Engine upgrade for my 1993 Mira

m1n1monsta

I've been reading a few threads on here about motors for the mira's/kancil. Now i want to build a engine for my 93 Mira/Kancil.

I'm in Australia so engine parts are limited.. I cant get any turbo E series stuff at all here, so i'm going to have to make do with what i can!

So far i've found:

Complete ED bottom end (crank, rods, pistons and block) I'm trying to locate a Ej bottom end aswell.

Complete L5 Dohc engine

If i use either the ED or EJ bottom end (block) will i have to use the pistons out of the L5 twincam?
Also will the Ej 1000cc bolt in the same as a Ed 850 or do i have to modify engine mounts or body?

I've been reading a few threads on here about motors for the mira's/kancil. Now i want to build a engine for my 93 Mira/Kancil.

I'm in Australia so engine parts are limited.. I cant get any turbo E series stuff at all here, so i'm going to have to make do with what i can!

So far i've found:

Complete ED bottom end (crank, rods, pistons and block) I'm trying to locate a Ej bottom end aswell.

Complete L5 Dohc engine

If i use either the ED or EJ bottom end (block) will i have to use the pistons out of the L5 twincam?
Also will the Ej 1000cc bolt in the same as a Ed 850 or do i have to modify engine mounts or body?

L5 DOHC engine = 3 cylinder or the 4cylinder version?

L5 DOHC= 3 cylinder 12Valve 660 Efi.... We were'nt lucky enough to get the 4 cylinder here :confused:

IC.. that's clears it.... I'm no expert but there are plenty ED/EJ + EFRL monsters running around in Malaysia... I try to ask around...

give it time, sure lotsa hardcore mira owners will answer your question...

IC.. that's clears it.... I'm no expert but there are plenty ED/EJ + EFRL monsters running around in Malaysia... I try to ask around...

give it time, sure lotsa hardcore mira owners will answer your question...

Thank you for your reply.. I hope someone here can answer my question as there are'nt many in Australia that can or i havn't seen them yet.

I just need to know if the Ej motor will bolt into the same place and accept cv's etc as my EF-EL. Where i live is hard to get modified chassis and mounts passed for registration:banghead:

Got some feedback from some of my fren... they say EJ block are direct fit into mira L2/kancil chassis.

Same as ED. As I remember, my old engine was ED-DE (850cc Twin Cam head)...it was taken from a Mira L7/Kelisa 850cc...which in its top spec uses EJ-DE engines...

I think it shouldn't post any problem

one question though, many article i've read about aussies swap engines that aren't even the same manufacturer e.g swapping a 13B from Mazda RX-7 to a Holden Gemini etc....

but based on your post, it says that for registration, modified engine mount are an issue... kinda make me confused

Got some feedback from some of my fren... they say EJ block are direct fit into mira L2/kancil chassis.

Same as ED. As I remember, my old engine was ED-DE (850cc Twin Cam head)...it was taken from a Mira L7/Kelisa 850cc...which in its top spec uses EJ-DE engines...

I think it shouldn't post any problem

one question though, many article i've read about aussies swap engines that aren't even the same manufacturer e.g swapping a 13B from Mazda RX-7 to a Holden Gemini etc....

but based on your post, it says that for registration, modified engine mount are an issue... kinda make me confused

So an EJ will bolt straight in that is great news!

In reply to your Question regarding 13b swap into gemini. All the states on the east coast share some of the mod laws but then differ in other areas. Some states are now changing their old laws.

Where i was born "NSW" you have a weight to power ratio you must abide by.
NA= car kg x3 and Turbo= car kg x 2.5

Eg: (Mira) 560kg x3(NA) = 1680 = 1.6ltr NA is allowed in Mira.
(Mira) 560kg x2.5(TURBO)= 1400 = 1.4ltr Turbo in Mira.

You can also modify mounts and chassis to acheive your conversion but will need to be engineered to comply for registration.

Where i am now has strange laws and the police dont agree with alot of them. You can get engineered and passed for rego. BUT if the police pull you over and they dont like it(car) or (you) They can de-register it:stupid:

Most of the mod cars in my area are bolt in or very close and dont get hassle. Thats why i want to know what bolts in.

Thanks papagoines for your help!!!! Also sorry for the BIG reply..

No problem and thanks for clarifying aussie law to me... it seems like our JPJ (our version of Motor Transport Dept).... differs from state to state although they are a federal agency :stupid:

ours are much simpler e.g. the capacity must not exceed 25% (NA or turbo) of the original engine and no mounting modifications whatsoever... but then, you got stopped by JPJ enforcer anyway....

...i advice for you to wait for some expert to swing by and gives their opinion... a 2nd opinion is good for you.....

..or you can swing by kcarlife.com, one of active k-car forum here in malaysia.. you can post in English but most of the thread there are not in English unfortunately

So an EJ will bolt straight in that is great news!

In reply to your Question regarding 13b swap into gemini. All the states on the east coast share some of the mod laws but then differ in other areas. Some states are now changing their old laws.

Where i was born "NSW" you have a weight to power ratio you must abide by.
NA= car kg x3 and Turbo= car kg x 2.5

Eg: (Mira) 560kg x3(NA) = 1680 = 1.6ltr NA is allowed in Mira.
(Mira) 560kg x2.5(TURBO)= 1400 = 1.4ltr Turbo in Mira.

You can also modify mounts and chassis to acheive your conversion but will need to be engineered to comply for registration.

Where i am now has strange laws and the police dont agree with alot of them. You can get engineered and passed for rego. BUT if the police pull you over and they dont like it(car) or (you) They can de-register it:stupid:

Most of the mod cars in my area are bolt in or very close and dont get hassle. Thats why i want to know what bolts in.

Thanks papagoines for your help!!!! Also sorry for the BIG reply..

No problem and thanks for clarifying aussie law to me... it seems like our JPJ (our version of Motor Transport Dept).... differs from state to state although they are a federal agency :stupid:

ours are much simpler e.g. the capacity must not exceed 25% (NA or turbo) of the original engine and no mounting modifications whatsoever... but then, you got stopped by JPJ enforcer anyway....

...i advice for you to wait for some expert to swing by and gives their opinion... a 2nd opinion is good for you.....

..or you can swing by kcarlife.com, one of active k-car forum here in malaysia.. you can post in English but most of the thread there are not in English unfortunately

No problems and i agree your way does seem easier..

Thanks for your help and i hope someone that has done this will reply to my post.

I've joined the forum that you mentioned and have been reading this thread... Enjoy! K-Car Life
I think they are saying that the 1000cc is good (my translator is'nt the best) but cant really find anything on the acutal motor swap itself.

ALso do you know of anyone there that will sell and ship parts to me here?

Thanks again

maybe that person takes time to find your thread... in the mean while we can keep the thread alive and hopefully someone will notice us :wavey:

based on the thread you read, yes 1000cc (EJ) way better than 850cc (ED).... something to do with durability..... just plonk in oil squirters and off you go....

already posted your request for buying/shipping parts here....let's hoping someone are willing

p/s: always read AutoSpeed online, really admire you aussie engineering feats... Mira with Charade GTTI engine! wow! :driver:

No problems and i agree your way does seem easier..

Thanks for your help and i hope someone that has done this will reply to my post.

I've joined the forum that you mentioned and have been reading this thread... Enjoy! K-Car Life
I think they are saying that the 1000cc is good (my translator is'nt the best) but cant really find anything on the acutal motor swap itself.

ALso do you know of anyone there that will sell and ship parts to me here?

Thanks again

maybe that person takes time to find your thread... in the mean while we can keep the thread alive and hopefully someone will notice us :wavey:

based on the thread you read, yes 1000cc (EJ) way better than 850cc (ED).... something to do with durability..... just plonk in oil squirters and off you go....

already posted your request for buying/shipping parts here....let's hoping someone are willing

p/s: always read AutoSpeed online, really admire you aussie engineering feats... Mira with Charade GTTI engine! wow! :driver:

That would be good.

Oh ok, i could understand it was between the both mainly but was getting lost in the fine print and translataion hehehe..

Thank you for posting that for me. I really appreciate it!

Oh you like Aussie performance. I have friends that build rotory drag motors here is a video of one of their motors on the dyno. YouTube - Queen Street Racing Quad Rotor 1664 HP !!!

That would be good.

Oh ok, i could understand it was between the both mainly but was getting lost in the fine print and translataion hehehe..

Thank you for posting that for me. I really appreciate it!

Oh you like Aussie performance. I have friends that build rotory drag motors here is a video of one of their motors on the dyno. YouTube - Queen Street Racing Quad Rotor 1664 HP !!!

haha, I've seen that... yeah! you Aussies are mad for V8 and Rotaries..... its a nice refreshing change to see one that like small sub 1 liter engines such as yourself :proud:

p/s: would it be nice to bring a Holden Monaro HSV here.... but damn our tax structure, still based on engine capacity :banghead:

haha, I've seen that... yeah! you Aussies are mad for V8 and Rotaries..... its a nice refreshing change to see one that like small sub 1 liter engines such as yourself :proud:

p/s: would it be nice to bring a Holden Monaro HSV here.... but damn our tax structure, still based on engine capacity :banghead:

Yeh aussie's like the big hp alright. at the moment 2jz and othe big turbo sixes are the rage of the month.

Apart from the Tax side of it would you be able to have the car (CV8 HSV) there and register it. I've seen plenty of late model Move's and other vans that you guys have there that i'd kill for. Unfortunatly we can't register them here tho.....

Waking up an old thread. I need help on some info. I am currently running L2 turbo. My head's got a lil crack so i have been seeking a new engine,they are very rare in my parts. I bucked up an EJ-DE. Now I drive nothing but turbo. I need some info on what I can do to safely run this engine on 1bar.

I could use the L2 map sensor and injectors and I should be ready to run?

What's the recommended low comp pistons to drop in?