Heat wrap.

skyline2778

Just wanted to know.Is there any cheap substitute for the expensive heat wrap we always see used to wrap the extractor and piping?Or maybe can use any other material for it?
Thanks...

does this have any effect on performance? or its just to lessen engine heat?
noob noob :)

i do not feel any significant difference if your extractor is wrapped
with thermal wrap. Just help to reduce the heat in your engine bay
and prevent the fan to melt faster as u removed the heatshield on the
stock extractor. It's cheaper to get the wrap some heavy machinery hardware
shop to get it as they are cheaper.

i heard in kl they are selling for below RM30...? 60+ over here in KK sabah.

wira_na said:
i do not feel any significant difference if your extractor is wrapped
with thermal wrap. Just help to reduce the heat in your engine bay
and prevent the fan to melt faster as u removed the heatshield on the
stock extractor. It's cheaper to get the wrap some heavy machinery hardware
shop to get it as they are cheaper.

u know any hardware shop selling this ah?i also wanna wrap my extractor.sounded kosong la the extractor.i wonder will the thermal bandages will help soften the sound or not :D

heat wrap will kill ur extractor

hi all,

heat wrap keeps the heat in ur extractor, as well as out of ur extractor.
so u get a cooler engine bay. which promotes power, as a cooler bay will produce more power definitely. However, the heat wrap also prevents heat from escaping from your extractor, raising ur extractor temp. a lot of ectractor been killed this way. of course it takes some time before the extractor walls actually corrode off.

a better way is to actually wrap the parts u wanna keep cool!

a cheap solution besides the expensive wrap sold specifically for wrapping ur header is boiler tape. U need to find industrial boiler supplier for that...

140dB

140dB,
au contraire, the thermal wrap is to keep the heat in the exhaust gasses thus giving them more kinetic energy for the exhaust gasses to flow out. i should think that it thus help reduce the back pressure that might occur if any. theoratically it works that way. keeping the engine bay cool is a secondary issue.

what happen if not wrap the extractor? does it will reduce the power, or will melt the engine fan...its true? can extractor melt my satria fan?

azir said:
what happen if not wrap the extractor? does it will reduce the power, or will melt the engine fan...its true? can extractor melt my satria fan?

according to my mechnainc, if the car is boost higher n owes at high-rev.....it is better to wrap it.....

but my car only 1.0bar n seldom drive...so mech say dun need to wrap.....wrap wil cost bout rm100++.....

avoid industrial wrap

it's asbestos. it's f*cking dangerous to handle it. You'd cough the crap out for the next 3-4 days just because you breathed it in.

i know i did.
and it didnt last, it friggin' "melted" away! disappeared slowly!! WTF waste my time and money and effort. (yea i DIY)

get the proper heat wraps, usually fibreglass based.

hot air moves faster then cold (dense) air. so theoretically, the hotter the exhaust gas in your extractor, the better the flow.

i heard got ppl comment b4 that if u wrap ur extractor...later it will crack...issit true?
:confused:

whatdamn said:
140dB,
au contraire, the thermal wrap is to keep the heat in the exhaust gasses thus giving them more kinetic energy for the exhaust gasses to flow out. i should think that it thus help reduce the back pressure that might occur if any. theoratically it works that way. keeping the engine bay cool is a secondary issue.

whatdamn,

The exhaust gasses are still hot fresh from ur engine combustion chambers and thus still expanding. true, hotter gasses flow faster

Keeping ur extractors super hot by trapping the heat in, in order to further raise exhaust temperatures is a crazy thing to do IMO. i dont know how much it will actually reduce backpressure, or how much exhaust temps will be further raised. as i have mentioned, raising ur extractor temp will crack or corrode the insides of ur extractor due to the raised temperatures.

IMO, keeping ur engine bay especially intake side cool is of primary importance, as raised intake temps reduce power by form of reduced air density. try touching ur intake piping or intake manifold after a hard run and you know how hot ur intake system can actually get. The intake manifold and intake piping acts as an "interheater" which raise intake temps......

as ninja iga has mentioned, in the interest of ur health, use fibreglass type heatwraps. they can be purchase from boiler suppliers, ship builders, diesel generator suppliers and industrial engine supplier.

140dB

140dB,
i don't think that the heat trapped inside will be sufficient to crack or damage the extractor as there is still air moving around (regardless hot or cold) when the car is in motion. what i'm tyring to state is that the thermal wrap isn't supposed to raise the exhaust temp further but to maintain it as it gets further and further away from hell (ie. engine bay). true, i agree with ur premise of keeping the intake side cool, so might as well DIY a vent like what ninja_iga did for his kancil :) gets the hot air out.

anyone tried the seramic coating ar??...
as we all know seramic are like our house flower pots mah... they can withstand trumendous heat, thus keeping the heat in the extractor... in my opinion should be vr effective lo... but should be vr expensive...