For Telstar '88 Ghia

Interesting,

I didn't know the local Telstar's were fitted with an OD function. Then pls ignore my reply, my apologies.

The "Hold" and Power/Eco mode was made available in the Telstar/626 Asia Pac market. The “Hold” feature was carried over in the V6 generation (Power/Eco was dropped as the Auto’s were constantly on Power mode).

Maybe for certain markets, the “Hold” system were replaced with OD like in your car. I have a repair manual for this car which covers the 2.0 MT/AT and 2.2i MT/AT models. Don’t remember seeing the OD.

Generally speaking, overdrive (O/D) is the highest gear in the transmission. On most cars the automatic transmission has 3 speeds and Overdrive (fourth speed). Overdrive allows the engine to have less rpm with higher speed in order to have better fuel efficiency.

When you switch it on, you allow the transmission to shift into overdrive mode after the certain speed is reached (usually 60 – 80kmh depending on the load). When it's off, you limit transmission shifting by third speed.

In normal driving condition the overdrive should be always on. You may need to switch it off if you drive in hilly areas, like going up Genting.

Your OD seems to be working fine as you’ve said earlier when cruising at 110KM/h, the RPM is just slightly below 2K.” If your OD is faulty, your rpm should be higher at 110km/h.

Note: - At 110km/h your engine speed should be between 2500 - 3000rpm. At 2000rpm, you should be driving at 80km/h.

Carburetor cleaning

For a start, I suggest you use the fuel mixture types. I would recommend Bardahl. It’s a black bottle with Green label. You can find it at most spare parts dealers. Should not cost more than rm18 per bottle.

Buy two for each car. Use one bottle each time you top up your petrol. The best way to get this thing to work is when you go on a long distance drive where you can rev your engine at higher rpms.

If you insist on doing the spray thingy, I suggest you take it to your mechanic and ask him to do it and observe how he does it. That’s how I learned and I did it on my own after that.

Btw, where about are you located?

cheers,
Sudha

sudha said:
Interesting,

I didn't know the local Telstar's were fitted with an OD function. Then pls ignore my reply, my apologies.

The "Hold" and Power/Eco mode was made available in the Telstar/626 Asia Pac market. The “Hold” feature was carried over in the V6 generation (Power/Eco was dropped as the Auto’s were constantly on Power mode).

Maybe for certain markets, the “Hold” system were replaced with OD like in your car. I have a repair manual for this car which covers the 2.0 MT/AT and 2.2i MT/AT models. Don’t remember seeing the OD.

Generally speaking, overdrive (O/D) is the highest gear in the transmission. On most cars the automatic transmission has 3 speeds and Overdrive (fourth speed). Overdrive allows the engine to have less rpm with higher speed in order to have better fuel efficiency.

When you switch it on, you allow the transmission to shift into overdrive mode after the certain speed is reached (usually 60 – 80kmh depending on the load). When it's off, you limit transmission shifting by third speed.

In normal driving condition the overdrive should be always on. You may need to switch it off if you drive in hilly areas, like going up Genting.

Your OD seems to be working fine as you’ve said earlier when cruising at 110KM/h, the RPM is just slightly below 2K.” If your OD is faulty, your rpm should be higher at 110km/h.

Note: - At 110km/h your engine speed should be between 2500 - 3000rpm. At 2000rpm, you should be driving at 80km/h.

Carburetor cleaning

For a start, I suggest you use the fuel mixture types. I would recommend Bardahl. It’s a black bottle with Green label. You can find it at most spare parts dealers. Should not cost more than rm18 per bottle.

Buy two for each car. Use one bottle each time you top up your petrol. The best way to get this thing to work is when you go on a long distance drive where you can rev your engine at higher rpms.

If you insist on doing the spray thingy, I suggest you take it to your mechanic and ask him to do it and observe how he does it. That’s how I learned and I did it on my own after that.

Btw, where about are you located?

cheers,
Sudha

i was kinda confused with the entire telstar lineup...
how come i see some of the adverts in motor trader, they have 93-95 telstar that comes in V6 body when my bro's supposingly older generation but dated 96 telstar is still on sale??
no idea bout the OD and power/eco mode though...

i've tried the fuel mixture type previously, but it doesn't really seems to be effective... is the spray type just simple as removing the air filter and spraying into the carb? i know how to remove the air filter on my mom's civic, thought of trying it this afternoon...

Telstar Line-Up

[img=http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/1488/telstarlineup3pb.th.jpg]

Note:

** Not available in Malaysia
Telstar is the same as Mazda 626 but is one generation late
Mazda 626 (first generation) came out earlier between 1979 – 1983.

In Malaysia, the GD, which is what you have, was in production until 1996 as it was considered a best selling middle range executive sedan back then even though the V6 made its appearance in 1992.

Another factor was pricing. The V6/GE was selling at rm100k plus while the 2.0 entry level GD was selling for rm70k.

Don’t worry about your OD, if you are running at a low rpm at 110km/h, it should be working fine. I think it’s your bulb. Just get it changed.

About cleaning the carb, err….tell you what, why don’t you join us for TT tonight at Kenchana, SS15, Subang. I’ll explain a little futher.

