Exhaust set-up for turbo A/T car

acbc

What is recommended?

Scenario 1: 2.5" from downpipe to straight flow muffler
Scenario 2: 2.5" from downpipe to straight centre box (also a silencer) to straight flow muffler
Scenario 3: 2.5" from downpipe to s-flow muffler
Scenario 4: 2.5" from downpipe w/ external downpipe (same size as internal actuator) to s-flow muffler

I've tried Scenario 1 before, totally no pickup on low end but top end superb + noisy.

Any better recommendations? Feel free to comment / discuss.:_:

Ok, thanks guys... luckily, I used 12 flanges for my currect exhaust pipes, can easily swap with any of the above combo. Now, need to find a S-Flow muffler.

Am using a set-up consisting of stock manifold to custom centre bullet to custom straight flow muffler on auto RB25DET...so far, the straight flow muffler actually gave better low rpm response...have yet to check the top speed (car not stable - wrong suspension set-up at the moment - will fix when got money much, much later)

Minyak? ada ler makan lebih sikit...but its a 2.5 oredi - no surprises there ;)

The muffler was done at Jian Seng in Pandan Indah - damn good guy to work with. Luv his work.

Hope this helps...

moonbiker said:
Am using a set-up consisting of stock manifold to custom centre bullet to custom straight flow muffler on auto RB25DET...so far, the straight flow muffler actually gave better low rpm response...have yet to check the top speed (car not stable - wrong suspension set-up at the moment - will fix when got money much, much later)

Minyak? ada ler makan lebih sikit...but its a 2.5 oredi - no surprises there ;)

The muffler was done at Jian Seng in Pandan Indah - damn good guy to work with. Luv his work.

Hope this helps...

Is your centre bullet straight or s-flow?

hmmm... thats funny... 2.5" supposed to give u better low-mid range torque rather than high end. =Þ

The bigger the exhaust... the better the high end gets.

Actually... i think on auto VR4... 2.5" should be enuff lerz... if u see HKS full exhaust setup for evo also is slightly under 3" wan... and their evo 7.5 setup is around 2.5 inner diameter only.

Too big also no point la... coz' the auto gearbox can only handle a certain amount of horses... so its not like ur car's gonna be souped up or anything.

do u think auto gearbox can only handle a certain horse power?
what do u thinks bout turbo auto with 1000cc engine..max hp power the gearbox can handle..my std hp is around 110hp.

Locally, there is a company who can rebuild stock auto box for performance. A W4A33 can withstand up to 280whp only. After rebuild, it can withstand at least 500whp but the cost is another story.

I used 2.5" because that's what the stock uses. Now, trying a few combos for the perfect exhaust system.

I was told the stock TD04 downpipe is too restrictive and should replace with aftermarket.

try getting a 2.5" downpipe lar... the stock downpipe of course is restrictive lah. And also try customizing a bigger extension kit (from exhaust turbine-to-downpipe that small piece of joint)... i think flushafteruse is also referring to this piece.

Not sure u can find any aftermarket for VR4 bro... think u're gonna end up having to customize. These days harder to find good stuffs for evo1-3, vr4. Most of the good shit are for evo7 onwards.

You can try this... from midbox onwards, use 3" pipings. Should increase your high end a lil'.

to me, i think the 2.5" was the main problem. im running 2" all the way till rear s-flow muffler. i dun seems to lose anything except low torque did suffer a little bit nia

alvin24 said:
try getting a 2.5" downpipe lar... the stock downpipe of course is restrictive lah. And also try customizing a bigger extension kit (from exhaust turbine-to-downpipe that small piece of joint)... i think flushafteruse is also referring to this piece.

Not sure u can find any aftermarket for VR4 bro... think u're gonna end up having to customize. These days harder to find good stuffs for evo1-3, vr4. Most of the good shit are for evo7 onwards.

You can try this... from midbox onwards, use 3" pipings. Should increase your high end a lil'.

I was told to visit Ah Heng for quality work. Hhmm... might as well pay him a visit.

Mine is 1J auto std downpipe with 3" piping, s-flow center box and straight flow end muffler.So far I'm happy with it.

eh.... make sense also yeah. hm... learned something new today. fix an S-flow centre and straight flow back. in this way, u will not only lose great amoutn of low end and noise but also more choice hunt for rear muffler. smart...!!!

seems a great combination of exhaust piping..mine s flow piping 2 inch and 2.2 inch rear end muffler...no cat.hehehehh

acbc said:
I was told to visit Ah Heng for quality work. Hhmm... might as well pay him a visit.

hello,
i did mine at Ah Heng's place. u can go there and look for Yaakob.
3" DP til middle 2 bullets (2.5") then back to 3", using s-flow muffler. hope i'm telling this right cos i also forgot =x

Yaakob will do a good job for u. let me show u a pic :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/alkt/SAAB/DSC00359.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/alkt/SAAB/DSC00357.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/alkt/SAAB/DSC00362.jpg