FIA's STUPID ENGINE RULES.....

ARTC5859

Formula One could become a billion-dollar waste of money next season, according to leading team bosses.

The teams are facing a race against time to find agreement on new engine rules, with Mercedes, BMW, Toyota and Honda keen to extract more flexibility from the FIA.

Formula One's governing body insist teams will use 2006-specification engines between 2008-2010, under the sport's new rules which severely limit technical development.

But that raises the prospect of teams pursuing expensive development programmes for next season's engines, only to revert to the older units come 2008.

Midland boss Colin Kolles put the bill for that development at one billion US dollars (£544million) while Renault chief Flavio Briatore attacked the potential waste of money.

Briatore said: "In 2007 it looks like everyone will spend an enormous amount of money just to come back in 2008 with the older engines." Teams must reach a deal to impose the so-called Indianapolis Agreement - which allows limited engine development post-2008 - by the end of this weekend's French Grand Prix.

Kolles is one of the main players standing in the way of an agreement, demanding a guarantee of cheap engines in the future for independent teams such as Midland.
He is concerned that allowing some development of engines, as proposed by Mercedes, BMW, Toyota and Honda, will price out smaller teams. "We are not asking for a free engine supply, just an engine supply at a reasonable price to secure the future of Formula One," he said.

"The four manufacturers obviously want to have a change of regulations which would impose on us higher costs and we are all talking of reducing costs in Formula One.

"These four manufacturers prefer to spend a billion dollars in 2007 and go back to the 2006 engines."

McLaren boss Ron Dennis is cautiously optimistic a deal can be concluded over the next two days but hinted darkly at ulterior motives. For the manufacturers, a high-technology Formula One is imperative and Dennis voiced fears that they could be held to ransom. He said: "It is an easily resolved issue which can comfortably be resolved over the weekend.

"There is a desire of the FIA to then have affordable engines and I think there is a solution to that.

"But I am not convinced that even if those two solutions are found that other people
won't take the opportunity of a unanimous vote for their own commercial objectives."

FIA president Max Mosley is backing an engine fund, made up of contributions of £8million from every manufacturer. The FIA would use that money to fund affordable engines from 2008-2010.

Alamak....now F1 is becoming more and more boring lah. When will we see F2 series on the local telly?

Using billions of dollars to develope the 2007 engines is like lighting up the money with fire.

wow...interesting...

lower budget teams need to put some big thinking into this... no mather how affordable engine is to them... they still won't be able to win races as much as highly funded teams...example...red bull racing is Ferrari equipped right??? although V10... still it does not have the advantage...

a 2nd class team would always be a 2nd class team... they also have their competition with teams of their level...

imagine now they want to limit engine development... what else in the near future... limiting aero parts development???

sooner or later F1 will turn into A1 GP...

I strongly disagree with this proposal... sigh... who am I to opposed to. F1 is the pinnacle of motorsports... agree? of coz. If they're really gonna use this rule in effect, what other developments matters anymore?

Aerodynamically? Already with so many rules tied up to that dept, e.g. minimum front wing height, non flexible body panel, maximum area to exploit around the car, etc etc...

Tyres? No more michelin, no more competitors therefore not much point improving the tyres by Bridgestones.

... what else? you tell me... :confused_smile:

oh by the way 'butthead' bro, red bull's sister team toro rosso is using v10, i'm sure you know that but the v10 is provided by Cosworth. :_: Red bull's technical director Adrian Newey agrees with you, a supplied team will always be 2nd, therefore Red bull is considering a rebadge of a different engine supplier. Just like how McLaren-Mercedes rebadged the Ilmor engines and named it theirs.

Sorry, a bit out of topic here.

acwa238 said:
I strongly disagree with this proposal... sigh... who am I to opposed to. F1 is the pinnacle of motorsports... agree? of coz. If they're really gonna use this rule in effect, what other developments matters anymore?

I agree with you. All these about cutting costs and limiting technology is stupid. Formula 1 is the pinnacle of motorsports and technology. Is the FIA trying to draw the fans away by changing the rules.

morons!! such ideas are more stupid than the rule of single tyre set per race.

make F1 more enjoyable to watch, and to race.

bring back turbocharged engines to race with N/As.... that would be a lot of fun for us the spectators.

zan said:
morons!! such ideas are more stupid than the rule of single tyre set per race.

make F1 more enjoyable to watch, and to race.

bring back turbocharged engines to race with N/As.... that would be a lot of fun for us the spectators.

that is a no-no... that would be way out of control... imagine years ago with inferior materials... a 1.5lit can produce close to 1500BHP... imagine today... give them a season or so and they will have a car too dangerous to drive...

acwa238 said:

Aerodynamically? Already with so many rules tied up to that dept, e.g. minimum front wing height, non flexible body panel, maximum area to exploit around the car, etc etc...

Tyres? No more michelin, no more competitors therefore not much point improving the tyres by Bridgestones.

... what else? you tell me... :confused_smile:

oh by the way 'butthead' bro, red bull's sister team toro rosso is using v10, i'm sure you know that but the v10 is provided by Cosworth. :_: Red bull's technical director Adrian Newey agrees with you, a supplied team will always be 2nd, therefore Red bull is considering a rebadge of a different engine supplier. Just like how McLaren-Mercedes rebadged the Ilmor engines and named it theirs.

Sorry, a bit out of topic here.

haha...sorry...haven't been keeping up with the Red Bull teams and the William and BMW team... jus too confusing to watch...both cars are almost the same...

how about 660cc 5 cylinders and turbocharged engine, butthead??

can get 1000bhp or not??

Can't imagine if they allow methanol and turbocharged engines back into F1. In those days the car manufacturers used F1 as a benchmark to test new technologies and then incorporate it into their cars.

zan said:
how about 660cc 5 cylinders and turbocharged engine, butthead??

can get 1000bhp or not??

dun misunderstand me..

1000bhp that i dare not say...but of course they won't opt for this...

and why would FIA in their right mind allow back turbocharging into the sport when they had already ban it in the first place because it was taking driver's life one by one...a car that is that fast would get into trouble sooner or later... even with todays highly optimized aerodynamics which gives high downforce and super grippy tyres...