For Telstar '88 Ghia

fordddd

okie....the symptoms....are ...when i drive den stop the idle speed doesnt come back...down to the correct idle speed.... if i rev the acc abit... den it comes down.... is there a way to get it fixed cheaply since i dont wanna waste to much on da car..... hey how about fixing a 1.5 laser carb into the telstar 1.8 .... does it...help consumption? can it go in first of all?

hahahahah....

looks like you've got a sticky idle valve or throttle problem.

You can take it to your mechanic tell him to tune your carb and clean it. Make sure he knows how to do it. If he does not, dont let him touch the carb at all.

If you hav trouble finding some one to do it...let me know. Actually, would love to see your car. where you based?

Well, Laser 1.5 carbs do not fit.

Actually I still have two carbs and one of it is the one from the GC model. been saving it for a project. It's been cleaned and overhauled at a cost.

i might sell it if the price is right.

aha sticky idle vallve...throttle prob....mmmmm my mach says change carb better.... i might be getting..one soon...in a couple days time Free..kekeke.... a 626 carb... same ... i'm near UH hospital... Pj area.. sek 11
how about u man..?

u dun need to see my junky man.... lol... u can see my ..escorts...i'm okie proud of dem...

free?...thats good. But make sure the carb is cleaned up.

I am in puchong but on saturdays i usually hang out at my mechs place ard old Klang road.

cheers!

yeah free... definately i'll get it cleaned man..... oh puchong...kewls... wheres ur mech? name? CSK? micheal? what year is ur car model?

Revolution Performance Works. its in taman petaling, somewhere behind wisma peters.

One of the guys there is good in carbs. Will be there in the morning tomorrow.

cheers!

wisma peters..... is this near TP girls schooL? athiswary restaurant? or in OKR its self? u said taman petaling...i wondeing now where....

alamak....wait..lemme think.

ok...if you come from pearl point, go all the way straight, past Yaohan, past balai polis petaling u will see BP station on the left.

Traffic light >> go straight >> traffic light >> go straight and take the left traffic light heading to sunway on NPE >> past that you will halfcut shop followed by Caltex.

Turn left after Caltex >> go straight to small roundabout >>take 3 o'clock >> take the first turning on the right >> immediately turn left and you will see Revolution.

confused??...call me better. heheheheh

hey.... no need call alll......... dats near man...and damn easy to even remmber... caltex turn left....roundabout3 clock.....there u are..ryte...no worries....
when do u hang out
... welll how old are u bro....... i wonder my self....... do u chat on msn messenger? if u do i would love to add u..... currently my damn telstar
is totaly dead......the starter conged out.... i went ipoh...and jus got one today...phew..... tomolo fix ler..damn... so tell me when u are in ur mechs place would meet u there

Hey.... i've got ...some silicon..plug cables.... phew i nvr knew my car had dat much diffrance in power....DIY.. CAI... helps alot...but u got to change filters more often...since it gets dirty...faster.. but....
20% ..save fuel....
better den surbo..lol.....so man ...u going to ur mech this saturday mornin....
i might jus come.. at about wat time ur usualy there? lemme know kies

Saturday i should be there ard 10am. Will be taking my in-laws Merc W123...

my bro just grabbed a 1996 Ford telstar 2.0A 12V carbie from my dad's friend for RM12K, and the FC is around 380KM for RM60 of leaded fuel. is this considered bad for a telstar? any tips to improve the FC? and apparently, his auto trans fluid is dripping, and when sent to mechanics, the mechanics says what oil seal rosak, need to change or something, but didn't quote any price, any idea how much would that be? and is it possible to convert to manual? if yes, how much would it be?

anyway, 1st impression of the car is of course comfortable and spacious after sitting in an 20 years old honda civic(I still love this car, powerful at stock..) and an Iswara for so many years..

kevin613 said:
my bro just grabbed a 1996 Ford telstar 2.0A 12V carbie from my dad's friend for RM12K, and the FC is around 380KM for RM60 of leaded fuel. is this considered bad for a telstar? any tips to improve the FC? and apparently, his auto trans fluid is dripping, and when sent to mechanics, the mechanics says what oil seal rosak, need to change or something, but didn't quote any price, any idea how much would that be? and is it possible to convert to manual? if yes, how much would it be?

anyway, 1st impression of the car is of course comfortable and spacious after sitting in an 20 years old honda civic(I still love this car, powerful at stock..) and an Iswara for so many years..

Hello Kevin...

Welcome to the Telstar and 626 brotherhood.

'96 Telstar for 12k???!!!!!^#%$^%@$!!!! I bought my '92 model in 2002 and it was going for 27k!!

Anyway...

Your FC is pretty good i'd say for city driving. Remember, your's is an Auto. without the fuel price increase, you should be able to get 420 - 450km for RM60. Depending on your driving habit..

That was my FC after i'd done my top overhaul. I added a grounding kit and changed my plug cables and i was pushing 500 - 550km for every rm60. Mine was a manual then.

Are you sure the oil drip is from you auto tranny? Not Engine oil?....

Put a paper under the car and observe. If the oil colour is black, then its your engine oil.

If the oil colour is red... it is the ATF fluid which could be either from the G/box or the power steering.

Have the mech look under the car carefully.

If its from the gearbox...check your sump. if it leaks from there, it could be your gasket. You may need to replace the filter and the gasket as they come in a set. I just did mine, will let you know the cost.

If's its from your power steering, check the hoses...and the pump and the rack (the rack seals are usually the major culprits as well as the hoses).

Have fun with the car man...it's a lovely car to drive especially long distance.

btw, you're welcome to join out TT session in Subang...look out for updates!...

Cheers!!!,

Sudha

sudha said:
Hello Kevin...

