how far are we...

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
technically...
our mechanic, you me, n other...
how far is our knowledge on car's technicall stuff...?

let say...
when rebuilding engine...can we get the perfect measurement like factory spec...

and others let discuss...

P/S : idea came out after TT with zul n jason...two best buddy :D :D

hahahahhaha very2 hard subject..........and very sensitive too.........coz there is mechanic/workshop in this forum.........just 1 thing i can say...........

if there is a workshop that follow at least 70% rule to rebuild engine ie check clerance 100%,check torque setting and etc......let me know.....hehehhe send my engine to rebuild.......maybe there is workshop like this that i didnt know.....:)

me 2nd...

do we have the complete guide on every messurement, clearance, gab, this n that...?

of coz...for 20v yeap....heheh in the user manual got state everything..even teach you how to calculate or choose the correct bearing size,torque setting and heck even teach how to installing and uninstalling the car parts...very brief manul i must say...

I think most of our mech are still far from it, a very simple tools like torque wrench, belt tensioner for normal engine services I also hardly can find any mech using it. For e.g. when you look at the Honda servise manual, you can find almost every screw and bolt need to torque properly, that's why people say Honda engine is so sensitve, but actually if you are using the right tool and method it shouldn't be. Howeve, back to the root cause is still only one, i.e. the $$$ factor.

if our local boys so good can do like the japs or even 70-80% of the japs .. the japs mati liauu lorrr .. terus kena tapau by our bolehland boys .. hahaahahaha

but if we can achieve 70-80% of that standard then labour charges oso will come to those 70-80% labour charges in japan lorr .. hehehehe .. training etc etc all cost $$$ one maaa .. apa ?? drop from sky one kaa ?? haahahahhaa

i think got laa this kaw-kaw mechanics... is just that they're very low profile one... one aspect i think lacking is instruments laaa... they have to invest kaw2 one to buy the nescessary eq. and tools... this (lack of tool) leads to 'cukup2' work only laaa... cars in malaysia power ke??? most go for economical mode... so mechanic pun economical mode ler...

i think there r couple one which is good. as i heard the good one is pissed with the malaysians attitude n therefore he is tuning for other country.
the things is, do they have a proper manual on the dimensions n and data? the torque for wrenching? no, i dont think so. i think even some home tuners in US is even better than the workshop here. well, come think of it, they know how to put things together but not tuning them.
mean while, i think the malaysians' attitude is....."wah, this one good ah, powerful ah, put la, very power one...." n therefore they have it in their car. do they know the compatibality for it? how that performance parts match with others?

this matter is always 2 sided, mechanics and owners.
for wat i think, get some tools and books, do it urself. n tell ppl that u tune ur own car. even if u lose to a workshop's car in a race, i will still respect u. cos u not paying anyone to do ur car, as in u just dump in money to make ur car powerful n fast, but u really understand the performance and also the characteristic of ur own car.
i know the problem for most of us r lacking of money to buy tools and not having place to do our car and most important we use our car as daily ride, this make our tuning scene in malaysia is really different from the US or anywhere else.

Actually come to think of it, it is a subject worth talking about.:angel_smile:

Ok this is my observation la. You can say everyone who rebuilds engine should go by the book. But look bak at automotive assembly lines. Everything is calibrated for a specific engine. So it is fast and it works. 1 engine is probably assembled by 20 people in a an hours time.

But for a workshop that probably have 3 staff or less to work on an engine, the cost go up. And it would probably take a week to finish if they were to use hand calibrated tools.

During this time, they could waste time meddling with your engine, or they could just fix up many more cars with lesser details.

Like my mechanic friend who works on BMW. He is trained to make use of all the hand tool to repair a bmw engine. And he could do repairs all by the book. But when i asked him why he didn't use the book way, he just replied that its faster. And for rebuilding, even better answer. He says he rebuild so many engine already that he only refers the books for some necessary parts. Like valve clearance. Other than that its all by the hand and eye.

I believe all workshops do it that way. The master mechanic is only called upon when a very technical work needs to be done.

