Cleaning your throttle body

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6022/5982995411_b5bdc8bee4.jpg​

My last DIY post on the oil catch tank raised a question or two and I received a few PMs asking almost the same thing : "What if I don't want to modify anything but want a clean throttle body?"

Well here's my response : Clean your throttle body.

Read more at the DIY section here-------> DIY cleaning your throttle body.

Recirculated blow-by gases get routed back into the intake which adversely affects your throttle body and intake manifold since blow-by gases have oil vapour which eventually results in gunk, varnish and other nasty stuff to be accumulated at your intake and throttle body. Air flow is not smooth and turbulent, sensors might not be reading correctly due to the dirt build up or turbulent air flow and all that means you got inconsistent idling speeds and sometimes unresponsive throttle response and loss of power. Carbon buildup and dirt can also get stuck in your throttle body causing it to not open or close properly which results in a 'air leak' and will affect your idling too.

So generally it's a good idea to clean your throttle body once in a while if you're experiencing rough acceleration, idling and engine dying off issues.

• 5982995411_b5bdc8bee4.jpg
    5982995411_b5bdc8bee4.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 359
Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks Saiful. :biggrin:

But I'm nothing compared to some other DIY sifus I know!

Erm.. I'm not a mechanic by profession. IT guy in fact.