Engines suitable for Astina

inma

Is there any other engine besides B8 that is suitable for Mazda Astina 90-94?
Not looking for extra power only looking for smooth drive and reliability, is the lantis engine suitable? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...:adore:

the b6 dohc engine oso suitable...my bros car using that engine..

Thanks Adeen, do you mind providing more information about your brother experience, in terms of realibity and cost of the engine swap, etc. http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/smilies/gtnsmilies/burnout.gif
:burnout:

it's already been so many years already...dun remember the cost...
maybe the cost to transplant around 1k....engine dunno how much he got...maybe below 3k....

very good engine IMO....

Is there any other engine besides B8 that is suitable for Mazda Astina 90-94?
Not looking for extra power only looking for smooth drive and reliability, is the lantis engine suitable? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...:adore:

What's wrong with the stock engine if you don't want extra power?
Stock engine = smooth & reliable

I've never had any problem with my Astina. With stock conditions, it is still better than wira, waja, gen2.

My mileage is at 170k. Couldn't be smoother..

My engine has engine oil leaking problem and I have spend heps of money trying to repair it only to end up with sour grapes. Plus I heard that fuel injection is smoother and more efficient compare to carby. I really enjoy my car thus looking for a solution to continue driving it for more years. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated. :biggrin:

take the dohc 1.6 engine lor....confirm better power and fuel consumption...

go for b6na DOHC.if u can find from other lantis owner that already converted their engine,better buy from them.it got mazda VICS Intake Technology.More economy with feul injection engine.and also,your old gbox 1.6 also can fit in..

cost for the engine transplant is about rm1k or below...
engine price is from rm400++ wif or wothou gbox depends

Thanks for all the feedback.. :adore:

The lantis engine option is certainly in my mind now. One quick question azamnecrone, the lantis engine just a direct swap? Do I need to modify anything like engine mounts.. etc?

Hi guys really need help to some important question.
I manage to find a fellow forumer selling his lantis 1.6 engine as he(I assume is a he...=P) is planing upgrade to a more powerful engine.

His car, Mazda Lantis 1.6 (A) hatchback year 98/99.

Will I be able to use his stuff on my astina?
If yes what are the items I can use?

I'm not sure but if he got a half cut into his car than you could basically use his lantis halfcut i.e. from dashboard onwards to the engine.
Than it would be no problem. If not, I'm only afraid of wiring problem but i guess the otai in mazda would solve it for you.

Yes u can use all the parts basically.
But u have to shorten the drive shaft assuming ure using the g/box from the lantis engine as well.
Lantis's d/shaft are abt an inch from normal BG chasis engine.
Mounting should be the same, oh and make sure he gives u his "speed sensor" as well.
Cheers!~