Classic car engine transplant

Danny

I'm faced with this dilemma to revive my 1961 volvo which is sitting outside my house for the last 1 year or so. I've got 2 of them, the 2nd one booked for spare parts in my mech's workshop. Now there's 2 options :-

1) RB20 dett transplant 2.0 litre turbo - been offered to do it at RM3k incl workmanship from one of my mech
2) Volvo 1.8 twin cam original volvo engine - it's in one of the cars already. Probably just need to transfer some parts to complete it - cost approx RM3000 incl spare body + parts

Have this weekend to decide. Project starts next week! What are the pros/cons in terms of maintenance and reliability?

Some old and pictures and ideas for body works / spray paint :-

1. Custom job looks -
http://home.swipnet.se/frankzz/Bil-strand-2.jpg

2. Original looks -
http://www.vclassics.com/ad_pics/stacy.jpg

3. Original interior pics (notice the speedometer is straight instead of round)
http://www.vlvworld.com/120/photo/220ac.jpg

4. Original twin carb engine - http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/12/web/708000-708999/708916_6_full.jpg

Fuuuu....Danny.....from zero to THAT HERO rm3k is NOT goin to be enuff.If i were you....let say intent to keep it and a petrolhead...put in the biggest engine the bay will fit,slam it and put HUGE wheels on it.

2nd option :
To preserve value.....plonk in the volvo engine and hope you don't get stranded in some secluded highway in the middle of NOWHERE in the middle of the nite and hope don't get murdered or rape...whichever comes 1st. :P

eh...can take a joke right? :lol:

Project cars are not made overnite, specially special one-offs.....if i have the resources
to make one that look like the pic....would prolly take at least 2-4 years. :ph34r:

p/s BTW, its even harder to compare to a chopped-top coupe if you have a 4 door sedan.

problem with high powered engines is that the body is very old, afraid it might break into 2 during boost :D

2nd option have to overhaul the engine also la, just intend to use it around KL so should be ok.

The 1st pic is an inspiration for future looks, though it may not be a coupe but it looks promising just lowering the springs and getting large wheels.

dun put jap engine ler.. maintain using volvo engine.. then mebbe mod the car for the mafia look.. damn chunted ler.. :)

that black one is super gorgeous la...make it happen man and i shall put you in a magazine *hint*hint* :)

oh yeah... try to get a huge carburetor engine and cut he hood for that shaker hood monstrosity...

do it ala muscle car pimp lowriding ride kinda thing! keep it alive ya!

yea the black one looks really good :) rims also chrome and donno how many inch, but the ride height is way 2 low, I think those are using air suspension to make it sit down when idle.