Help for INSURANCE!

hi folks,

We are shopping around for auto insurance and I'm hoping I can get opinions from everybody here about which ones to avoid and which ones you have had a good experience with.
tnx..

i've got a pleasant experience with aviva insurance. Their services is very good and first party claim done really fast. i heard kurnia is quite bad with payment...

Try to avoid the one with the 'K'...
Slow processing and service...:angry:
Also, heard that the budget for a vehicle is kinda 'kiam siap'...
So, usually workshop will anyhow fix ur car...

not those insuarance are kiam siap, is the insurance panel workshop eat water very deep :)) the best thing is dont involve into accident, those workshop will give taiwan parts, like fender, bolnet all taiwan parts, else chopshop parts.

i hate them, try not to involve in any accident.

btw, any renewal motor insuarance can get discount on it or any gift from the insurance company if onself renew, never go through any agent.
i know agent will have RM50-80 commision on it depends on the premium we paid.

since this topic is insurance, i have a Q to ask.

how to determine the SUM INSURED of a car?

i know is by looking at the car value and by market price.

so when i know my car value in market price....how i know how much i need to pay for the insurance premium? don 1 know from agent.....

what about a car was stolen, what is the sum insured? normally how many percent it will cover?

my ins has been claim as 3rd party by other injury in yr 1999, n e case closed in yr 2006 w/ ins com. 'KURNIA' knn.....@#$%*^$#

rockfire82 said:
what about a car was stolen, what is the sum insured? normally how many percent it will cover?

ins com. always ask u sum insured as high as pos (how many k u wan2 cover ur car), say can claim higher if u can was stolen.

tis is cheating, as i know, they cover u base ur sum insured or market price, c which 1 lower, thn deduct 15-20% as proccess fee...hear frm ppl wok in ins com

but we cant do anything, they got T&C behind e agreement....

gohkokeng said:
since this topic is insurance, i have a Q to ask.

how to determine the SUM INSURED of a car?

i know is by looking at the car value and by market price.

so when i know my car value in market price....how i know how much i need to pay for the insurance premium? don 1 know from agent.....

tis got 1 price list, its depents ur car cc, bigger cc = higher price
etc- 40k sum insured = 40 x RM26 + RM250 = RM1290 ins premium (example onli)

insurance basically depends on the owner themself..
it's something like personal insurance...if u felt that the car worth only RM20k; than insure it for RM20k. Obviously the company wouldn't let u insure the car over the market price.
it's also a compulsary for the insurance coverage to cover your current loan amount with the bank. I.e. when u renew your insurance, u still owe the bank financing let's say 31k. The lowest you insure is RM30k.
Anyway, claiming of total lost I heard the most is 80% of the sum insured or the market value of the car, whichever is lower.

Yes, heard a lot of complaints on Kurnia.
AIG is quite good. Mine is with Tokio Marine cos my friend help me renew every year.

:baring_teeth: aiyoo.....are you sure kurnia no good??? mine is under kurnia but so far no accident.....i think need to change insurance orediloh.....lidat:cry_smile: :cry_smile:

how about pan global, is it good? If using e-renewal, that means we can save agent commisions?

b00n said:
insurance basically depends on the owner themself..
it's something like personal insurance...if u felt that the car worth only RM20k; than insure it for RM20k. Obviously the company wouldn't let u insure the car over the market price.

Boon,

im not so agree wit tis statement...

for car sum insured value...it is recommended to insured it at Market Price, the current market price...

u cannot insured it under Market value for too much, let's say market value for ur car is RM22K and u insured it at RM15K. so u will get Fined when there is a claim process, u have to pay the fine.

YES, u can insured it over market price. coz there is no loss to the insurance company. u pay more for the insured fee and when u proceed any claim, they will pay u based on market price, not at ur over-insured amount. so there is nothing benefit to u if u buy it over market price.

and one more important thing when buy insurance, look at the Excess amount. try to get it NIL or 10% only when u buy. this is the amount u need to pay when wanna claim insurance.

my2cent....:cyclops:

• ACE Synergy Insurance
  • American International Assurance (AIA)
  • Aviva Insurance (now MSIG)
  • AXA Affin General Insurance
  • Hong Leong Assurance (HLA)
  • Berjaya General Insurance (BGI)
  • Jerneh Insurance
  • Lonpac Insurance
  • Malaysia National Insurance (MNI)
  • MUI Continental Insurance
  • Oriental Capital Assurance (OCA)
  • Overseas Assurance Corporation (OAC)
  • Pacific Insurance
  • Pacific & Orient Insurance Co. (P&O)
  • Progressive Insurance
  • Prudential Assurance Malaysia
  • RHB Insurance
  • Takaful Malaysia
  • Takaful Nasional
the above are those OK ins. co. (sometimes ok sometime not)
  • AmAssurance - depend on state n town cos their claim dept are not centralize in KL juz like others
  • American Home Assurance *
  • Pan Global Insurance (PGI) - sometimes ok sometimes not
the above are kiam siap ins co., don really understand wat they thinking abt, we pay premium for lousy service

* according to them, they paying claims follow part by part basis which mean follow damage part not compensate on fixed amount but, the result = almost all part can be repair back to a "satisfactory condition" even the adjusted and repairer both agreed not worth it to repair it back

P/S
the above so call bad insurance usually depends on how well u with them or how well ur workshop with them or how much biz u giv to them. (if u r driving a 4yrs old kancil ex660, pls don ever expect too much on them, even under policy they should pay u all new original spare parts)

• Mayban General Assurance
  • Mayban Takaful
  • MCIS Zurich Insurance
  • Asia Insurance
  • Commerce Takaful
  • Tahan Insurance
can't comment cos nv claim before

WHAT INSURANCE COMPANY I LOV THE MOST??

• Allianz General Insurance
  • Commerce Assurance - under CIMB group n boss is rich enough to pay u fast :)
  • MNI Oneline - u need to hav credit card
  • Malaysian Assurance Alliance (MAA)
  • Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance (MSIG) - for TOYOTA owner
  • Multi-Purpose Insurans
  • Royal & Sun Alliance (RSA)
  • Tokio Marine Insurans - for HONDA owner
  • Uni.Asia General Insurance
  • Takaful Ikhlas - beware of their malay working habit, but they r the 1st insurance co. ask me "how can i do better?"
for those who say KURNIA is bad, try to imagine
1) it was the biggest motor insurance company in M'sia
2) they receive thousands of claims everyday (remember m'sia get no. 3 ranking around the world got most accidents)
3) it sometimes depend on workshop n adjuster, if they delay they will juz say the ins co. is slow

REMEMBER

1) U R IN MALAYSIA
2) motor claims process usually took abt 14 days complete the whole process depends on how serious is the accident
3) follow insurance policy, workshop shouldn't start repair ur car b4 the approval from insurance company
4) so, 14 days approve + 7 days repair = at least 21 WORKING DAYS to do everything!!

jerealle,

the best to examine how good is Kurnia is to conducts a survey thru PIAM approved workshops...thne u will get the result

i conducted before, so i get the result but it is based on year 2006. u may conduct it again for this year if u wish.

up to the date, currently my fren has a case with PGI. PGI refuse to pay to my fren's Harrier coz involved in fire. so now waiting for Bank Negara advises.

my2cent

i personally think Great Eastern is reasonably good.
my bro's car was stolen in end Jan07. And he received the insurance claim oredi in 2-3months time. And the ins comp compensate 95% from the sum amount. btw, his car is 2yrs old and according to the feedback from my frens and colleagues, usually ins comp will only compensate 80% or less. and we have to appeal for more.

my car was stolen too on the same day, i was approached by the ins comp and adjustor in a very short period of time and keep receiving follow up calls from them.

so far, im happy with this ins comp. u can try, but bear in mind that different agent provide different kind of service level. mine is ok.

i got a question regarding insurance...last 2 weeks, i stop at the red light (first in line) and this motorbike coming from the opposite direction ran the red light and crashed....his bike skidded and bang into my car..my car only the bumper kemek a bit but he broke his hand and shoulder...as i was not in the wrong and didn't do anything, i heard that he can claim my insurance for medical damages, is that true? anyway to go around it?