Evo Ix

S9 - I am not experienced at all with modding. Have only done minor mods with previous cars and all naturally aspirated. The E9 is the first forced induction car that I own. Been getting some good advice from silentkiller, a fellow forumer of zth and a good friend from school days.
For brakes, in my opinion, AP is the authority, so, no point going for others. There is ofcourse the cost and benefit consideration. Do I really really really need those APs??? Same question I ask my wife when she asks for the latest LV handbag... "Hun.. do you really really really need that bag???" - ahahaaaa.. Anyway, not sure how much APs costs over here or HK. Will let you guys know when time comes. As far as modding cost, Macau is slightly more exp than HK as we get most of the parts from HK anyway. So there is an extra profit factor to the supply chain.

ZZ - Mate, I aint no sifu, not even close. Just learning and sharing the experience.

Green - Thumbs up on the E7. I actually like the front of the E7, I think it looks a touch more aggressive than the 8 & 9. Be sure to post some pics of the car.

So, it looks like all Evo owners in this forum have kept their cars pretty standard. A bit sayang to start modding a new car I think. Nevertheless, whenever I pickup a copy of Modified Mag and flip through the featured cars, esp. Evos, I go into this modding mode and start planning mods. Darn Magazine is poison!!!

ahahah sharing is caring mah.........hey if u get to see heng soon, maybe he can get u some good deals on all the racing parts....our fren now team manager for japan super gt edi :D

green,

Congrat. bro.!!! Finally ur car touched down in de port now... hahaha... so for de rest of de dys until u really get de car... it wil b a big torture to u lar... :D Sudah sampai tapi belum lagi boleh pakai... LoL!!! I experienced all this b4 liao... ai... countless of sleepless nite i got... What color izzit liao huh?

As for de MMC in Msia... its a great newz for all us Evo owners... hope it wil smoothen de way when v source for original parts... cos it used to b a nightmare, hv to wait damn long time with skyhigh pricing sometimes... hehehe... n i know tht they r bringing in Evo IX b4 de end of this yr...

Golfer, tht's an excellent example n comparison btw de AP 6 potters n a LV bag!!! LoL!!! As for me, i dun think i'll go straight to AP... what i'll do is change brake pad to high temp. pad, change de brake hose n oso de rotor, cos i dun think i need to go up to AP with my planned 'basic' mod... hehehe... but do keep us posting abt de info u hv over there in Macau... ;)

green,

Hey, remember to let me know when ur E7 is out with u... i'll arrange a small TT btw MLOC members for u n Zinzan... Introduce some frens to u guys... As for de MLOC - MEOC gathering, is on de way... stil in de midst of arranging... hehehe... Tht's de ultimate target to hv a meet up btw MLOC n MEOC!!! Its cool when there r many units of Evo gather together!!! :cool:

ahhh - our good friend HS. Met him a coupe of times in Macau during the Macau GP. He is doing well!! Mmmm i like the motto sharing is caring!

EE9 - Mmmm.. sounds tempting but i'd have to fly over! Sure to take up the offer if ever the opportunity occurs.

Evo IX Ralliart Engine ECU for competition

Check this out...

http://www.ralliart.com/05topics/05news/rai-05ecu.html

Very interesting as this does not seem to be a piggy-back system. A stand-alone tuned by Ralliart - wonder what the settings are?? Hope there are more goodies to come out of after-market manufacturers for the IX. Having said, I guess parts for the VIII or VII will also fit the IX, except maybe for camshafts perhaps.

Golfer said:
Very interesting as this does not seem to be a piggy-back system. A stand-alone tuned by Ralliart - wonder what the settings are?? Hope there are more goodies to come out of after-market manufacturers for the IX. Having said, I guess parts for the VIII or VII will also fit the IX, except maybe for camshafts perhaps.

Wow, it seems tht u r really getting ready to mod ur car... :D Yeah, u r rite... de camshafts + cam r oso different from de VII n VIII... tht's where de MIVEC 4G63T different from it predecessors... n oso i got to know from my fren who operate a tuner house over here in Msia, HKS jus came out with some after mkt performance parts specially for E9... but me stil dun hv time to go over n check it out... wil keep u guys posted on de issue...

As for de Ralliart ECU... Mmmm... it is 1 of de best choice for Evo as Ralliart work closely with de Mitsu WRC team. But its an untunedable ECU... not like HKS F-Con V Pro where u can re-tune again n again after u upgraded some performance parts to de engine with a more suitable setting... HKS F-Con V Pro is 1 of de strongest n most flexible ECU available in de mkt now... But of cause Ralliart ECU r more economical than de HKS's... Mmm.... as u said, the cost and benefit consideration again!!! :D

S9 - Yes, the operative word being "getting ready". When it comes down to it, I am not sure if I will do it as it is still a very very very new car. Slow and steady perhaps.

