Help needed: settings for my x-overs..

my suggestion is:

run the rear components from the HU instead of just the tweeters

take another pic of your xover cant see properly, zoom out a bit la
cant figure out it has bandpass for the mids or not

if dont have, run the 4 ch bridged into 2 ch into the passive that connects to both the tweeter & mids in front

if can bandpass then u can run active, without the passive crossover, connecting directly to tweeter & mids

good luck :D

.. be carefull on the tweets when running active, may not wanna blow it :D .. gotta x-over at higher freq eg. at least 2-2.5kHz (depending on the specs)..
there's also a method for tweeter protection ie running it with the passives on, the capasitor in the passives will protect it...

find a good installer, he'll provide valuable advice FOC.. caution though cause installers have different level of knowledge/ experience/ belief... :cool:

most ppl who play sq wont put rear speaker...
coz 2 get rear comp set...$$$
n u need another xtra amp 2 drive em'...$$$
save up the $$$ 2 get better amp o component set...

of coz running active u have 2 xtra careful wit ur tweeter xover point...
normal tweeter should not go down more than 2khz...
mine is set 2 1.4khz...so it brings up the staging...wanna try 1.2khz n c the diff...

wah..so complicated wan..getting blurrer and blurrer..gonna do more research on d net..

zenn...
http://jimmyokr.multiply.com/photos/hi-res/2/5.jpg?xurl=%2Fphotos%2Fphoto%2F2%2F5.jpg

ayluvb3ech said:
wah..so complicated wan..getting blurrer and blurrer..gonna do more research on d net..

zenn...
http://jimmyokr.multiply.com/photos/hi-res/2/5.jpg?xurl=%2Fphotos%2Fphoto%2F2%2F5.jpg

Your crossover can't do bandpass and have to use together with the passives for the comps.

Sadly cannot see the x-over clearly
Hope can get a clearer pic so that we can help you further
But i think it cannot do bandpass

Hope this can help you out.

For front hi-pass set the x-over freq at 3000Hz and use it for tweets with minimum gain (both amp and x-over). Slope 18dB
For rear hi-pass set around 70-80Hz and set a low-pass at highest freq possible at the amp and use it for front midbass with minimum gain (amp and x-over). Slope 18dB.
Low-pass for sub try to set around 60-80Hz and don't use the bass boost. Try both 0 and 180 degrees phase. Still lack of kick and increase the freq and play around with gain. (start from minimum both amp and x-over)

Increase HU volume to 2/3 max volume and from there start increase the gain from the x-over slowly till reach desired results. Amps gain still minimum. From there u can start playing with the freq till get desired results. But the tweets better stick to 3000Hz or higher as not many tweeters can go low.

As for rear mid, just power it from HU is more than OK set it lower volume (by using fader control as it can damage the sounding). It would be better if the rear is deactivate and use only when there are rear passengers.

finally solved my prob...it's d phase switch for my subwoofer... makes alot of diff...btw..my frequencies i set fr back to front...low to high..

means sub..60-70hz
rear mids 80-90hz
front mids 200hz above..
tweets..should b 2000hz above..hope my homemade caps(passive XO) work...

why dont u connect the passive to the front mids, so the amp powers both components in front (tweeter & mid).

sub 60hx
front 60hz (6.5" components can play low, dont worry, if u start at 200hz u rugi la no bass in front)
rear 80hz

start there, and then adjust to what u like / suitable for the equipment. preferably the rear speakers are on low gain level so it doesnt disturb the front stage.

ayluvb3ech said:
finally solved my prob...it's d phase switch for my subwoofer... makes alot of diff...btw..my frequencies i set fr back to front...low to high..

means sub..60-70hz
rear mids 80-90hz
front mids 200hz above..
tweets..should b 2000hz above..hope my homemade caps(passive XO) work...

so ur phase u set to 0 degree or 180 degrees?

i set to 180 degrees...i dont plan to hav bass in front..i wanted to hav bass coming fr d back..
maybe some ppl prefer to hav bass in front cuz they want staging effect..for me..back massage better =P

sifu bert..can explain why got loss in output? if there's 3db loss, can i juz increase the boost to 9dB?cuz the subs boost i put ot to 6dB..

so 0 will have the bass feel like its coming from the front, whereas 180 will be from the back?

ayluvb3ech,

The Bass boost should not compensate for this as being too high may cause you to clip the signal. The 3DB loss is a standard thing when wiring off phase... some electrical/mechanical explanation which I didnt quite understand.

Mengz,

It will depend on car, installation, sub,sub box and esp tuning for the bass up front. The phase can help at times for it to become more up-front.

mine is waja, 2 amps. one 4 channel another 2 channel bridge to drive the woofers. woofer running on a 3.4 cuft(if im not mistaken, i did it at megasound kg. subang) ported box with 35hz porting freq.