure they will be able to run it if you catch my drift.

sure bro 03' can go low as 130k but i guess its more surprising to me with the fact that it depreciate to the price level of an 8.im sure roadtax is not the maincause because you pay like 1-2k more only.does not justify the price to drop much more until tens of thousands right?

on finding the car guess you have to troll around haha and all the best bro hope you go for the best choice : D

Rx8 roadtax = Rm70

350z roadtax = Rm4.4k+ = FAIL..... hahahahaha

*I still like the 350z despite the roadtax bill. Will get one someday to keep my Rx8 company :)

Any big difference between 2006 facelift & 2005/older models? For both auto & manual.

there is no "2006 facelift". 2003-2007 cars look exactly the same. What is different is that the 2006 auto version gets a 6speed autobox and the 6port renesis engine. However, there is a very rare "Shinka" version (2006 model) which get a beige interior and chrome accented taillights.

Facelift is the current 2008-2009 version that Bermaz sells.

So the 2006 auto is exactly the same (engine) as the facelifted 2008 model (by Bermaz), except on the cosmetic & meter panel changes?

any 1 mind to let me test drive hehehe rx8 or just sit beside you and you REV show me the rx8 feel hahahha .. ..
let said , if rx8 Overhaul need how much to do it ?

not sure on rotary but FC o FD 1 time fully overhaul is around 5k....after tat its meant to last very long...kurang kurang 4-5 year...rx8 NA sumore...no prob la...
ever think of DC5? o EP3?

yeah more or less that amount.during rebuilt im sure you can upgrade some parts with more reliable stuff.usually you would need rebuild (provided good maintanence) is around 120k km+

oh ya that reminds me,do a compression test on the car youre buying

Write your reply...