Do keep us posted on the new HKS E9 stuff when u get a chance to visit the shop.

I am also definately seeing more and more stuff for the 9 on the net.

EE9, come down to KL lah, we can all yum cha here.

yup its cool to have a whole lot of evos having TT. Nowadays, ada too much of Vios, skylines n proton gangs.....our evos r missing in action man. sigh.

golfer, Storm, my car still not cleared yet lor....anyway, still need to hav a checkup with the JPJ ppl, register service...woh...will be some time lor.

anyway, hav yet to see car . silver, 2001, recond-46000 km mileage. gonna be about rm160k.

bugger, the evo 9 in our local mitsu is rm284k!!!!???? expensive man.

green,

Ya lor, u r rite... Evo gathering a less n few lately... tht's y v r in de midst of arranging a big Evo family gathering... So MLOC (Mitsu Lancer Owners' Club) n MEOC (Mitsu Evolution Owners' Club) r hving group gathering together soon... MLOC do include Lancer, Lancer convertion to Evos n Evo owners!!! Where as MEOC is only for Evo owners... since v r all driving de same kind tht's y v wanna to hv a meet up together n share our experience together!!! :D Sound interesting rite? hahaha... Hopefully de day wil come soon!!!

Golfer,

Hey buddy, so do u get to hv gathering with other Evo owners very often in Macau? Is Evo a popular choice in Macau? As in Msia, de popularity of Evo is growing... I guess in Kuala Lumpur alone, there r more than 100 evos ard... Mmmm... but wanna to get everybody together, is tough... hahaha... I know in HK there is an Evo club, where members r very active in track outing in Zhu Hai... U r a member too?

S9 - There is a group of loyal Evo supporter in Macau. I've been told that there is this guy who changes to the newer Evo whenever one is out and he has been doing that since EVO5. Neverhteless, I don't think there is an EVO club in Macau (maybe I should start one). I would love to be able to join the Evo clan in M'sia one day.. perhaps one day. The HK EVO club is very active. They recently celebrated the arrival of the Jun Lemon Evo 5 or 6 (can't remember) to HK. Think someone from HK bought it. They would organise drives, test sessions and etc. The Type R Club is even more active. They organise Track Days at the Zhuhai International Circuit almost once every 6 weeks or so. Plus, these guys are really onto mods and the stuff thay do to their cars are amazing! There are quite a number of 500 hp Evos, Skylines and STIs in HK. They all come out to play on track days.

Have not joined the Evo club in HK nor the Type R club yet. Have thought abt it but just have not taken the initiative. Probably bcos no "kaki". Well, there always the first time! Furthemore, I can't read or write Chinese which makes it a little frustrating. Log on to their website and don't bloody know where to start... darn!

Hey, are there any Evo members who are actively taking their cars to SIC? I know quite a few guys from S'pore who make the trip to SIC almost every month (Evos, STIs, DC5s, etc) Some of the will also be participating in the Merdeka Endurance.

Golfer,

Hey, de JUN Evo should b JUN Evo 5, been doing de time attack in ZIC for few times... It did hit de best lap time until 2-3 yrs back de HKS Evo 7 upstage them with an even faster lap time!!!

Yes there r ppl with Evo very actively going to SIC... but unfortunately they r not 1 of de member from MLOC or MEOC... And i got a buddy used to work in Singapore for de past 5 yrs n stayed in JB, hv a big group of Evos gang (ard 15 of them or more) very active in PG Circuit... Wil b inviting them to come up to KL n hv a big gathering in de near future... Or mayb arranging a track day in SIC... Stil in de midst of arranging... Wil keep u posted if de gathering did materialised!!! It is really not easy to get everybody to come out n gather along for a day out... but wil try our best to do so!!! :D

FYI, am getting de STi this wk... by tht time can really do a simple comparison btw de 2 BIGGEST RIVAL of all time in Evo Vs STi!!! Keep u posted on this too!! Cheers!!! :)

S9 - Yah Yah -- I recall now abt how the HKS EVO VII broke the JUN Evo's track time at Zhuhai!! The VII really then kicked off and everybody wanted one. I was so close to buying the VII but due to $$$ matters, the wiser of me took over.

WOW!, Make sure you share with us all on your STi and Evo comparison. I don't think there are many of us who will own both those cars at any one time!! You are one lucky dude.. So, will we see you and your dad having a go on the streets one day?

Evo pictures

Hey, what do you guys think abt starting a gallery forum for Evos? Is there one already existing by the way?

Golfer,

Hey buddy... hehehe... i dun think i'll raced with my dad ler... his driving skill r much better than me, he learnt abt racing b4 when he is young... hahaha... :D

U think abt starting a gallery forum for Evos? Mmm... tht's a great idea! I hv seen lots of thread quite interesting rgd Evos... but then slowly slowly it dies off without ppl following up... too sad! So if u wanna start 1, I'll b there to support!!! ;)