Any Rotary Specialist in Klang Valley?

- D i a b l o -

Sep 27, 2005
bosstrain.blogspot.com
Hey guys,do you experts happen to know any rotary engine specialist available in the Klang Valley.My father bought a new Mazda RX-8 [tiptronic..shh it sucks ^^ wish it was a manual]
so he is looking for a place to service it?

Oh yah,1 more question,i called in N1 Racing and Amoil Motorsport to ask them wheter they have an available solution to remove the speed limiter.Sadly,both of those shops told me that it cant be done to the RX8 with automatic model due to em.. "immobiliser" crap?

I know whats immobiliser is ..but what does it gotta do with the speed limiter? Another thing,does having a "piggyback" electronic ecu like those [Haltech E6k,Greedy E Manage] and whatnot. Does it have the capability of removing the speed limiter?

Hope to hear from you guys,
Amir Farhan
Diablo

P/S [Guys,if you have something to tell me bout my problem or just wanna make some frens,call my hp 012-2785104.]

Cheers

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
Hi Amir,

The immobiliser is interfering with car alarm when SLD is installed. The car wont start and thats the reason many people back off from SLD. If you owned a manual version, it wont be problem. However, a friend of my friend manage to get rid of the speed limit in his auto. I not quite sure where he install, but i thinks its from Quarter-Mile in Sunway. Most piggyback cant cancel out the speed limiter. Bear in mind that nowadays, ecu has become more complex and advance. So please be sure that the ecu you bought works on your car...

Cheers

- D i a b l o -

Sep 27, 2005
bosstrain.blogspot.com
Hey Lennon,tks for your reply

Oh so thats what it did ,cheeky little bastard..[Immobiliser :D]
So,Quarter Mile eh? can you specify to me where is the shop you are talking about?It would be really helpful

I was presuming,if i install a aftermarket alarm system [ Clifford,Viper] or something,The alarm installer will take away the old alarm system and the immobiliser? Am I correct?

Ok,the piggyback system and electronics that i mention,anyone knows which that cant be used in the RX-8.
I wanted to know this because you see [There was this shop i called in just now and i asked about the speed limiter and the ecu solution,this fellow,though didnt know how to speak english *make me talk english for so long then he said tak bley speaking english* LOL .He said that his shop sure can take out speed limiter wan even wif auto transmission..well i was sceptical at first.Oh well,then i asked him bout the piggyback ecu and whatnot.He told me *Apa pun boleee..*

I was ..hehe biar betul orang tua ini

Might as well as you pro's here ^^

Cheerz
Amir

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
I'm not sure install a aftermarket alarm will allow HKS SLD to function. You have to ask these workshop to try to install in your car. If the bastard you talk to can remove speed cut, then he's might as good as Mr. Amemya.

boonyloh

Nov 8, 2004
Mr. Amemiya ka?..... kean... time to promte the Rx-8 club forum !!!!

phat7

May 21, 2004
Howdy rx8-ians,

Why dont i see any of you guys at the rotary meetups on every last thursday of the month? You guys are going thru the same problems we had when we first bought our cars. It'll be good to join in and share some important information amongst ourselves.

WIth regards to issue at hand. I have a couple of questions:

With speedcut removed, will there be any adverse effects eg. blown engine considering the threshold of your injectors?

What size injectors are the 8's running? Duty cycle and max duty cycle?

There are lots of complains by 8 owners with regards to the greddy bolt on turbo kit. Ayone here care to share?

- D i a b l o -

Sep 27, 2005
bosstrain.blogspot.com
Hey Phat7,Boony

Lol phat7,its not that i dont want to come..i've no license yet [slaps head]
Im going to take my license after my SPM.Just after SPM i straight call you k? lolz

FYI,the RX-8 in my house,my father bought it for my mom's birthday.So,in no circumstances is she gonna let me disect the car in any possible physical way.Sad,aint it?

I drove the RX-8 around pretty often around my neighbourhood area and found a lot of things bout it,you know,things that you'll find out when you drive the car yourself.First and foremost,being quite accomplished in gokart skills [Hey~ ex racer here] and racing theories,I decided to do a *little* test on the car

Firstly,no heel to toe crap because this thing is an automatic.The first thing I noticed after taking a nice sweeper bend in the quiet residental area [lol,i even asked a friend to *jaga* the corner incase somebody come and spoil the run]

Not bad really..but i noticed a significant body roll,alotta grip,more then the old FD3S on grip,but can't match the FD's cornering ability.Maybe its just me,but the RX-8 i drove is a tad underpowered,no doubt bout that.Heck,it barely keep up with a partialy tricked DC2 Type R.

The top speed is limited at 185 kmh,sadly,after countless tries it wont pass the speed limit of 185 kmh,i tried bringing it to the NS highway,even going downhill,it didnt manage to pass the speed limit.

Its getting frustrating especially for me,seriously,hitting the limiter too often aint good for your racing senses :D.Thats why im looking forward for this speed limiter upgrade.

*Phat7*

i dont know much bout the RX-8 in technical sense,but i can tell you that by taking off the speed limiter wont do harm to the threshold of the injectors.I'm quite convinced it wont because all RX-8 model basically have the same engine right?

Correct me if im wrong,but if im correct,then the difference between the Type S and the Type E could just be the ecu mapping and electronic adjustments.This mean to me that the hardware surely can stand the extra speed [or power] after taking out the speed limiter

Cheerz
Amir

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
phat7 said:
Howdy rx8-ians,

Why dont i see any of you guys at the rotary meetups on every last thursday of the month? You guys are going thru the same problems we had when we first bought our cars. It'll be good to join in and share some important information amongst ourselves.

WIth regards to issue at hand. I have a couple of questions:

With speedcut removed, will there be any adverse effects eg. blown engine considering the threshold of your injectors?

What size injectors are the 8's running? Duty cycle and max duty cycle?

There are lots of complains by 8 owners with regards to the greddy bolt on turbo kit. Ayone here care to share?
Hi phat,
So far no buddy has adverse effect on the speed remover. Only complain is that the the speed cut is too expensive:biggrin:.

The injectors are 400cc and 320cc. I think..... I dunno the Duty cycle & max duty cycle...

I believe i might have been the first person to install the Greddy Turbo kit here.... Still new but there's surely more kick than ever. But oil cooler is not efficient enuff. can boil up to 120 degree during daytime. Is this normal in RX7??

boonyloh

Nov 8, 2004
Diablo:
That seems a bit wierd, my car normally tops at 187km/hr at a flat strech. I've even reached 195km/hr on a downhill.... the ecu only limits the engine from cutting fuel not slowing it down by braking or any other means, theorically if you are going down hill and you already hit the speed limiter, chances of you passing the 187km/hr barrier is proven by i am sure by lennon too?

the auto is rated at 210ps whereas the manual is at 250ps ( mazda given figures)( although the same engine it is limited by the 4 speed gear acuator which is able to cope up to 210ps the geearing ratios should still be able to get you up to 230km/hr)i had a dyno and it is around 180rwhp.

- D i a b l o - said:
Hey Phat7,Boony

Lol phat7,its not that i dont want to come..i've no license yet [slaps head]
Im going to take my license after my SPM.Just after SPM i straight call you k? lolz

FYI,the RX-8 in my house,my father bought it for my mom's birthday.So,in no circumstances is she gonna let me disect the car in any possible physical way.Sad,aint it?

I drove the RX-8 around pretty often around my neighbourhood area and found a lot of things bout it,you know,things that you'll find out when you drive the car yourself.First and foremost,being quite accomplished in gokart skills [Hey~ ex racer here] and racing theories,I decided to do a *little* test on the car

Firstly,no heel to toe crap because this thing is an automatic.The first thing I noticed after taking a nice sweeper bend in the quiet residental area [lol,i even asked a friend to *jaga* the corner incase somebody come and spoil the run]

Not bad really..but i noticed a significant body roll,alotta grip,more then the old FD3S on grip,but can't match the FD's cornering ability.Maybe its just me,but the RX-8 i drove is a tad underpowered,no doubt bout that.Heck,it barely keep up with a partialy tricked DC2 Type R.

The top speed is limited at 185 kmh,sadly,after countless tries it wont pass the speed limit of 185 kmh,i tried bringing it to the NS highway,even going downhill,it didnt manage to pass the speed limit.

Its getting frustrating especially for me,seriously,hitting the limiter too often aint good for your racing senses :D.Thats why im looking forward for this speed limiter upgrade.

*Phat7*

i dont know much bout the RX-8 in technical sense,but i can tell you that by taking off the speed limiter wont do harm to the threshold of the injectors.I'm quite convinced it wont because all RX-8 model basically have the same engine right?

Correct me if im wrong,but if im correct,then the difference between the Type S and the Type E could just be the ecu mapping and electronic adjustments.This mean to me that the hardware surely can stand the extra speed [or power] after taking out the speed limiter

Cheerz
Amir

phat7

May 21, 2004
Diablo,

reasoning behind my question is that rotary engine are more susceptible to damage if there is any sort of fuel starvation. removing the limiter really is not of much use if your injectors cannot deliver.

Lennon,

What kind of fuel management are you running? Fd's run 850cc and 550cc injectors.

coolblue

Nov 19, 2003
removed speed limiter will not need extra fuel ,
the ecu will know when ever a load or changes on the sensors at the engine ,

a NA rotary will rarely blow , unless it was abuse .

boonyloh

Nov 8, 2004
but again... with sld removing the speed limiter...a cel engine light will come on after 1807km/hr.... wouldn't like to see that when i am travelling that speed...lol

phat7

May 21, 2004
coolblue- please give more concrete data. if your ecu is programed to run at only a certain speed then you decide to "cheat" your ecu it means the ecu still thinks its in safe zone and pumping in the same amount of fuel. That is why we have standalone ecus my friend. Like boonyloh was sying the CEL light comes up coz the loop system in the ecu is interefered with.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
The turbo comes with the E-manage with pre-set data.. Options are quite limited... Will update some other ecu in the future.... 850cc and 550cc is too big man. No wonder rx7 drinks a lot... so far there some tuner uses 550cc and 400cc with T67 turbo and e-manage in RX8. The power is 350 horses on wheel. But i would love to use 720cc and 450cc.

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
SLD creates false signal to ecu to allow cars go beyond the limits. It might causes some other problems and i'm agreed wat phat7 says. But i also believe HKS will think of the safety and make sure to minimise the damage. Was't it?? Lucky me dont have speed cut..:biggrin:

DRIFT RACING: TENGKU DJAN LEY CONTINUES WINNING STREAK IN ROUND 3 OF D1 GRAND PRIX MALAYSIA SERIES

Shah Alam:
Wong SW