correct & safe way to clean throttle body?

mirage2929

Dec 5, 2004
hi, can anyone teach me the right way to clean throttle body. mine is a fuel

injection car. I don wish to remove the throttle body, scare will spoilt it.

Question:

1. What spray can to use? carb cleaner on EFI car, can or not?

2. If spray on, car engine on or off?

3. I hv seen mechanic spray into the throttle butterfly and accelerate engine kow kow
I don think this technique is good coz what happened to those dirty residual? stuck in
engine injectors?

4. should i just clean the butterfly with cloth?

Thanks for comment.

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
1. Yes, you can use carburetor cleaner.

2. Best is spray with the engine on hi rev. But in the throttle body, there are 2 holes, make sure u use something to tape it close as u do not want caruberetor cleaner to go into these holes..

3. It would not affect injector because injector is just petrol injector (not air!). It would be sucked thru the inlet manifold get mixed with petrol injected and go into the combustion chamber and let out as exhaust.

4. Clean with cloth with carburetor sprayed. Make sure don't loosen the screws for the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS).

WAJA2003

For me i take out whole trotle body to use petrol to wash....until kilat kilat...
unplug all wire first...but before that unplug u battery connector first...then unplug trotle cable...2 of water hose...then unscrew 4 pcs screw...
Then ok liao..u can start cuci..

mirage2929

Dec 5, 2004
guys,

Sunday i used STP carb cleaner to clean throttle body. I didn't remove or
spray directly into the throttle body. I used gauze with carb cleaner to wipe
the outer part (before butterfly). Then i flick opened the butterfly to clean it as
deep as possible. I cleaned it till kilat kilat.

After cleaning
Problem:

Engine idling is at RPM 1300-1500

When air con compressor kick-in, it stay at RPM 900-1000. Perfect, i would say.

Why is my engine idling so high when compressor not kick in?
ECU need time to adjust? I hv already removed my battery for 1 hour to reset ECU.

The problem is only 2 days old, Any one can help?

A Post Every 5 Mins

i drive an aveo for a year now. everyday keep looking around if there's any aveos that has been modified interiorly or exteriorly. Not much has been done.

So for those who knows:

would like to lower the car using the lowering springs..so what is the best/appropriate springs to use for aveos? (keep searching in the magazines, unvailable for aveos so far)

best rims to suit the aveos. Thinking of changing to 16" rims

and where to go/how to make it look little bit more radical (kasi...