DIY Braided Brake Hose

Originally posted by edgar_raphael@Nov 28 2004, 15:46
tied so close, next time how to remove?
y u wan to open itlah, but i dun think u will cos u will b adicted to it! :P

Just in case la, if it worn out or what, then you want to replace with new ties, but have to remove the old one first ma right?

Anyway, i thought it would be more adviseable to tie as close as possible to avoid the rubber hose from expanding? (that's the objective right)?

If you leave gaps in between, its nothing but more likely to cause expansion on the gap area and more likely to break, dont you guys think so?

yep.. i do think that.. you tie it as close as posible to prefent it from expending, but it will never be as good as steel braided hose as it will always be some gap since the head of the cable tie is bigger than the strap

Originally posted by xtorm+Nov 28 2004, 19:49 -->
QUOTE (xtorm @ Nov 28 2004, 19:49 )
--QuoteBegin-edgar_raphael
@Nov 28 2004, 15:46
tied so close, next time how to remove?

y u wan to open itlah, but i dun think u will cos u will b adicted to it! :P [/b][/quote]
agree... no way i'm taking it off after spending hours doing it and wake up the other day with sore legs and back pain.

So it's all safe? No complains from anyone here after trying? Then it would be a good idea.

Anyway, where to buy those ties? How do they sell it?

thanks.

Guys wanna ask sumthin compare ProRS n Goodridge steel braided which is better ?o is it the same?i guess goodridge is more expensive... :unsure:

not sure about Goodridge but ProRS is crimped here while the material is claimed to be imported from UK....

I really wonder how long these plastic cable ties can last under heat and stress... will probably break up one by one after a while, me thinks.

I've thot about DIY using those metal grounding straps instead... it's long so u don't need to tie many short cables many times, and u can probably use metal ring clamps to clamp it down. The problem would be securing the starting and trailing ends.

do these cable ties capable of enduring heat??
can use it to tie engine cables??

Originally posted by jdj6632@Dec 6 2004, 13:40
do these cable ties capable of enduring heat??
can use it to tie engine cables??
sure... can lor...

Originally posted by Esky@Dec 6 2004, 08:02
I really wonder how long these plastic cable ties can last under heat and stress... will probably break up one by one after a while, me thinks.

I've thot about DIY using those metal grounding straps instead... it's long so u don't need to tie many short cables many times, and u can probably use metal ring clamps to clamp it down. The problem would be securing the starting and trailing ends.
so far none of the cable ties have turn brittle.... and the force on the cable ties are distributed evenly, so not likely that it'll break..

And better not to tie the hose too tight....

dun worry too much bout de cable ties... the brake hose here is not a high temp. area... no oil, no chemical... only dirt n water...

use those black color cable ties for better strength n quality..

well.. if de cable ties break or become brittle... u only feel ur braking light original hose mah.. no danger... :)

i also did mine today , but i just tie for 2 front disc brake only...haven't got time to tie the back 1...

i still can't find the rear wheel brake hose coming out from the wheel arc.. maybe its placed along the rear axle not very sure.

you can feel some different in braking after you install it, but after a week or two when you get use to it i can't really feel it anymore

rollakid,

cant find de hose? well.. my suggestion is u trace de brake line until u get to the moving parts(suspension joints) n i think will be somewhere there..normally it will be just behind de drum or de disc..

note: make sure u remove ur tyre n jack high enough for u to crawl in.. :)

Originally posted by Autoracingsyndicate@Dec 5 2004, 01:15
Guys wanna ask sumthin compare ProRS n Goodridge steel braided which is better ?o is it the same?i guess goodridge is more expensive... :unsure:
Goodridge steel braided hose is better compare to ProRS n more expensive than it.
i feel that using goodridge is more effective than ProRS. the advantage is like changing a bigger brake pump.........
Last time i was using ProRS because it cheap mah....... but at around half year donno y it pecah......
So i bought goodridge steel braided hose. :rolleyes:

khguan,

i tried, only find one small pipe that go in the drub brake, and its not even rubber, its metal, non moving.. go along the rear axle, maybe the rubber hose is located somewhere else.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v517/Sil...tockmuffler.jpg
pic of my car's rear axle, taken sometime ago, meant to show my stock muffler to some guy before but can see rear axle also.

i cant c any hose from ur pic wor...

mayb u need to ask a mechanic to find out... such old cars is much simpler compared to those modern cars...