how is the miantenance of the Rex?

normality78

Saw a 1997 WRX for sale in Motortrader. Thought of it before but i wonder how is the miantenance of the Rex? is the car belongs to "leceh" type?

normality78 said:
Saw a 1997 WRX for sale in Motortrader. Thought of it before but i wonder how is the miantenance of the Rex? is the car belongs to "leceh" type?

just go for it...wouldnt regreat.

Some people say you need to change oil+oil filter every 5000 kms, but if you don't drive it hard ALL the time then maintenance wise is pretty straightforward for a performance-oriented car.

I spoke to a service manager at an STI centre before and asked him this same question before and was told that for normal driving (and provided you don't use some cap ABC kind of oil) the normal 12,500 kms service is enough - as modern oils are made to last to this amt of kms anyway.

Bro, what about d fuel consumption of these WRX ? assume that engine internals are stock standard...

TKS

Here's some official figures http://autoweb.drive.com.au/cms/A_53066/newsarticle.html based on a 2001 model.

My experience will be different but possibly similar, on a stock setup, with a stock ECU, you should be able to get an average of 300-350kms on a full tank - in a city driving environment with lots of start stop traffic.

Unfortunately I can't help you with highway kms as I've never done that yet - maybe someone else can. I'm quite sure also that a stock setup runs a little rich.

harbx said:
Here's some official figures http://autoweb.drive.com.au/cms/A_53066/newsarticle.html based on a 2001 model.

My experience will be different but possibly similar, on a stock setup, with a stock ECU, you should be able to get an average of 300-350kms on a full tank - in a city driving environment with lots of start stop traffic.

Unfortunately I can't help you with highway kms as I've never done that yet - maybe someone else can. I'm quite sure also that a stock setup runs a little rich.

300-350 kms in city driving for full tank ? that's great..i'm impressed... a wiralution of a friend of mine will go only 280kms max...

Oderf said:
300-350 kms in city driving for full tank ? that's great..i'm impressed... a wiralution of a friend of mine will go only 280kms max...

Well this also includes longer weekend drives that have less traffic but doesn't include the "feel like wanna tekan" times. :D

my scooby, i seldom calculate..
if dont always leg itchy go full boost,

then it just like a perdana v6 fuel consumption..

that's clear enuf about the fuel consumption. My conclusion is WRX eat less fuel than Evo in stock std. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Oderf said:
that's clear enuf about the fuel consumption. My conclusion is WRX eat less fuel than Evo in stock std. Correct me if i'm wrong.

izzit? i dun think so.....which version u talking bout?

huakenny said:
izzit? i dun think so.....which version u talking bout?

i'm not really sure...but that what i heard from both Evos and WRXs owner themselves...

Oderf said:
i'm not really sure...but that what i heard from both Evos and WRXs owner themselves...

i driven both......same la....but maybe my wrx got something wrong...abit bad now for FC

huakenny said:
i driven both......same la....but maybe my wrx got something wrong...abit bad now for FC

so which one u like better in overall bro ? tks...

huakenny said:
wa..sensitive issue...cannot tel.....ekekeke

if u wan stylish go subary..power go evo.....

he..he.. kantoi .... tks for ur info bro.... btw i've been considering an EVO or Rex for my next ride..but that have to wait...still a long way...hope before i turn 30.... :D

Oderf said:
he..he.. kantoi .... tks for ur info bro.... btw i've been considering an EVO or Rex for my next ride..but that have to wait...still a long way...hope before i turn 30.... :D

test-drive both la.....then only u wil know....wat model u r considering a? latest?

Write your reply...