Coupe Front brake pump jammed

ektony

This happened last weekend. The symptoms are , the car loses power and the the auto box starts to down shift and up shift. Vibration from the steering wheel. Stopped the car and inspected the wheel where the burning smell and smoke (yes, smoke) originated. Noticed the rotor disc red hot on some area as I was travelling at 110kmh.

Managed to wait an hour for the brake disc to cool down and slowly crawled back home.

This morning I went to Hyundai Central Parts Warehouse in Glenmarie and purchase one set of disc brake seal kit for RM60 . Will attempt to fix it myself this weekend - if I fail to reassemble the brake pump then will call a mechanic .

Really disappointed, the car has only travelled 56K km

ektony, which Coupe you have? RD/RD2/GK? Tiburon/Turbulence/Tuscani?

Mine is manual, so not that worst, still can drive even jam.
I experience the similar issue in the past, when I hit the brake , LOT's of white smoke release from the front passenger site wheel, can clearly see the gas from driver seat, i thought shit happen and the amount of white smoke is kind of scary.

Later check with the mech and found that 1 site of the brake jam. Hope that yours get it fix this weekend. Mind give share the experience here after the fixing?

How to check when the brake pads are worn out or due for replacement? Any DIY guides from all sifus here...

dartango,

1. Ask the mech to check whenever you sent my car for engine oil service, check only, FOC. :biggrin:

2. stop your car, check the "longkang" at the brake pad. if you still using the stock brake pad, there are "longkong" (2 at least) on the pad, it's 1 of the indicator for brake wear.

Check this out, brand new Genuine Hyundai Coupe Tiburon (RD1) brake pads , and compare the "longkang" with yours, errr, i mean your brake pad. :biggrin:

ROY_20060626_093c.jpg

far view
ROY_20060626_094.jpg

The box
ROY_20060626_086.jpg

of course if your brake start giving you noise, time to change as well.

Repaired the jammed brake at the workshop. Couldn't DIY - the piston of the brake pump got jammed so badly that the mechanic had to soak the brake caliper/pump in penetrating oil and use the compressed air to force out the piston.
The Hyundai brake seal kit which I bought has replacement components for both front brakes.

Lesson, next time change brake fluid minimum once in two years !

when ever your car send for servicing. It is best that you can do the inspection yourself first and ask the mech to check whatever necessary under the car. This is the part where we don't get to check every day. The brake check is a must and also see if there is any streak of oil leak under the engine will give any indication of service required.

That's why it is good every weekend to blast at high speed and a long run so that minor mechanical irritants can be amplified and attended to immediately (if still has money in the wallet) . But this jammed brake really caught me by surprise.

true...thats also will decarb the engine as well and also refresh the engine....

ektony : which model of coupe do u own?

Sevenfold,

My ride is a silver 1.8 auto tiburon year of manufacture 2001. No modification except for lowered springs which is now annoying me. Extra careful when you drive over humps, going up multi storey car park. Takes the joy out of driving, got to think of this and that. I am not so fussy on detailing paintwork but am concerned on the car being mechanically sound. What about you, Sevenfold? How about some pictures on your ride ?

Thx the advice... BS, Ace, ektony. ektony, are you having a RD2 (Coupe Gen2)?
Btw, BS, respect you lar... got very good documentation of the parts & pictures!!! Would you also have the detailed sample part numbers of RD2. The one that you posted at MSN is not so clear. Can you send to [email protected]? Thx man

dartango, sorry for my ignorance on this. What is RD2 model ? I think mine is a Gen2 . 4 round lights in front with huge rear lights. Year 2001 and the handbook says Coupe Tiburon

ektony, your car is same model as mine. There's another member wengfhai with the same model.

guys, RD, RD2 and GK is Tiburon chassis code.

RD - Tiburon - Hyundai Coupe 97-99
RD2 - Turbulence - Hyundai Coupe 00-01
GK - Tuscani - Hyundai Coupe 02 until now.

In different region, the Hyundai Sales Distributor tends to give different local name. For example, in US and Canada, all Hyundai Coupe = Tiburon, irregardless of model year (like Honda Civic, it never mention the model by the name). You can try do a search on ebay for "Hyundai Tiburon", you will get parts of car across 3 different model, hence in order to differentiate the model among our beloved drive, Chassis code is the best to use.

dartango, email sent.

That means, mine is RD2 Turbulence-Hyundai Coupe ! thanks