E30 Bimmer New Heart

loudstereo

I've got an E30 318i with a dead engine but very nice body. Thought of giving this muscle looking bimmer a new heart. At first want to go for M42 or M50 but, vely expensive woo. Anybody has other suggestion? Currently looking into SR20DE, SR20DET or 1JZ. Probably want a not more than a 2 litre RWD engine. Any pros & cons beside the 'feel'.

seriously, sell ur bimmer for parts and get a Jap car if u wanna toy wif da idea of turbo.

Either that, sell that Bimmer and get an alredi modified E30. Saves u da hassle of convertion and most technical issues hav alredi been ironed out by da previous owner.

No BMW is original w/o a BMW engine. n trust me, convertion is not such an easy feat, even for a BMW engine transplant taken out from another same model bimmer. be willing to spend time and lots of money esp if ur mechanic is not an expert.

i spent 3 months on my engine transplant.

Justin, thanks for your frank opinion.

Not trying to be rude or whatever, if I want to sell the bim I can think of that idea myself and I can make more money too out of it. As you can see, one of my choice is SR20DE which is non-turbo engine. Not trying to fly the E30 just want a 2litre 4 pot engine. That's all. Frankly that's my point.

Another thing, I don't believe in "No BMW is original w/o a BMW engine". It is just a machine after all.

Don't mean to argue with you.

BTW, what engine into which model did you do the transplant?

my E34 had the M20 B20 engine. Transplanted a M50 B25 engine non vanos from a japan spec E34. in fact lots of ppl hav done this very same 190bhp engine transplant into an E30 wif very good results. A fine example of my frens was such a wonderful car to drive.

yes, a BMW is still a machine afterall. But it wont hav that soul of a BMW.

like i said, unless u wan to learn a lot of stuff, hav lots of free time and lots of money, transplant is not wat i would recommend. check da motor traders. There r a few modified E30s wif SR20 engines. Makes perfect sense to sell of ur car n get them, if u so desire an E30 wif SR20 engine.

From what i gather from people who have the done the conversion from M40 to M42, it's almost a straight swap. If you transplant a Jap engine, are you sure it's cheaper? Maybe the engine is cheaper but would you need to buy other stuff?

Please also confirm with JPJ that you can sell the car after the transplant. I heard from one of my friends that there is a new ruling whereby after certain transplant (like not same make engine) you won't be allowed to transfer the car later. I can't confirm if this is true though.

Justin,
I still don't think sell and buy is the best way for me. Selling might be easy but buying the right used E30 would take a lot of time since I am such a fussy guy. I prefer to implant because I can do it phase by phase according to my pocket. Buying...i would need a lot sum of money. Another thing how would I know the owner really do it right with his/her E30 transplant. I wouldn't know.

Of course a BMW powered is a lot better than Jap powered. That's the trade off I'm willing to take.

Kookaburra,
Of course have to buy other stuff. Frankly regarding pricing, maybe competitive laa but in long terms, nissan is cheaper to maintain. Lot of compatible spares also.

Actually JPJ still approving engine transplant but there are rules and guides that you have to follow.

Anyway laa....beside M42 or M50 has anybody tried other BMW heart? M44? S14? S15

i know it is not my car, but i seriously urge you to reconsider very carefully about putting a Japanese engine into the Beemer.

it is a machine alright, but it is a rojak machine, you are "bastardising" a quality enginners German machine. just imagine you have a Ferrari with a modified Skyline engine. the skyline engine lets say with 600 or more bhp, ofcourse more powerful than the Ferrari V8 but it will feel and look odd.

to the mechanic who converts it for you asl

1. how did he convert or weld the mounting.

2. after welding the mount, how can he guarantee the welding is strong and will not have rust probs.

3. how he positions the mount so that the postion is correct for the driveshafts to connect to the arms.disc brakes/wheels? what software he use to calculate this?

4. how does he mate the wiring with the German wiring.

5. before your E30 was created, engineers spend a lot of time and money to get the correct setting such as correct engine positioning, engine mapping - a lot of thought have gone into everything right to the last detail.

i know as malaysian, we have to support the spirit of malaysian Boleh, but the

big question is

1. how qualified is the mechanic that is going to drop the SR20 engine into your E30? is he smarter than the Germans?

same thing goes with those who fit Skyline or Supra engines into Volvo 240s.

xtracooljustin,

1. mind to share to share the breakdown of your conversion?

2. is it drop in ? plug and play? if not what do I need to change?

3. manual or auto? if manual what gearbox suits it? i am a manual person.

i dont have a Beemer, but who knows one day i might when i do get the right car. just wana learn more.

aircooled said:
xtracooljustin,

1. mind to share to share the breakdown of your conversion?

2. is it drop in ? plug and play? if not what do I need to change?

3. manual or auto? if manual what gearbox suits it? i am a manual person.

i dont have a Beemer, but who knows one day i might when i do get the right car. just wana learn more.

bought the front and rear half of da donor car. Da donor car is a Japan spec E34 525i 24V non vanos from Singapore (except mine is 520i 12V). Da first upgrade i ever did after owning da car was upgrading to a 525i brake disc. After bout 2 years later only did da transplant.cant really share da breakdown... but lets just say i recoup a lot by selling my old engine, gearbox, other useable parts from da donor car (doors, seats, etc)

its quite plug n play, i took da 5 speed auto box from da donor car, long shafts etc. ECU, wirings, dashboard and exhaust systems. bcos of da larger engine, da car battery hav to be moved to under da rear seats. bcos da battery was moved to under the rear seats, da donor wiring hav to be used. But some complications arose when we hav to mix and match da 12V and 24V wiring to make something work. For example da central locking hav to use back da 12V wiring.

loud stereo, PM me if you want to know a good/cheap engine transplanter for BMWs. I had a close friend doing that, he's a real pro.

BMW With SR20

I have a BMW E30 2 door with SR20DET from S13. Well I must say this car this some car. Of course my turbo has been upgraded, together with toda flywheel and racing clutch. The car is giving almost 300 horses. Trust me its much more better feel' comparing with the original engine. Anyway i spent around RM 10k for all. Its pretty worth it. I brought my car for RM 12.5k. Well Trust me SR20DET is a worthwhile investment. But bare in mind. Use back all BMW absorbers, steering rod, exile, bla bla bla. Only the engine and gear box is nissan. Then you will have minimum problem. Chiow guys

hii everybody..
I'm new here..just registered..After reading all the forums, I would like to suggest to loud stereo: if u wanna convert to new engine, please use the original bimmers. Of course jap engine i.e sr20 is much more powerful than the orig, but than its a turbo powered. Turbo powered engine is quite messy to maintain, plus consume much more petrol. Engine mounting is also different. BMW cars are proven on 50-50 distribution interms of acceleration and braking.

To me the best 1.8 litre engine that suite for your car is E30 M40 EVO (manual)...for 2.0 that i knew was E30 M40 2.0 auto six cilinders. (correct me if i'm wrong with this spec anyone). I also looking for this one for my E30. OR, u can convert to E30 325 six cilinder auto, quite fast.

extracooljustin,
may i know, how is the maintenance for e34 525..is it better than e36..I love e36,but it is a very messy car to maintained. What are the common problems raised on e34?

Thank you

General.bimmer said:
this is my ultimate driving machine

Wah... u work in Dataran Sunway, Kota Damansara ar? Always see this car there. Ny office also in DS.

Although I dont own a Bimmer but a Merc instead, IMHO buying the Japanese engine is cheap but the labor hour needed to scrap the front chassis partially for new engine mount will cost one a dozen, the result is, the cost of transplanting a Japanese engine into a continental car is almost similar sometimes more than transplanting another Bimmer engine into it. If times and financial permits, I will get myself an E30 318i and planning of transplanting the 325i E36 in it. Wish me luck guys.

Fardell....seems like a good idea by doing so. I own a E30 SR20det.. well there are many complications when the modification is done... once it is done it is almost ... like a dream come true. Imagine having a baby rocket for less than RM 25K. Other cars if you do so much modification it still looks like an old skool car. An E30 does not appear to look that way. Mine i spent around RM 10K for everything...This covers, Engine conversion,welding body,banana and intercooler piping, and now lastly interior ...

Thanks for the thought but as for me I will transplant the M50B25 into the E30 as I believe that a BMW needs BMW engine. Got wot I mean bro?