GTTi Overheated..

Aura

When I was back from my hometown in Ipoh on Monday, an incident happened to me. It was engine overheated. I stopped at Tapah R&R but till I reached Ulu Bernam, I felt very warm at my leg. My water temp went to 3/4 or 65% of the overall meter..It continued like that till my aircond compressor blown and my engine suddenly off! White smoked got out from the back of my car..Terrible experience..Never face such that experience..

Luckily the Polis Bantuan helped me..But one of them took the photo of my car (why? to saman me cz stop at the hiway side?)..

My curiousity is, how to overcome this matter? Do I need to change anything such as water pump? My radiator seems to be ok and no leaking. I am very worry about this..Need to refer to my pomen but before that, let's discuss here..Probably, you all have this kind of experience too..

Thanks..

Aura,

Do you press so much at the hi-way? Or just normal speed below 140km/h? Wah...very seram maa..if in my case..i sure panic lor. So after that incident, ur car still manage to be driven home?

TQ.

bro...
is this ur first time xperience dis kind of prob??
maybe ur radiator fan didnt fubction well..
or maybe ur running 140km/h above all the way...

gtti_kuning said:
bro...
is this ur first time xperience dis kind of prob??
maybe ur radiator fan didnt fubction well..
or maybe ur running 140km/h above all the way...

Aloha,
1. Does it mean with GTti engine, we shouldn't maintain at higher speed for a long time even on high gear ?
2. Any tips on maintaining high speed ,how long should we maintain the speed?
3. Or after certain hours of drive lets say 2hr, should we need..to keep the engine cool down 1st b4 continue driving again?
4. Or the transmission of gear ratio is very important too? cannot tarik panjang? Advisable gear ratio for gtti?

Hope, some otais can assits us.. :)

Alamak..I pressed 110-120km/h all the way from Ipoh to KL..Sometime 160km/h..Does it make effect?

I never experienced that kind of situation before..Surely at the first time, I was a bit gelabah..It's my engine prob, not GTTi problem cz I never face it..That was the first time..I think my pomen can fix that small problem..No worry..

cb70 said:
Aloha,
1. Does it mean with GTti engine, we shouldn't maintain at higher speed for a long time even on high gear ?
2. Any tips on maintaining high speed ,how long should we maintain the speed?
3. Or after certain hours of drive lets say 2hr, should we need..to keep the engine cool down 1st b4 continue driving again?
4. Or the transmission of gear ratio is very important too? cannot tarik panjang? Advisable gear ratio for gtti?

Hope, some otais can assits us.. :)

aiyakk very hard 2 explain in eng la bro..

cani kalo main h/way jgn biar tebo ko spool..
maintain 110-120 ok janji boost meter ko bwh dr 0.0 bar...
mase tuh tebo x bukak lg...
kalo ko henjut jerk..
takut sok pecah enjin je....
penah jadik katmembe aku dulu...
die main h/way ngan sebijik eterna
besit 190km/h all d way....
dr nilai sp semban..
elok lps tol jerk asap kuar la dr enjin die...
head da terangkat...
naye nye kes wooooo....

Aura said:
When I was back from my hometown in Ipoh on Monday, an incident happened to me. It was engine overheated. I stopped at Tapah R&R but till I reached Ulu Bernam, I felt very warm at my leg. My water temp went to 3/4 or 65% of the overall meter..It continued like that till my aircond compressor blown and my engine suddenly off! White smoked got out from the back of my car..Terrible experience..Never face such that experience..

Luckily the Polis Bantuan helped me..But one of them took the photo of my car (why? to saman me cz stop at the hiway side?)..

My curiousity is, how to overcome this matter? Do I need to change anything such as water pump? My radiator seems to be ok and no leaking. I am very worry about this..Need to refer to my pomen but before that, let's discuss here..Probably, you all have this kind of experience too..

Thanks..

