how is the miantenance of the Rex?

huakenny said:
test-drive both la.....then only u wil know....wat model u r considering a? latest?

will do... i dun think i'll go for d latest.... even the old scooby or an E6 looks gorgeous... win my heart already... but scare bout d wear n tear of d old fellas...need to make some study first (while i work on kumpul money lo...)... .....i'll start looking for one when i'm ready in all aspects...

make sure tat each time services wil cost u few hundred.....

Oderf said:
will do... i dun think i'll go for d latest.... even the old scooby or an E6 looks gorgeous... win my heart already... but scare bout d wear n tear of d old fellas...need to make some study first (while i work on kumpul money lo...)... .....i'll start looking for one when i'm ready in all aspects...

huakenny said:
make sure tat each time services wil cost u few hundred.....

i dun really get u... u mean if more than or less than few hundreds (less than hundred or more that 1k...something like that...) that means something is wrong ?

kenny, where got so expensive?

oil change...use synthetic maybe like RM160 to RM200...oil filter can get compatible one from other car brands - RM20...labour - RM20...

that's all...

other than that, petrol...full tank gets you 350km

spark plugs - RM200 plus for a set of 4 pcs - lasts 60000km to 100000km depending on type...

maintenance...parts...like a perdana V6...maybe even less expensive parts and labour charges...
turbo car maintenance lah...dun expect proton saga maintenance...

i mean rm200-300...(few hundreds)

rex use 5 litre...taken Q8 for example...rm42 per liter....rm42 x 5= rm210....plus filter below rm50(depends on brand)... oledi few hundred la.......

Oderf said:
i dun really get u... u mean if more than or less than few hundreds (less than hundred or more that 1k...something like that...) that means something is wrong ?

i see......i believe i won't cause too much trouble like those Evo conversions (taken from half cut)...if it just like the perdana v6 maintenance then it's affordable......only that those v6s need 2 more extra spark plugs...he..he...

Oderf said:
that's clear enuf about the fuel consumption. My conclusion is WRX eat less fuel than Evo in stock std. Correct me if i'm wrong.

I reckon they're about the same. MY old CE9A Evo 3 does (or rather DID) 330-360km normal driving, 400km KL-Pg light throttle most of the way.

I think my current GGA ('03 hatch WRX) does about the same, perhaps a bit less. Which isn't saying much, as I had a fair bit of mods on my CE9A, chipped ECU, bigger fuel pump, intake, exos, etc. and the WRX is stock. and above all, the WRX output is a "mere" 225hp (still stock) as compared to some 290hp on the CE9A.

As to choice between the 2, well I agree with huakenny's assessment, even if you're comparing Evo with STi (cos the WRX is definitely a step down).

Oderf said:
i see......i believe i won't cause too much trouble like those Evo conversions (taken from half cut)...if it just like the perdana v6 maintenance then it's affordable......only that those v6s need 2 more extra spark plugs...he..he...

don;t under estimate the Perdana V6 maintenance...try the major service intervals...when you change timing belt etc...i bet you will pengsan...faint...with a loud thud...

that was what i was mentioning...

just like a perdana v6..
BUT, must take good care of it...

tts all...

i've been considering the sti gc8 too but it's really difficult to get an ori sti version 4 and above in malaysia. saw 1 in motor trader but it was a 2 door. an uncle like my needs 4 doors. :D

Andy Ng said:
wah can find a 2 door version for sale you don;t want?

2 door is not that practical for ferrying family and clients around la bro. if you know what i mean.

the 1 i saw was a yellow color at a small dealer (a house) near jln gasing.

Write your reply...