How light is light?

Veloc

To wheels sifus...

I have plans to change to lighter rims as mine are too heavy. I don't know what kind of lousy rims the seller give when I bought this car. I do not have knowledge on wheels yet that time.

Just want to ask. People always talk about "lightweight" wheels, japan wheels, alloy wheels etc. So may I know? How light is light? How many kg? I don't want to get the wrong one and end up about the same weight as my current rims.

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:19 AM ----------

Oh... I mean for 15" wheels.

But I think my heavy wheels also can lift with 2 fingers ah...

It is about 10 to 15% lighter but can feel the difference.
Go to rim shop and ask them to show you light weight and normal rims, then you lift them, and you will know the difference.
You can try RIM World in Glenmarie area also.
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=92258&st=0&start=0

mmm i don't know..my definition of lightweight wheels or rims solely depends me lifting it parallel with my shoulder. as long as i feel it light, then i considered it as light.

another requirement that i always look upon is either the wheels are forged or die cast. MOST forged wheels are lightweight. but then again it falls back to my 'lift by hand measurement'.

how light is light? now that i can't answer...i mean there's no standard chart or table or guidelines as to refer wheels weight classes. unlike tires, (treadwear rating, temp rating etc..)

so i guess it is subject to the person?
normally i would address like: my black racing pro n1 are lightweight, but they are not in the same class or standards as TE37, type C, regamaster, sprinthart CP05 etc..

so people would at least have the general overview of the wheels quality.

friends of mine always bragged about their JDM sport wheel...

i think that's the benchmark kot? :hmmmm:

hahahaha this one very subjective bro...if his fingers got alot of training? :rofl:

anyways,

15" te37 and Evo regamaster aroudn 3.3-3.7something...

SSR Type C around 3.6-3.9 i think...

but te and ssr are forged ...not so sure bout regamster...heard regamaster quite easy to crack. like mkmd mentioned wheel quality also crucial

i think this is as light as it gets..

what is the size u re looking for bro? whats ur budget? are u looking for looks only or weight only or both?

rule of thumb:
competition/racing wheels dont really have great looks but it is superlight n superstrong, most competition wheels are also made by forging technique, it is also damn expensive even for 2nd hand item.
ex of forged wheels: te37, ce28, se37, type-c, type-f, cp035, regamaster, etc...

The weight also varies even if u have the same size depending on pcd n width n offset n no of holes n finishing type n also wheel design itself

Offset difference:
ssr type-c with 15j x 7j x off42 spec will be lighter than ssr type-c with 15j x 7j x off30 spec.....
Width difference:
CE28 with 15j x 6.5j x off42 will be lighter than CE28 with spec 15j x 7j x off42.....
PCD difference:
regamaster with spec 15j x 6.5j x off45 x pcd 100 will differ in weight if compared to regamaster with spec 15j x 6.5j x off45 x pcd 114 , although not by much, range of 50grams to 150 grams per wheel...
Finishing difference:
te37 with special white coat(like the time attack edition) or flat graphite powdercoat (like the Seibon edition) will be heavier than the normal te37 with bronze colour even though they are the same size n spec, range of 50grams to 150 grams too per wheel...
Holes difference
cp035 in 16j x 7j x off42 x pcd114 x 4H will differ in weight compared to cp035 16j x 7j x off42 x pcd114 x 5H, although not by much per wheel.....
Design difference
se37 in 16j x 7j x off42 x pcd114 will differ in weight compared to te37 in same spec.....

important note to consider:
TYRES NORMALLY WEIGHTS MORE THAN THE WHEELS ITSELF REGARDSLESS OF WHETHER U RE USING FORGED OR CAST, TAIWAN OR JAPAN WHEELS.....
:bawling:

Good info...
Also light are the 2pc. and 3pc rims, but they are softer in construction....

Yup, tyres made of rubber and steel belt inside also.
GY Asy 2 now build lighter than previous model, but these tyres starts from 17"

for offset calculation:
http://http://marksink.com/tire_wheel_offset/offset.html

---------- Post added at 12:14 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:12 PM ----------

for tyre size calculation:
http://http://www.tyresave.co.uk/tyresiz2.html

---------- Post added at 12:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:14 PM ----------

for on the road calculation n others:
http://http://measurespeed.com/index.php

---------- Post added at 12:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:15 PM ----------

for wheel weight guide, not sure whether latest rims are updated but quite useful:
http://http://www.wheelweights.net/

---------- Post added at 12:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:16 PM ----------

hope those links will help other forumers here...... it had been useful for me.....:smokin:

did anyone measure their rim with tyre? mine ori 14" steel rim with tyre 185/60R14 is 16.8kg, quite heavy, after changed 15" taiwan spoon rim with 195/55R15 is only 14.3kg, the car really can feel the difference when pick-up.

Also, lighter rims reduce workload on your engine just to push the car forward.

My Advanti Storm series rims are 4.6kg (around there) each. That's considered damn light already without compromise to structural strength. It's even lighter than Myvi stock 14" rim. But the Enkei RP01's are even lighter than my Advanti. Significantly lighter!

If you can afford it, go for a reputable brand that's lightweight and go for the best your money can take you. If you can't afford (for example) the Enkei's then consider the Advanti's. The latest range of M'sian made JRD alu rims are pretty light too but I'm not sure of their strength. Their alloy rims are pretty soft and easily damaged.

Original rims normally are always source to be the cheapest, how to get good quality?

get RS rim from evo lineup...or some other jap. sportscar....

ekekekeke...(limited for certain car application)

light enough yet still compromise with their strength :adore:

Like you mentioned, limited to certain car application. These are sports car and rims already cost in.....

Try out the regamaster

damn damn light...........

this is wat i call "super light weight" rims

but according to some of racer claim that regamaster have expired date.............donno how true it this

I think so hehe :rofl:
hahahaha this one very subjective bro...if his fingers got alot of training? :rofl:

anyways,

15" te37 and Evo regamaster aroudn 3.3-3.7something...

SSR Type C around 3.6-3.9 i think...

but te and ssr are forged ...not so sure bout regamster...heard regamaster quite easy to crack. like mkmd mentioned wheel quality also crucial

i think this is as light as it gets..

Try out the regamaster

damn damn light...........

this is wat i call "super light weight" rims

but according to some of racer claim that regamaster have expired date.............donno how true it this

Expiry date for rims??