Common 4AGZE problems ONLY (let's share them here)

Summary of issues i have got eversince I bought my gze

eversince I got my Gze installed, I was so thrilled that the engine was so powerful compared to my old mazda that I've sold.
(bought GZE for RM3k -with LSD - no flow sensor - low mileage (70k km) -

and after 1 and a half year ( I didn't lanyak the car) came the problems.

1. D-shaft started to make funny sounds

2. Later,the Lower arms joined the band of loud noise.

3. The supercharger bearing started to wear out and giving loud unwanted sound when engaged

4. gear CLutch - the spring type for GZE clutch is cool to have on but when the problem comes u will know u need to have 20v (4AGE) clutch better.GZE spring clutch tends to wear out faster tho it's more smoother and engage better.From my experience the best to fit in my 4agze is by taking 4AGE's clutch in.I dont know about you guys , but it works well for me.

5. Reverse problems.-GB is good, Oil is premium one, still haunted by the myth of 4AGZE ( LSD GB 4AGZE is like that when reverse mode)

All in all , these are the common issue that I have with my GZE and I'm still trying to fix my reverse , and yes my D-shaft!!

Dell Zidane, well, read from ur message, hmmm, u using the 4age clutch kah???? cos i dind't use, i just use the stock flywheel, stock clutch cover and clutch plate before la, and already change to exedy clutch cover and clutch plate, keep the stock flywheel. hmm..... at least better then stock one lor..... just correct me if i'm wrong ok.

The D-shaft got sound, what kinda reason the sound will comes out??? can tell me and share? anyway i been changing 2 pair drive shaft, esp for the longer one, cos lower the car before but will heard the krok krok sound. damn irritate lar..!!! wanna dump the whole car:p .

Clutch and D-shaft issues

trd_ae92 said:
Dell Zidane, well, read from ur message, hmmm, u using the 4age clutch kah???? cos i dind't use, i just use the stock flywheel, stock clutch cover and clutch plate before la, and already change to exedy clutch cover and clutch plate, keep the stock flywheel. hmm..... at least better then stock one lor..... just correct me if i'm wrong ok.

The D-shaft got sound, what kinda reason the sound will comes out??? can tell me and share? anyway i been changing 2 pair drive shaft, esp for the longer one, cos lower the car before but will heard the krok krok sound. damn irritate lar..!!! wanna dump the whole car:p .

Trd92- well dude.. i keep all the stock where they belong..Only the CLutch Pedal I switched to 4AGE. my clutch plate Just changed to Exedy (spring core) but still not as good as the stock plate (damper and spring core) .the size is smaller by few mms from the stock.But I had to buy no other choice(er not enuff money).If u want cheap Clutch plate and Housing for 4AGZEs can ask me for the shop location.

My advice is Exedy clutch is no better than the stock tho it's easily available.If u have more to spend get TRD ones or other aftermarkets(i dunno)

With regard to D-shaft - yes .GZEs D-shaft are big and strong and so does the tOrque that its engine produces. Still the Stock D-shaft cannot take it for so long la..as u can ask any 4AGZE owners will come to this D-shaft issues. the main thing to do and I have learned is to customize the D-shaft , get some spares to keep and Never To LOWER the BODY!!!!!

I guess my comments may not be as good .maybe some GZE Sifoo can hop in and say few words abt this.

Comon GZE problem

shamburke said:
hi,

as for me the only problem i faced is the inner-head drive shaft... last time always kong after 6-9 months of usage....but after changing to 17" the problem seems to go away....now i thinking of wanting to change to 15".....

other than that everything is okay!!!! .....

cheers...

Hi Sham,

Dah lupa your ECU problem ke hehe...

FYI, ECU problem is not only happened to GZE, it happened to all old injection car.

I have repaired 6 unit of faulty GZE ECU, and successfully restored 5 unit's performance but one failed coz someone attempt to repaired it b4 and had damage the chip (sayang).

When ECU start to have problem, you will experience high fuel consumption, poor idling, black smoke, engine stall at hard brake, etc.

When the problem has become serious, your engine will no longer wake up liao.

The lucky thing is, most of the faulty ECU is repairable with the possibility of 100% performance restoration. So, never throw away your faulty ECU.

Agree to what levin818 is saying.

Even a blown s/c, block, and head also dont throw.

Can savage parts from there.

ECU fault can be trace???

So, that's mean if the ecu when u open it and inner computer board look very very fresh and then also new, didn't got any component oil liking from it, can be check the ecu got faulty soon???.... thanks.

Also wanna ask did u guys ever change the fuel pump in the tank before???? does it matter to change it. The fuel pump is exactly same with the 4age one right??? not quiet sure cos dind't really ask ppls lar. all sifoooss... share share ok?

trd_ae92 said:
So, that's mean if the ecu when u open it and inner computer board look very very fresh and then also new, didn't got any component oil liking from it, can be check the ecu got faulty soon???.... thanks.

Hi trd_ae92,
Yes by visual inspection on the ECU board, we will be able to judge whether the ECU has a problem or not.

levin818 said:
Hi Sham,

Dah lupa your ECU problem ke hehe...

FYI, ECU problem is not only happened to GZE, it happened to all old injection car.

I have repaired 6 unit of faulty GZE ECU, and successfully restored 5 unit's performance but one failed coz someone attempt to repaired it b4 and had damage the chip (sayang).

When ECU start to have problem, you will experience high fuel consumption, poor idling, black smoke, engine stall at hard brake, etc.

When the problem has become serious, your engine will no longer wake up liao.

The lucky thing is, most of the faulty ECU is repairable with the possibility of 100% performance restoration. So, never throw away your faulty ECU.

ya lor!!!!

sifu wong...me forgot la......tua oredi...ppl still don't believe....

yes thanks to the sifu wong touch... my ECU has been repaired for some faulty .. don't know what lar... after repair better response......lupa ....that's what i like this toyota forum... the sifu even younger than me... have a lot of knowledge and tha best part is that they didn't mind to share even then i am new to the forum...kudos and cheers to you all....

cheers...

cheers...

waaa... so many sifus in here... good to have SC thread...
mine got the d/shaft problem only, think wanna recond it back...

dell_zidane said:
Trd92- well dude.. i keep all the stock where they belong..Only the CLutch Pedal I switched to 4AGE. my clutch plate Just changed to Exedy (spring core) but still not as good as the stock plate (damper and spring core) .the size is smaller by few mms from the stock.But I had to buy no other choice(er not enuff money).If u want cheap Clutch plate and Housing for 4AGZEs can ask me for the shop location.

got to thank dell_zidane for this as he help me find the clutch cover even drove me to the shop in P.J. Many thanks dude!!!

I want to make my car higher, anybody got front springs?

Preferably aftermarket like RSR kah cause no money to get adjustables yet.

The krok..krok sound getting worse..

How to detect ECU problem in 4AGZE?

Dear all,

Is aw the thread about ECU. and our fella here has experience on restoring the faulty units.Good man!! next time we have this problem , we can bring the ECU to u to B fixed!!

But then again, How a layman like me get to know my ECU got problem.?(ECU FACTOR)
If u talk about black smoke, high fuel consumption, poor idling, these symptoms can also be caused by other things than the ECU alone.

any comments.?

-speedcrave .About the help.anytime dude! Nobody knows when your bad hair day will come .

- I rarely use KESAS nowadays to work.(minyak mahal ooo)
jenjarum-dengkil-putrajaya is the best option today.

ECU problem

Sham, please dun mentioned.
Just too many work to do lately so come here kacau to release stress :D

Zidane,
My HDD crash last Monday, all the ECU photos, chicks photos, and ECU records is gone (sob sob...) Now trying to get help from expert to retrieve the data from the HDD. Therefore i can't show you any photos on how to judge the ECU is faulty or not at the moment.

Please bare in mind that the ECU is sensitive to electro static discharge from humand body, so it is not advisable to be handle/open by the owner without experience.

If your car has met one of following condition, its a time for you to pay attention to your ECU:
- year make is 1993 or before.
- mileage >120kkm
- never clean the throttle body before
- 15% more fuel consumption
- black smoke when full throttle
- poor idling
- engine stalled at hard brake
- engine sudden stalled
- can't start the engine eventhough there is fuel supply and spark is exist.

4AGZE ECU chip Upgrade (tambah Bigger RAM ka??)

Standard AGZE ECU chip upgrade
anybody has done this upgrade?
How much does it cost?
result?

or should just get ECU from MINE'S?dam bloody Expensivo dude!!

--may the torque be with us--
Revenge Of the Levin

I have done chipping for 2 the 4agze ecu. Able to take away the rev cut.

The only problem is that it cant do any fuelling and ignition mapping.

Rich at certain RPM and lean another certain RPM. Both the fuelling and mapping also different. Cannot go without any piggyback.

Tried testing with a 4agze with hks fcon s together with ecu also cannot. Blown the engine at high rpm.

ive been using the 4agze afm type since 1997.converted to fr.so i never really experience the reversem gear problem.i got the h/cut really clean,just 19700kms on it.it has been reliable if kept it standard.but last year started happening some problem after instaling the big pulley.the magnetic clutch failed (sad...happened during a run in one batu kawan sprint test)..so runing no boost.found out that the asbestos or whatsoever thingy inside the clutch worn out excessively...fuel consumption, really happy with it..hate the engine design la...looks oldies..i wonder if the cam cover looks like the 20v svt...sexy...converted to turbo coz the sc always rosak.

Mine also had problem with ECU. After fix by sifu wong end of last year until now working good. Jaga ur throtle body woooo apa barang pun mesti kena servis kalau mau tahan lama
As per my friend said ur drive shaft joint must be service yearly, kasi tukar itu greese la... kalau mau than lama. Dia punya sc d-shaft bole tahan 5 tahun sebelum dia jual itu keta.........

Hi guys, i'm newbe here.... just want to share - dell_zidane problem is almost the same with mine.... just bought pre-installed SC in ee100 from someone - facing all common problems for GZE ... but still running good except bearing sound....

dell_zidane said:
eversince I got my Gze installed, I was so thrilled that the engine was so powerful compared to my old mazda that I've sold.
(bought GZE for RM3k -with LSD - no flow sensor - low mileage (70k km) -

and after 1 and a half year ( I didn't lanyak the car) came the problems.

1. D-shaft started to make funny sounds

2. Later,the Lower arms joined the band of loud noise.

3. The supercharger bearing started to wear out and giving loud unwanted sound when engaged

4. gear CLutch - the spring type for GZE clutch is cool to have on but when the problem comes u will know u need to have 20v (4AGE) clutch better.GZE spring clutch tends to wear out faster tho it's more smoother and engage better.From my experience the best to fit in my 4agze is by taking 4AGE's clutch in.I dont know about you guys , but it works well for me.

5. Reverse problems.-GB is good, Oil is premium one, still haunted by the myth of 4AGZE ( LSD GB 4AGZE is like that when reverse mode)

All in all , these are the common issue that I have with my GZE and I'm still trying to fix my reverse , and yes my D-shaft!!

come on..let's make this topic alive back!!....plzzzzz

errrrr.. how to make this thread alive again??

Some converted to BT..:bawling:
some remained as it is.. but:adore:
mostly the rest aged oredi and driving the charger takes lots of energy.. too ol to drive
so we change to a normal cars.. hahahah:driver:..