how much is RX7 FD engine cost?

alfeoturbo

raugly how much does the RX7 FD engine kosong cost? im refering to 13B.

im planning to get a RX7 FD soon but before that i would like to get more information about the pricing of the engine n so on.

thank you

well the price varies according to the oldest theory of economics-supply and demand...ranges from about rm 1k to nearly 2k...

but no point to transplant an old engine to the car...you might do a compression test to see if the engine still kicks BUT the rotary engines dont really give any warning signs if it chooses to die on you...so your safest bet would be maintain the car well at ALL TIMES!!never neglect it from coolant,water,oil,petrol etc etc...never overboost....one may think to boost higher 'once in a blue moon'is alright...think again coz for rotary engines,the blue moon is always there behind thin,scudding clouds!!be cautious....

a rather solid rebuilt costs about rm6k..that includes new rotor,housings,2mm apex seals etc etc...
hehehe...sounds scary yeah?well rotary has got ZERO tolerance for error...but it is by far,very rewarding... :D :D

cheers bro!

Ah pang,

How about the price for 3rotor rotary engine in KL?

Originally posted by NOS_7AGTE@Sep 14 2004, 18:31
Ah pang,

How about the price for 3rotor rotary engine in KL?
oh..you're talking about 20B yeah...can probably get half-cut for rm7k-8k..but u may not want to use the g/box as it is AUTO...also,if you have an FD,you cant use back your own manual g/box coz too long....the 20B sits 'longer' than the original position of the 13B....what u do is you swap in a FC g/box..a perfect mate..... :rolleyes:

Hi Ahphang,

Interestingly, according to my reference books the whole mounting on the fd has to be moved back to accomodate the 20b engine. In the us they also seem to be using the fd gearbox but moved back of course. You have an FD ?

Originally posted by phat7@Sep 21 2004, 12:20
Hi Ahphang,

Interestingly, according to my reference books the whole mounting on the fd has to be moved back to accomodate the 20b engine. In the us they also seem to be using the fd gearbox but moved back of course. You have an FD ?
hey dude,

yeah correct.....but isnt that what i said as well?20B is longer... :blink:

if u use the 20B(which we all know it is longer) and to USE BACK the original FD g/box(which is longer than the FC),how much 'MORE' can u move back?FD cockpit aint that long n big,man...

well i doubt it is FD g/box mate...it is the FC housing with FD pinion,final drive bla bla bla....

yeah i do..but it doesnt have a 20B though... :lol: :lol: :lol:

cheers....

You do? :blink: :blink: :blink:

I thought you dont have one? so actually u do or do not? :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by SiGNAL@Sep 22 2004, 00:12
You do? :blink: :blink: :blink:

I thought you dont have one? so actually u do or do not? :lol: :lol:
HEY! YO Signal!!!!

mind your own business!!!!! :D :D :D :D

i told you already,dont always believe what you see!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

cheers bro!

the 20b engine will mate with FD transmission ,
they are futher to the front towards intercoolers ,

Ya coolblue!!

I have the pictures of earlier failed attempts by Peter Farrel (accomplished rotary tuner) and it was mated to the fd gearbox. The engine had to be moved back a few notches to accomodate open pod intakes.

I dunno if anyone here has seen the 20b in a Miata. There is/was one unit in penang. During developement the owner suffer like hell because all literature in Japanese so how to order part. But the owner really kau kau took care of the car mirror finish polish everything in the engine bay. Single turbo conversion and the works. Pushing 500+ BHP. If anyone here knows him i would like his contact number. His name is samson in Balik Pulau.

wahhhhhh. really got 20b in a miata??

i only heard about it through word of mouth... first i heard it was 13b.. then someone told me that it was actually a 20b.... i would like to get to know him too...

salute!!!!

Originally posted by phat7@Sep 23 2004, 10:36
Ya coolblue!!

I have the pictures of earlier failed attempts by Peter Farrel (accomplished rotary tuner) and it was mated to the fd gearbox. The engine had to be moved back a few notches to accomodate open pod intakes.

I dunno if anyone here has seen the 20b in a Miata. There is/was one unit in penang. During developement the owner suffer like hell because all literature in Japanese so how to order part. But the owner really kau kau took care of the car mirror finish polish everything in the engine bay. Single turbo conversion and the works. Pushing 500+ BHP. If anyone here knows him i would like his contact number. His name is samson in Balik Pulau.

ive been looking for him or hope to see his car around for 6 years already

i think i know where is the car. Red colour miata right ?
In Damansara la, sold to this guy already. Damn kuat oh the car.
Hear the wastegate that time, everybody run away. ^_^

Originally posted by SiGNAL@Sep 24 2004, 14:01
Only seen miata with 13b only, 20b must be monster!
When you come back to KL I bring you go see the car.
RE Amemiya MX5 with 20B, using Microtech LTX12S.
Damn gila man the car. Owner talk talk wear glasses one.

signal,
where to see miata with 13b? local or overseas?

gti88,
that red mx5 near KDU ar??? nowonder he sell me his 1.6 engine lar.. upgrade to 20b.. sigh.. damn envy him..
i'm sure he's car going in hypertune soon.. maybe amber chia will make another appearance to model for his car again...

Originally posted by Kurt@Sep 25 2004, 01:02
signal,
where to see miata with 13b? local or overseas?

gti88,
that red mx5 near KDU ar??? nowonder he sell me his 1.6 engine lar.. upgrade to 20b.. sigh.. damn envy him..
i'm sure he's car going in hypertune soon.. maybe amber chia will make another appearance to model for his car again...
MY GOD!!!! :o :o :o

that miata is a monster wei!!!i heard that he was exclusively invited to join the 9-sec Club in US for street cars....Heard the owner is some big shot's son and also has fathered a child with amber ;)
well,u know la...if money aint a problem,sky is the limit...drive the best cars and bed the best chics....unlike us students who still go thru hardship,hoping for a better tomorrow... :ph34r:

these ppl are just born lucky in life,.... :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: