Engine Comparison

zachdelarocha

hi all....
iseldom visit the mitsubishi channel,
i have got a few question,hope you guys can shed some light upon.
i am driving a saga a/b and plan to chuck in a more powerful engine.
can my car masuk mivec and how much?
does the year of the engine counts,is it important.
what about vr4rs?must it be turbocharged and how much?
the difference between vr4 and vr4rs?
gsr's price?last question,it is the fuel consumption for each i mentioned.
thank you thank you very much. :D

hey zach... :D

saga/iswara mounting is more suitable for engines like mirages, vr4s, evos (1-3)....mivecs n gsr's is much more suitable for wira mounting...

in malaysia nothing is impossible, especially in engine conversion... :P
malaysia boleh mah!!~~

engine year isnt a very big factor, wat is important is whether da engine is well taken care off by da previous owner b4 it went for a half cut process...

mivec engine would cost round circa 4-5k (dis was 1-2 year back)

vr4 come in both NA n turbo
vr4 turbo come in both cyclone n eci-multi
cyclone - 200hp, 220hp = circa 2-3k
eci-multi (RS) - 240hp = circa 5k

gsr - 4.8 - 5.5k (190hp & 210hp), consumption: RM10 - 75km (ethical driving)

hope dis little info will help u out ;)

ciowz~ :lol:

hiya, if u fit vr4 engine, u have to modify the mounting. if u fit gsr, u have to have a nice cooling system. for my opinion, fit 4g61 turbo. but i have to mention to u tat saga n iswara handling not gut.

K-Duct,
I agree.

For speed sure go VR4, for just crusing with extra power 61T is a good choice.

4G91 best reliable engine ! . got power , reliable , spare part also quite alot . :lol: . thing's about vr4 and all the engine mention above on a saga / iswara need to do quite a number of work , same goes to any engine , basically carb to fuel injection conversion need to do quite a number of stuff , like external or internal fuel pump , need to make a hole at the firewall to get the wiring's in , then if ur going to use the clutch pump system , need to make another hole for your clutch pump , remember all 3 mounting brackets need to be adjusted , aircond hose need to kungfu abit , suspension need to be a good one if not u`ll regret dumping in the gajah engine , hehe driveshaft will be a problem , either match or potong and then rethread or custom shaft . rear brakes is expensive , rear suspension is dead can't play with the camber setting's .

thank you to all tailos.
i am quite interested with the 4g91 engine,
if i am not mistaken,it is from putra rite?
what about the fuel consumption for 4g91?
rm10 for 75km is very descent for vr4!!!
what is 4g61? i only know 4g63 is vr4.
is it gsr?

4g91 is not from putra bai..

is a 1.5 DOHC from mitsu family...with 110-120 bhp if i not mistaken
(cant compare with vtech killer 4g91 .....sigh) :lol:

IMHO stay stock standard..... save $$ and save lotsa headache....
:P

4G91 16V DOHC 1.5 should be 110-120 PS MAX. PS and BHP is a slight difference. IMHO, pls correct me if i'm wrong.

For Saga, Iswara, 4G61T AKA Mirage Turbo is better choice as IMHO the mounting fit better there.

For 4G9X engine, the mounting r slightly different. Sum ppl dun mind moddin mounting here and there, but again IMHO, play less with mountin and find a straight plunk in engine saves more peace of mind. Again all IMHO.

Bout maintaning engine, always estimate 2X of the $$$$ to convert is da best.
if ppl say 5K kautim everything, then pls get the other 5K standby b4 doin any work. Coz convertion is not like makin maggi mee, cook, eat aje, it involves more than just plunkin in the engine, u need to do more work.

Best is to refurb almost everypart which is replacable or high in tear and wear department, i think there's a thread mentionin about parts which r suggested to change when doin a engine transplant. Pls do check it out.

Btw, conversion of engine is not to be mistook as a trouble free job. Nothing is guaranteed, it might work for a whole month, but later fallin off piece by piece. So always keep more $$$$$$ than u budget.

Last time I'm using this 4G91 engine...is really a got engine :) very save petrol,
RM 50 can go until 500++km and RM 10 can go 130km :) very good...but this
is for my engine lar :) but now sold off already, and the buyer given me thumbs
up for it :) hehehehe...

As for GSR :) is far more need more petrol...but is still better then VR4 and
that actually we can compare...it because in different catergory :) one
is 1.8 and vR4 is 2.0 so totaly can't compare :)

So in the end of the day...the choice is yours...so if you really in your mind
wanted a turbo engine...why not just go for it? if not you will regret next day :)
if a saga or iswara...I myself will choose the one more suitable for my car
body can support or not lor...but I heard 4G61T is enough for it :)

That's just my 2 cents....so is up to you :) HAppy choosing :)

if u want to go for 4g61 might as well go for vr4, price bout the same but vr4 u ll get a bigger i/c compared to mirage's and also oil cooler. all this thing ll need to convert sooner or later so why not get the halfcut/engine that comes with it?

if u r lucky, ur vr4 halfcut might come with 2pot caliper.

u ll have bigger brake servo compare to mirage's

saves u lots of money in long term

Originally posted by eclips3@Mar 9 2004, 12:07
if u want to go for 4g61 might as well go for vr4, price bout the same but vr4 u ll get a bigger i/c compared to mirage's and also oil cooler. all this thing ll need to convert sooner or later so why not get the halfcut/engine that comes with it?

if u r lucky, ur vr4 halfcut might come with 2pot caliper.

u ll have bigger brake servo compare to mirage's

saves u lots of money in long term
[snapback]133350[/snapback]​
:o :o :o I see eclips3 taikor has spoken. He has broken the golden rule of the VR4 God by speaking for the first time in his 10 years of silence~~! :lol: B) I tot u always hang out at Liquid and play *stuff* one. How come still got time for ZTH ar? :D

Regards;