Before we ask how well mechanic or tuner shop can tune up according to the proper spec, we have to ask ourself whether are we willing to pay for that kind of labour charge or not.
I believe there are a few shop that do rebuild engine according to the book spec.

Typical Malaysian alway want cheap cheap and good good stuff. I agreed with sifu QIW, all those stuff and good labour work never fall frommsky, we have to pay for it.

:cry_smile: :cry_smile:
Thanks for the good comments...hehee

huuuuuhhh...
then sifoo zul, can you foward the manual to me...
i'll learn slowly by myself...

:emoticon_U: :cry_smile:

I juz want to relate like myself doing QA work at office. Now altho promoted liao but then when i does the QA work i will always need to ensure that all departmental work are linked together and never one will be single out.

So my theory is the same goes for car. We pay for wat we get. Doing QA also the same, at the end of the day all we want is Quality Assurance or Assured by the quality of what our services are to the customers.

If a mech only meddling with only one car then all his energy and focus will be on that rebuilding engine for this particular engine then when other customer comes and said hey i got dis and dat problem could u fix it up for me? So u will not want to accept such business so from the point of view QA and the owner mechanic concept is the same. Both need to look at long term so as conclusion i would say book manual are still reference. The real kungfu are the one who puts effort into practical, understand what needs to be done and do it. Not juz reading alone.

Just like doing MBA. U said u do mba so wat? Everybody takes MBA so what makes you so special and stand out among the rest of your classmates or graduates?

Sorry dun tembak me as i try to relate how a QA work relates to automotive world although they are both not related but then QA and QC are both concept adopted in automotive engineering line and manufacturing so who will said no QA and QC in a single production line.

That's all and thank u.

Regards,
Mike

say it will spend more time on cars...rather then others...
special price n expensive...

how about...
"practice make perfect..."

don't tembak me also...
i'm just a curios love to ask question person n also blur sometimes...heeee

chinozie said:
say it will spend more time on cars...rather then others...
special price n expensive...

how about...
"practice make perfect..."

don't tembak me also...
i'm just a curios love to ask question person n also blur sometimes...heeee

aiyoo go to sleep lar brader...........x paham hehhahahhaa:X-:

so the most that we can discuss and conclude is that,

Owner not willing to pay a high price for performance and always want cheap cheap but good good.
Mechanics not willing to do according spec because its faster and less hassle for them. which wat they care for is quantity but not quality.

discuss.

Only thing I can say about this is good things don't come cheap and cheap things not always good .... I'm sure there are PROPER engine rebuilders here in Malaysia who can rebuilt the engine 98% heck even maybe 100% according to spec but at the end of the day the question always come back to if we're willing to pay for such services. Heck the engine/crank bolts are suppose to be changed to new ones when rebuilding the engine how many of us has done it ?? The VVT pulley on the 20v has a life span and it's a replaceable item that needs to be changed within certain mileage how many of us changes it instead of complaining the 20v sounds like a diesel engine ? The engine bearings on the 20v also has a lifespan (mileage) but some of us open the engine just change piston ring only with the reason being the bearing when open still look "new" so reuse. The flywheel bolts are suppose to be changed also periodically but who does that ? The water pump and oil pump also needs to be changed but who does it ? So instead of blaming the mech we must first of all blame ourself for being so KIASU AND KIAMSIAP. No offence meant to anyone as I myself also belong to this category as usually I do repairs when needed.

yeah, repair and upgrade when it is necessary. I'm sure if you're an IT person u got to know and have better cost control, check and balance, vast comparison, etc.

Continuous improvement! hehehe!

Regards,
Mike

As normal, we just fix or change when it's needed. Money is what we alway concern when come to engine rebuilding.
If money is not problem I won't rebuilt my engine anymore, will just go to Auto Bavaria an order 1 unit E60 M5. Whahahahahahah....

i'm not blaming on mech...
it's also our mentallity...like u guys said...i also sometimes...
"aiyaaa to expensive...don't want laaa later repair it..." heeee...

but y we didn't practise those so called book spec in the first place...
like i said before practise make perfect...not putting performance part...
but the basic thing, bearing...this size have to use...the head this much tork needed...some sort of that...just the basic thing...

Write your reply...