EK9 piston kit

few days ago my fren's engine kaboom due to his retainer broke into 2 piece..

he over revved the engine but not very high... around 9K rpm..

the only thing that he was very lucky is the piston escape without any injury...

here the pics...

retainerbroke.jpg

hattech-v said:
last time ur retainer broke into 2 is stock type r retainer or ti-retainer?

Mine was stock Civic B16B Type R retainers. I think it was used and was subject to many high rev abuse so wear and tear that we didn't notice and just decide to give way when reving 9k rpm! so kabum... hai... :emoticon_U:

I don't know but i suppose so. Cause the B16B and B18C block same height actually. So it will be just like my previous setup, B18C with B16B block. but beware compression maybe too high for daily driving.

And i believe the Spoon stroker kit for B16B uses all OEM B18C5 internalls too. i maybe wrong though..

knocking la mie....what else....then u need to retard ur ignition....reduce power there tho.....

aisey... about this base ignition timing oso make me headache laa...
just wondering why my BIT still at 16deg even i have advanced it till max at the distributor... anyone face the same problem here?

yup, knocking and detonation chances are very high. Which if not taken care off will lead to engine failure.

You will need to upgrade your fueling appropriately like bigger injectors and fuel pump along with at least a piggy back to adjust your ignition and injectors.

yeah...u shud be worry about that....that shows ur engine is running on a relatively low compression bro.....if high compression sure knocking one if u advance ur base timing too much........i aso wonder about this before since my car aso behave that way....max advance still no knocking....dem!

Oderf said:
yeah...u shud be worry about that....that shows ur engine is running on a relatively low compression bro.....if high compression sure knocking one if u advance ur base timing too much........i aso wonder about this before since my car aso behave that way....max advance still no knocking....dem!

but i've checked the compression and all 4 cylinders show the same result.
its 230psi if not mistaken.

minor mods? can get higher compression but knocking will occur?

mie,

when r u free?

to be honest, for maximum usage for retainers, valves and valves springs, the lifetime for it is actually 40-50,000km. that includes aftermarket eventho their titanium. dont get me wrong, i know driving an old 14year old b16a engine is A-OK but you would get the best out of it in the long run as wear and tear contibutes all the time.

udengfahlawi said:
how do u know if the retainer is about to fail?...any signs or way to check kah?...

yup, i learn my lessons well.. thats why sometime getting those used type r retainers, you don't know the mileage last user used it for. if lucky you get a low mileage ones... like me maybe not so lucky and got a high mileage ones so it fail... :(

J101 said:
to be honest, for maximum usage for retainers, valves and valves springs, the lifetime for it is actually 40-50,000km. that includes aftermarket eventho their titanium. dont get me wrong, i know driving an old 14year old b16a engine is A-OK but you would get the best out of it in the long run as wear and tear contibutes all the time.

hattech-v said:
but i've checked the compression and all 4 cylinders show the same result.
its 230psi if not mistaken.

230psi equal to what ? 11:1 ? aiyyaaa.... then must be something wrong somewhere.....let me know when u find it out...confusing now ....:Not_Impressed: