Heat wrap.

i've heard and read bout it too

it's used in US racing circles for ages already.
but i heard it's $$$....

even US using ceramic coating...

look at the brighter side of japan where their super GT car r also using thermo wrap...

Some guys suggested that we should wrap other parts that needs to be cooled.I thought of wrapping the air filter ram.What else i can wrap 4 in order to get better response from my car?TQ.

if you wanna keep your intake ram cool, then use SuperLon, the best material for this job.
cheap too!

:)

ninja_iga said:
if you wanna keep your intake ram cool, then use SuperLon, the best material for this job.
cheap too!

:)

how much does superlon cost?where can i get it??

whatdamn said:
140dB,
i don't think that the heat trapped inside will be sufficient to crack or damage the extractor as there is still air moving around (regardless hot or cold) when the car is in motion. what i'm tyring to state is that the thermal wrap isn't supposed to raise the exhaust temp further but to maintain it as it gets further and further away from hell (ie. engine bay). true, i agree with ur premise of keeping the intake side cool, so might as well DIY a vent like what ninja_iga did for his kancil :) gets the hot air out.

ok
yeah tru it wont crack from everyday light-medium use. hell even diesel twin turbo v8s in ships wrap their exhausts wif heat wrap. then again their piping dam bloody thick(at least 5-7mm) and big(8" or more). what i've seen is stainless steel custom manifolds crack/ walls thin due to excessive heat from turbo duty(rev kao kao). have u seen an unwrapped manifold glow after max revving ?....imagine the heat trapped inside.

so you maintain the heat in ur extractor. and ur extractor get hotter and hotter. cos the heat cannot escape due to the thermal wrap. there was a study that the heat maintain much much longer even after stop revving. one more thing. even wif high airflow around ur wrapped extractor, it still remain hot as the wrap is also efficient at preventing ambient cool air from cooling ur extractor down.....

skyline2778,
as to wrap ur intake piping, superlon is good at that. might be a bit messy wif all that dunlop glue. u'll get a bit high though. another way is to use aluminium tape from air-con/roofing guys. wrap that over superlon and lagi kao....

140dB

fix many many coolermaster at ur extractor lo... hehe... joking...
instead of wrapping the hot item, why not try wrapping the items u need them to be cool??... then, heat cannot easily enter the area... plus, ur extractor will dissolve their heat in a normal way.... can ar??..

Superlon is was thermal conductivity.. so if u wanna keep something cool.. or something hot.. thats the product to go for...

140dB,
are you reffering mainly to turbo applications? because in that case my statement is mute cause for turbo/supercharged applications, yes, the exhaust manifolds would experience extreme heat due to extreme conditions that come with forced induction. anyway, i remember someone telling me that you can't wrap stainless steel extractors or else it'll crack, so you should only wrap glavanized steel ones. how far is this true?

dino,
ey, explain in detail la, you've got a brilliant thermo lecturer last sem correct? ahha, so pls prof, explain :D

JL Ceramic Coating

:shades_smile:

Hey bro.
u pay for the quality not the price, right?

anyone tried the seramic coating ar??...
as we all know seramic are like our house flower pots mah... they can withstand trumendous heat, thus keeping the heat in the extractor... in my opinion should be vr effective lo... but should be vr expensive...

whatdamn..
that is true.. stainless steel extractors are easily cracked if u wrap it.. since the stainless steel is much easier to get heated up..

crack appears in most termal wrap manifold is mainly because of hot/cold condition the exhaust manifold is exposed to. moisture trap in termal wraps cost the possibility of rust or some discoloration & accelartion of metal fatigue like.

termal wrap supert GT cars is common, heck it super GT, where sponsors pays for their products. even their turbo exhaust manifold are likely to be custom cast iron unlike most commercial manifold which may be only mendrel bent stainless steel.
depending on stainless grade, manifold will exhibit carmelize-like (turn color) as quickly you utter "exhaust mani.."

ceramic coating is popular in western world.