Cleaning K&N drop in air-filter element

quicksilver7

Hey guys,

Just wanna ask how do you guys normally clean your K&N drop in air-filter element? Cuz you know how the economy is not too good nowadays hehe. I read that it's possible to just soak it in soap water and later sun dry it.

Is it important to oil it? Thanks!!

usually people clean it with air-gun..

i don't think u can wash it with water..

if u have a suck & blow vacuum cleaner, it should do the trick :wink:

but of coz air-gun is better :biggrin:

if i'm not mistaken k&n filter have special cleaning kit...consist of 2 bottle...1 to clean...the other one to re-oil it back...just because it is a Wet, Mesh type filter unlike most other dry type which you can just blast it with pressurized air...i dont know how much the cleaning kit cost...but i believe for long term use...better stick to manufacturer recomendation...

last time what i did is just soak it into a soap water.using fabric detergent.just put a bit and mix with tap water.then soak it for 1 hour,u can see the water will go black/dirty..then wash it until there's no soap..let it dry for 1 day..

when anyone buy a K&N filter, there is an instruction given within the box. Just refer to it.

But for those who got money and wanna use K&N filter, but want to stinge on the cost of servicing the K&N filter, please just use normal paper filter lor. when dirty liow, throw and replace new ones.

It's like got money to buy car, but so stinge on money to pay roadtax/insurance.

I'm not trying to offend anyone here, just speaking as-a-matter of fact only.

just get the cleaning kit.2 bottle inside.spray cleaner kit on air filter.let it sock for 10 min then wash.let filter dry then use the oil kit to re-oil the filter.

soaking K&N into soapy water is like taking a buffalo bath for human...
seemed to be clean..but not clean enough

just buy the cleaning kit...got its own detergent and oil for reoiling..
K&N must be reoil as its originally oiled when new

that's the purpose of using K&N replacement drop in...so u wont have to buy any more air filters..but..have to clean it lor..

careful when re-oiling the filter... over-oiling is not a good thing...

and never ever use an air gun on that filter...u risk tearing the filter.

Very easy lol...buy the cleaning kit which cost around RM70 - 80 (4got). Then if still not sure how, there's always YouTube.com to help. RM70 for a few times, compensate the changing of paper filter after around 10,000km. RM70 is reasonable =) coz 1 ori paper filter would cost mayb around RM20 - RM80, depends on what car u're using?

But if im not mistaken, everytime you clean the K&N filter using the cleaning kit, the filter actually got thinner (read it from somewhere which I forgot where). So the filtering performance might drop. Any sifu here can clarify? =)

You can use degreaser or any soap capable of cleaning industrial grade oil. Basically just wash away the old dirt and oil and dry it. After that, apply new layer of oil on the filter element. Best to use back K&N oil although you can substitute with other types of oil but no guarantee it wont damage the element.

Like some have suggested, and rightfully so, get the cleaning kit (~RM75 for 2 bottles : 1 cleaner and 1 lube). 1 set lasts you 2-3 years , depending on how often you clean your filter. I clean mine every 15,000 km or so. If you want to still save $$$ and use a degreaser, I suggest using a citrus based one but you still need to re-oil the elements - that you need trial and error .

Im not sure about this, but some said K&N they chose not to re-oil is because in a long run, those oil gets trapped somewhere which
I can't remember which part though...

If not mistaken, if u put too much oil, the oil will find its way to your MAF sensor, screw up the reading & u will get problem with the AF setting

Yeap. That is true...coz i'd read some forums and articles that mention that. So apply the oil slowly and evenly