how to bodykit from fiber

detoaura

allo all the body stillo sifu do u know how to make bodikit from fibre....
can give me a little help here................

i know where to get the materials and how the things work, but have to find someone who knows about designing the kit.

where to get the fibre mat

how to get the fibre mat
how much does its cost...
to design the mould u have to find the actual ones la....
find original bodykit.............

Fibre materials cost depends on the density and the type of woven paterrn of the mat. They are sold in kilogram. U oso need resin, cost about 20buck per kg. To cure the resin, u need harderner.

Other than that, u need a lot of time testing the fibre laying-up method, discovering which way to make a fibre kit most effectively and easily. It's a rewarding job but time consuming. The fumes from the resin is not pallatable at all.....however, it's great to see your DIY turned out nicely though....

I don't mean to discourage ppl, but the material, money and time invested in DIY sometimes cost 2-3x the cost of bodykit sold in accesories shop. So, do you REALLy wanna venture into DIY body kit? Balance the cost, time ,money, the unique"wow" factor of DIY bodykit, frustration, sweat. blood...factor etc. then decide if you wanna DIY.

Detoaura, if you needed anymore info just gimme a ring: 012-756-3723.

quite true as what ken yeang said. i used to work in a fibreglass factory so i know all the process in the production line.

yea fiberglass is not that easy to do. i tried before.. but the ending part which i dont understand is.... why the bodkit that we DIY doesnt feel smooth but still got those fiber "hair" one ? do we need to apply more resin and hardner to smoothen the surface or we sand it until its smooth ? ....

points to take when DIY fiberglass, wear glove.... seriously... WEAR GLOVES. And do it in open space when airflow is good. If u suck too much of the resin ,the next day u will have a real bad headache! and if u dont wear gloves, ur hand will feel like tons of needle poking your hand all day long. Yea, its pain but i get used to if after awhile. :P

The roughness exist because you did not apply a layer thin resin before applying the fibre glass matt. Fiberglass bodykit manufacturers would apply this layer using compressed air spray, (like spraying paint) but instead of paint mixtur, they spray resin.
This would result bodykit surface very smooth, consistent in thickness and economic in use of resin and most important of all, lightness of the bodykit.

When finishing and sanding the DIY fiberglass work, it is advisable to wear respirator/mask and goggle. Inhalation of fiberglass dust or resin in to the lungs can be hazardous to health. The dust can cause eyes irritation. That's explains no one is interested in making their own bodykit. Too much work, time, effort and risk involved in the job....

I wanted to add (old thread sorry) that even if YOU wear a respirator or mask, your neighbors may not be... be kind to those near you.

Write your reply...