Welcome to the Telstar and 626 brotherhood.

'96 Telstar for 12k???!!!!!^#%$^%@$!!!! I bought my '92 model in 2002 and it was going for 27k!!

Anyway...

Your FC is pretty good i'd say for city driving. Remember, your's is an Auto. without the fuel price increase, you should be able to get 420 - 450km for RM60. Depending on your driving habit..

That was my FC after i'd done my top overhaul. I added a grounding kit and changed my plug cables and i was pushing 500 - 550km for every rm60. Mine was a manual then.

Are you sure the oil drip is from you auto tranny? Not Engine oil?....

Put a paper under the car and observe. If the oil colour is black, then its your engine oil.

If the oil colour is red... it is the ATF fluid which could be either from the G/box or the power steering.

Have the mech look under the car carefully.

If its from the gearbox...check your sump. if it leaks from there, it could be your gasket. You may need to replace the filter and the gasket as they come in a set. I just did mine, will let you know the cost.

If's its from your power steering, check the hoses...and the pump and the rack (the rack seals are usually the major culprits as well as the hoses).

Have fun with the car man...it's a lovely car to drive especially long distance.

btw, you're welcome to join out TT session in Subang...look out for updates!...

Cheers!!!,

Sudha

the RM12K is the car's trade in price, so my dad's friend thought since the trade in price is so low, might as well sell to close friend rather than those car dealer..

i've seen where the oil drips when my mech jack up the whole car, it's confirmed from the auto tranny.

and one more thing, i dunno if the car's OD still works as the OD LED on the dashboard doesn't lights up no matter the OD switch is in ON or OFF position...

any idea whether those carbie cleaning/tuning will help to improve FC? since it's an old car, i'll assume it'll be very dirty if the previous owner have never performed any sort of cleaning.. any guides on DIY or can i just send it to any workshop for cleaning?

Hi kev..

if it’s from the tranny...pls see if it is from is it from the oil sump? it yes....service the gearbox. Drain the oil and replace with new oil. change the filter and gasket.

Also check the drain plug…sometimes the O-ring could be the culprit.

Our cars don’t have OD. Its called HOLD system, which, once activated it will hold the current gear in drive...two problems..could be the LED or the system is not working. have it checked by someone good in automotive wiring.

Or

1) drive on a straight road at 4500rpm and hit the Hold button. Your engine should speed up with the rpm going above 5500...if this happens...your hold system works fine.

2) accelerate until 3000rpm and hit the Hold button, if your rpm drops....its working.

Also, I am not sure about your AT model but does it have a Power /Economy mode? you are not referring to that right?

Carb Cleaning

There are a few ways to do carb cleaning. The most simplest way is go to the spare part shop and ask for carb cleaners. There are two types -

1) Liquid - To be mixed in your petrol tank every time you fill up:

Bardahl, STP, Justice Brothers and etc.. Buy a bottle a pour it into your petrol tank. After that fill petrol so it mixes accordingly. You should repeat it for a few times..

2) Spray - this one is a bit of a task, if you are not sure how to do it, got to a reliable mechanic to do it for you. I've done it before, the results are instantaneous.

invisibleghost said:
why my FC so bad 1, RM [email protected] for 350km, btw, I think shell have better mileage. u guys try b4. mine was 1liter for 8km. or 7km( more realistic). mostly city driving

You should have it tuned. check the ignition timing and clean your carb.

still cannot...then sell it and get a small compact like how you wanted to....hahahaha!

invisibleghost said:
why my FC so bad 1, RM [email protected] for 350km, btw, I think shell have better mileage. u guys try b4. mine was 1liter for 8km. or 7km( more realistic). mostly city driving

You should have it tuned. check the ignition timing and clean your carb.

still cannot...then sell it and get a small compact like how you wanted to....hahahaha!

btw...my eibachs are coming in two months...yeeeha!!!!

sudha said:
Hi kev..

if it’s from the tranny...pls see if it is from is it from the oil sump? it yes....service the gearbox. Drain the oil and replace with new oil. change the filter and gasket.

Also check the drain plug…sometimes the O-ring could be the culprit.

Our cars don’t have OD. Its called HOLD system, which, once activated it will hold the current gear in drive...two problems..could be the LED or the system is not working. have it checked by someone good in automotive wiring.

Or

1) drive on a straight road at 4500rpm and hit the Hold button. Your engine should speed up with the rpm going above 5500...if this happens...your hold system works fine.

2) accelerate until 3000rpm and hit the Hold button, if your rpm drops....its working.

Also, I am not sure about your AT model but does it have a Power /Economy mode? you are not referring to that right?

Carb Cleaning

There are a few ways to do carb cleaning. The most simplest way is go to the spare part shop and ask for carb cleaners. There are two types -

1) Liquid - To be mixed in your petrol tank every time you fill up:

Bardahl, STP, Justice Brothers and etc.. Buy a bottle a pour it into your petrol tank. After that fill petrol so it mixes accordingly. You should repeat it for a few times..

2) Spray - this one is a bit of a task, if you are not sure how to do it, got to a reliable mechanic to do it for you. I've done it before, the results are instantaneous.

what do u mean our cars dun have OD?
my bro's telstar is the version before V6 body, is it the same?
it's written as OD on the gearshift, OD on the dashboard, and also OD in the manual that came with the car.. i dun find any "HOLD" or "Power/Eco" mode... i'll assume power/eco mode = OD rite?
when cruising at 110KM/h, the RPM is just slightly below 2K(if i remember correctly lah), can u tell whether it's working properly from this?

where to get the spray type carb cleaners? any procedures or guides on performaing this? would like to try it myself cause i've got 3 carbie cars running at home, better learn once and do it myself for the rest of my life instead of sending 3 cars to mechs.