Gear change problem for Neo

alexklg

some of you knew that i got my neo already. so excited when i got my car. however i have just one small little problem here.

having a manual model, i like to do quick gear changes. however the throttle seems a bit laggy to me.
First, whenever i release my gas and press my clutch simultaneously, the rev will rev up a bit before dropping down. This also happens when i driving normally.
Second, when i release my clutch and press my gas pedal, i get some sort of jerk b4 i start to accelerate normally.

I tried a lot of time as to how to avoid the jerks.. but unable to do so.

I'm not sure i heard this from who but the campro engine uses an electronic kinda throttle which is different from the normal cable-pulled throttled. And by using the electronic throttle control, there will be some lag and thus causing my rev to rev slightly higher and also the jerks after gear change.

Could some sifu give some insight to my experience?

when i first tested gen2 1.6 in 2004 it was a manual. and yes, it revs by itself during gearchange when the driver depressed the clutch pedal.

that is NORMAL. it is a characteristic of Proton's Drive-By-Wire also known as Electronic Throttle.

u'll get used to it. functions so that engine power wont drop so much during gear change.

engine feels laggy i think is becoz of the engine itself. the CAMPRO power does not produce much power in its lower revband. peak power of 110bhp only comes in at very high engine speed at 6,000rpm.

but please be patient. the engine will feel different at 10,000km after proper running in and be different again after another 10,000km.

same goes to the stiff gear change.

reedoor bro, unfortunately i didn't. forgot all about it coz this uncle keeps looking at my car and asking this and that... hahhaha....

rollakid bro, i thought of that too.. but that isn't normal leh... will ask the mech again when i visit them again... (for the 1st service)

zan bro, oh.. thanx for the feedback. will keep your words in mind.

Just hope that my running in is good enough... been keeping my rev faithfully below 3k rpm... can't wait to unleash it until 4k - 5k after 1st service...

alexklg , i would reli suggest u tell ALL your problems to the proton mech during ur first service... write it all down n tell them. They'll settle for u ... Since ur car's still new.

Good luck.

yalo yalo... since ur car still under waranty, better complain to proton service centre let them settle it...

now i think not much problem liao but need to ask the mech about the jerkings loh... see whether it is normal for these campro engines..

what i can say is this batch Satria Neo is 1st batch production...even the engine uses Campro.....still is a brandnew developed car.

i meant the 1st version of SNEO.....should got some problems

version after version only more stable

Then i'll slowly slowly upgrade my version to newer version loh.. kekekekkee.... like that more shiok... though more money involved.. hahaha...

during my previous test drive the SNeo, i found that gear change is kinda difficult... gears are hard to engage.... yes, although it is sort of short shifted adi, but still hard to engage in gears.... not vr smooth....

is it the car i tested got problem or all SNeo has such transmission??...

skywalker bro,
it takes time to get used to it. The gears are rather "stiff". Need to push quite hard, especially the 1st gear. But from 1st to subsequent gears, it is quite easy if you get used to it.

Just now i went for a spin. manage to solve the jerks by punching the gas slightly earlier... will try it at higher rpms after my frst service.

dude cannot engage gear1

try release all your clutch pedal and step again

and/or try push the Gear Stick to the left harder than only up to gear1

gohkokeng bro, yeah, but SNEO's gear is really not the normal type of gears on protons or perodua.. .this one is really solid... need some practise and a little more push to engage gear 1 or sometimes gear 2.

sometimes shifting gear need fast

some situation like U-turn cannot finish in 1 turn need reverse and gear1 again

fast shifting can accelerate faster also

conslusion is slowly shift troublesome leh.....

its a friggin short shifter la ok ... lolzz

short shifters memang hard to engage punya .. have to be abit harder...

remember to run in ur engine the right way...congrats on ur new car!!

Alexklg,

Well i think a lot of sifus here have advised you already but let me just say, one the matter about your throttle thingy? no fret, its like that..you should be lucky as in terms of lag and low end power? the neo has got a slightly different throttle manifold design, so your low end is slightly better then G2's campro..we are the test rats ma...anyways, about the timing when you shift in between gears, hmm yup you'll have a slight rev left when you leave off the throttle, after a while you'll definately get used to it, unlike the usual cable actuated throttle bodies..because of E throttle, when i first got my Gen2 people would think i didn't know how to drive but now no more such problem..got used to it, its true if you let anyone else drive your car, they won't be comfortable with it. Be careful during traffic jams and crawling traffic, when you just about getting around 20km/h like for eg 1st to 2nd, and then you need to suddenly stop, clutch down instead of easing the throttle, you will find that you will continue to lunge forward..just drive this engine about 4k rpm and you'll be happy, and don't worry the consumption gets better when you rev it high, because that's the optimum engine band. Oh another thing, with the Neo, they sought of tuned the clutch to be half clutch..you know what that means? that means for 1st you fully depressed, and 2nd onwards you don't have to fully depressed the pedal, the gears will engaged perfectly, if you fully pressed it, its a bit hard to engaged. That's what the salesman told me when i was test driving the neo. Hope this helps, oh the gear level positions, i:e the gear plane..when your 1st and 2nd goes? thats a bit not so nice for me, a bit clumsy, i feel.