As what we sms last nite they also posted the same as i told u.By they way try to check ur compressor suspect compressor pulley jammed.;)

No effect at engine..Only the air-cond compressor..Engine always ok..It's only air cond compressor..Yeah, thanks Pret for the SMS..I owe you teh tarik la..When can I buy you Teh tarik? Come la to Wangsa Maju with CB70 (Pret, you know where's he convert? Hahahaha)...Then we can teh tarik la..No yamcha haa...

Aura said:
No effect at engine..Only the air-cond compressor..Engine always ok..It's only air cond compressor..Yeah, thanks Pret for the SMS..I owe you teh tarik la..When can I buy you Teh tarik? Come la to Wangsa Maju with CB70 (Pret, you know where's he convert? Hahahaha)...Then we can teh tarik la..No yamcha haa...

good 4 u la then mir...:D

Hi geng..
Just name the time & place...not even teh tarik...Giant Glass teh tarik can also maaa..no problem...hehe
:D

cb70 said:
Hi geng..
Just name the time & place...not even teh tarik...Giant Glass teh tarik can also maaa..no problem...hehe
:D

wakakaka...
giant glass leh..
u blanja la..
can or not??

If the temperature is only 3/4, your engine will not cut off. I suspect that happened because of the jammed pulley.

If your water & cooling systems (radiator, pump, hoses) are fine, no problem travelling at a constant high speed. I've done 150km/h all the way for 3 - 4 hours.

Speed Demon said:
If the temperature is only 3/4, your engine will not cut off. I suspect that happened because of the jammed pulley.

If your water & cooling systems (radiator, pump, hoses) are fine, no problem travelling at a constant high speed. I've done 150km/h all the way for 3 - 4 hours.

is it true??
waaa that means mine got problem lor with either one this things??
when u reach dis speed is ur turbo still spooling bro??

This morning I gatal-gatal switch on the aircond..But no shaking (then dying), no engine off, no takut anymore..But still no cool aircond, only warm air (or can defined as hot air) ..

I am sure that's the aircond compressor's problem!!!

gtti_kuning said:
when u reach dis speed is ur turbo still spooling bro??
A turbo starts spooling the moment the engine is switched on. Only thing is whether the blades are spinning fast enough to generate postive boost pressure. When positive boost pressure occurs depends on the size of the turbo. For GTti owners, positive boost pressure generally occurs when the green turbo light comes on in our meter panel. More accurately, a boost meter will tell you when this happens.

My turbo is no longer standard, so you can't compare. :p

Visit http://www.howstuffworks.com and browse the automotive section. ;)

Aura said:
This morning I gatal-gatal switch on the aircond..But no shaking (then dying), no engine off, no takut anymore..But still no cool aircond, only warm air (or can defined as hot air) ..

I am sure that's the aircond compressor's problem!!!
Why not open your engine bonnet and look at the pulley attached to your aircond compressor and also belt? Ask a friend to start the engine and see whether the belt runs properly. A very easy way to determine whether it is a jammed pulley or compressor problem. If it is a compressor problem, do not run the aircond as this will only damage the compressor beyond repair.

Simple checking can prevent a small problem from becoming a major and worse still, more expensive problem. Which would you rather risk? :rolleyes:

If we want to upgrade to a bigger turbo, what turbo is suitable and how much RM..Need to change anything else..??

P/S : I still remember Speed Demon had mention about "somewhere after GTTi conversion finished, thinking of using that car only for daily usage..Then, after few moment, thinking pula that there is a need, which is 'Need For Speed'..Ahh..I just started to ask about Turbo Upgrade pulak dah...

You're right, Speed..

Aura said:
If we want to upgrade to a bigger turbo, what turbo is suitable and how much RM..Need to change anything else..??

P/S : I still remember Speed Demon had mention about "somewhere after GTTi conversion finished, thinking of using that car only for daily usage..Then, after few moment, thinking pula that there is a need, which is 'Need For Speed'..Ahh..I just started to ask about Turbo Upgrade pulak dah...

You're right, Speed..

i heard a friend say that B6 turbo is suitable 4 GTti..
but correct me if i'm wrong bro speed...:D

Write your reply...