grandpa KE-30

huh? :thefinger::thefinger:

no la... 3K-R? yeah! dreams on... but 3K with weber and some others thing... i might can do it.. 3K is already in my KE20... but braking... absorber... that is one headache...

it will be a long before my project starts...:banghead: now still playing with AE101 la, Netmatrix bro... :) :thefinger::thefinger: so.. hopefully my KE20 can roar back with it's 3K sooner or later anytime again... :D fun to heard those cast iron block yelling... really miss it.. :banghead::banghead: coz i over revved it to die ady.. now can only roll like turtle on streets..

Huh? Pushrod?
I need to do more research on that..

Pushrod is oldschool tech?

Sbirdz, Its not just simply whack in a Weber, Delrotto or Some twin carb and expect power gains. I moded my stock twin 1.6 carb with disastrous results. Unless it was partnered with more aggresive valve lifters for OHV engines, its no go. OHV engine is not easy to mod. Too many things to change, and even harder to get aftermarket parts for it. Junk the 3K go for 4A.

Huh? Pushrod?
I need to do more research on that..

Pushrod is oldschool tech?

It IS old tech. One of the dinasours of combustion engines. Where modern engines get a cam over the head to control the valve, push rods are crank driven cam which pushes the rod to the valve lifters. Yo will get mechanical power loss as there are too many sections to drive before power is driven to the gearbox. Also you have more weight in chains compared to belts.

I see... so instead of using a belt to turn the camgears this one uses a rod to push the valve lifters.. I get it now..

:biggrin::biggrin: netmatrix, coz i love the sound of that K-series engine.. but still.. 2T-G is able to be find ma... :biggrin::biggrin:

Was just thinking.. more and more interested in this 3K engine..
So if it comes with iron block on stock.. can slap on a snail and go for high boost lor?

I wonder if we can put this in an old school toyota chassis...

It'll be Malaysia's craziest hot rod.. engine sticking out of the bonnet even without adding blowers!

If you dig old engines, unfortunately, the 3K isn't the best candidate to turbo. But the 2T/3T hybrid is. 2T head, 3T bottom and turbo. And both are pushrod engines. The 2T-G twin cam isn't a good candidate for turbo either. Till now, i only know 2T or 3T engines are extremely reliable. But how reliable are they after turbo'ed compared to say a turbo'ed 4AGZE? This is a question i am still seeking answers to.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wwq9...CAC455A66&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=matlpSrwkVI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GECW2311Cys&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hl1pi_e3mQs&feature=related

This is what 3K or 4K cannot do. Its not that i dislike K series. But the engine seems more suited for N/A application. And how much compression can a T and K series stand? I also dunno. Only looks like T series can stand more. But some other factors inside the engine may not make it the best race engine. Try to look for 3-4K turbo and its almost non existent. In fact K series is even newer than T!!

Sbirdz, That one is a race engine. No way to get one. I think Bill Sherwood's site also has a picture of it. And i read in some forums its only available in some junked rally cars. So dream on buddy. hehehe. A 2T-G is more realistic. But a 4AGE is more desireble.

1980s' Corona does not have not have 4AGE la. hahaha. They have 2T or 3T which is 1.6 and 1.8cc. Mostly single carb and slightly less than 100hp for 1.6 and slightly more than 100hp for 1.8. Both will mate to T50 5 speed gearbox available from Corona or AE86. If you want fast and easy swap, definitely everything from AE86 (engine, wiring, gearbox, crossmember, steering rack, suspension blah blah and not a from a Corona. The Corona is only valuable for its T50 gearbox which is very expensive.

Also your KE30 uses leaf springs. This is a hard mod. U either run heavy rated springs to get the car not to roll much. Or you get a combo anti-roll bar. If u want to drift, u do not want the rear to roll and sway. Or u will never want to drift again. Or u buy a AE86 or KE70 rear cut and cut and paste the rear supension assembly to the KE70.

Or a faster way it to junk the Ke30 and get a Ke70. Which is even more starightforward to mod with an AE86 halfcut. If u go this way, check out one of our local sifoo's site here. http://www.my-acoustic.com/Car/car_section.htm

Good luck.

owh...thnx2!:adore::adore:

wahh.. bro netmatrix...:nurse::nurse::nurse::nurse::nurse::nurse:

Put so0 many vids of insane engine mods.. heart itchy man.. hand oso itchy.. wallet still empty..
Haha.. I'll stick with my NA ride for a while more..

Yeah man. Those were like many many years ago. Since the early 90's they were already hitting 400hp with 3T turbo. When K series already matured from the 80s. Even till now, no one seems to be interested in turbo'ing a K engine. Maybe it doesn't look as good as a T engine? Or probably the way the combustion chamber designed, that is not suitable to be turbocharged? I dunno la.

I don't think i want to drive a turbo engine anytime soon. Sticking to NA at the moment. So the details on KE30 mod on the engine part here, does it help?

Oh SC'ing a K series? Got!!! Very recent only. This is the site.

http://www.drift.com.my/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32428

Details are still sparce. But i'm keeping tab on it for details.

yea...I've seen it...the output must be great!!!!but still in R&D stage rite?