Hatchback and Sedan

Gil1980

Good day forum member...

I'm curious why the hatchback version of whatever brand of car must have a rear wiper and sometime an anthenna on the roof top?

For example Mazda 6 Sedan and Mazda 6 Hatchback, why they can't come out with the same design (which eliminate the anthenna and rear wiper)?

I wonder what is the function of the rear wiper and anthenna for, which can't found on the sedan version? :retarded:

Are they just only for diffirentiate the hatchback and the sedan?

Anyone can give me an answer?

haha... good question... why iswara sedan dont have rear wiper while iswara aeroback has... but why evo has rear wiper since it is a family saloon??... why arr???...

Hatchback has rear wipers because hatchback has a shorter base - i.e. from the rear wheel to the rear bumper. So when the car is going on higher speed during the rain, the water on the road will splash upwards to the rear mirror bacause of the shorter base compared to sedans which has longer base tat will prevent the water from splashing upwards to the rear miror. It's like the tyre pick up the water and splash it upwards. U will notice the water movement is in a parabola shape. So this is the function of the wiper in the rear mirror. As for the Evo, it's because its a rally car which go off-road...notice that all 4wd vehicle have rear wiper! =)

ya..aeroback cars have kinda same wheelbase as sedan but still got rear wiper..

and i think impreza dont have rear wiper too..

production cars for evo and subaru don have gua. Even evo oso don have actually...those evos with rear wipers maybe some special edition or wat....hehe~!