You have to completely remove the air filter and the housing to expose the carb….and there are a few other steps to follow…so just taking off the filter and spraying is not enough..

Hope this helps....Cheers!
Sudha

sudha said:
Telstar Line-Up

[img=http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/1488/telstarlineup3pb.th.jpg]

Note:

** Not available in Malaysia
Telstar is the same as Mazda 626 but is one generation late
Mazda 626 (first generation) came out earlier between 1979 – 1983.

In Malaysia, the GD, which is what you have, was in production until 1996 as it was considered a best selling middle range executive sedan back then even though the V6 made its appearance in 1992.

Another factor was pricing. The V6/GE was selling at rm100k plus while the 2.0 entry level GD was selling for rm70k.

Don’t worry about your OD, if you are running at a low rpm at 110km/h, it should be working fine. I think it’s your bulb. Just get it changed.

About cleaning the carb, err….tell you what, why don’t you join us for TT tonight at Kenchana, SS15, Subang. I’ll explain a little futher.

You have to completely remove the air filter and the housing to expose the carb….and there are a few other steps to follow…so just taking off the filter and spraying is not enough..

Hope this helps....Cheers!
Sudha

sudha, is the GC and GD terbalik in ur list??
how come GD appear as 1st gen and GC as 2nd gen?

thanx for ur invitation sudha,
but very sorry lar..
i'm in kajang and and i dunno how to go there lerr..
can please explain here arr? pleaseee... :biggrin:

i've tried removing the airfilter+housing on my mom's civic and spraying into the carb when revving at around 3k, but the before-and-after difference is not really noticeable... only the carb bowl seems cleaner..

woohoo... telstar is fast... in my standard lah.. haha..
a waja cucuk me just now because i was driving slowly on a highway before a big U-Turn. so i tried to speed up a bit when i'm out of the U-Turn, and it's a very very long stretch of straight road with no cars running on it.. guess what, the waja continue to cucuk me,driving behind me on the same lane when there's 3 lane on the highway even when i'm at 140KMH, so i mah step up a bit more loh.. the speedo touch 160KMH and what i can see from the back mirror is the waja trying to keep up, but the distant in between is buidling up already, and telstar is still pushing the speedo furthur... :eek: haha... anyway, the telstar surprises me, a lot.. i din expect it to speed to 160KMH so soon cause my bro's comment on the telstar is "no power lah..." and i didn't really try to speed with it.. and it's also surprisingly stable at 160KMH eventhough the absorber is not in good condition already..

anyway, i still prefer to drive the telstar in a more relax way, it's comfortable, so feel like spending more time in it.. enjoying.. :rock: as long as i keep my foot on the pedal and keep the rev constant @ 2K RPM, the telstar will run smooth, and accelerate itself from stand still to around 80KMH, if i wanna cruise at higher speed, just step a bit more and wait for the OD to kick in, then drop the rev back to 2K RPM and enjoy my journey all the way... :)
speeding makes my heart beats faster.. no accident also i'll die faster if continue like that.. haha..

i've tested the OD and confirmed it's working well, i cruise at around 110KMh, then try to switch between OD on and OD off, i do see the RPM rise and drop accordingly..

anyway, i just notice there's a ECO button on the aircond panel when my dad asked me what is it for.. sorry for not noticing previously... Sudha, what is ECO mode for? how does it differ from OD? and i assume when i switch off ECO, it goes to POWER rite?

kevin613 said:
sudha, is the GC and GD terbalik in ur list??
how come GD appear as 1st gen and GC as 2nd gen?

thanx for ur invitation sudha,
but very sorry lar..
i'm in kajang and and i dunno how to go there lerr..
can please explain here arr? pleaseee... :biggrin:

i've tried removing the airfilter+housing on my mom's civic and spraying into the carb when revving at around 3k, but the before-and-after difference is not really noticeable... only the carb bowl seems cleaner..

dude...my mistake. GC = First Generation . GD = Second Generation. Sorry bro, typed in a rush...

eh...u in kajang ah? I am in Cheras near Phoenix Plaza...got time drop by la...meet for yum char.

Then probably I can explain to you what you need to do to clean your carb.

cheers...

kevin613 said:
anyway, i just notice there's a ECO button on the aircond panel when my dad asked me what is it for.. sorry for not noticing previously... Sudha, what is ECO mode for? how does it differ from OD? and i assume when i switch off ECO, it goes to POWER rite?

:biggrin: ...how did it feel?..I'm not sure what's the top speed on the automatic version but have taken my T when it was manual to 190kmh....@ 4700rpm:driver: . Meter could still go but didnt have time to find out..was flagged down by cop at Pagoh:mad: .

The car can really fly especially with that very torqy nikki carburetor. Never underestimate that car.

The ECO mode on the air cond panel is for your A/C. The function is simple, with the ECO mode on, your A/C runs on shorter intervals (your compressor kicks in at much shorter intervals) giving you much needed fuel economy and prolongs the need to top up your A/C gas.

You'll notice that with ECO on, on hot day the car will be very hot inside.

The moment you swict off the ECO function, your A/C compressor will be constantly running and this will affect your fuel consumption. In the long run, it does shorten the A/C gas lifespan.