Chassis Design HELP

wenshen

Dear Sifus,

Darren here is seriously challenged in UK. A group of 5 students, we are asked to design a 4 SEATER midship engine car. scary isnt it. anyone has any idea of existing car models of such qualities?

please do help me on ways to find drawings for the chassis as well..

thank you very much guys.. terima kasih banyak banyak..

regards,
darren.wenshen

maybe you could look for blueprints, some (rare) have chassis views too.

smcars.com

huh? 4-seater midship? wow, fitting midgets in the rear seats ar?

wenshen said:
Dear Sifus,

Darren here is seriously challenged in UK. A group of 5 students, we are asked to design a 4 SEATER midship engine car. scary isnt it. anyone has any idea of existing car models of such qualities?

please do help me on ways to find drawings for the chassis as well..

thank you very much guys.. terima kasih banyak banyak..

regards,
darren.wenshen

midship rear -
1. ferrari mondial from the mid 1980s. 2+2 seating, not very good looking but its usable 4seater mid engined car based on the 308 chassis with coachwork designed by pininfarina.

2. tatra t603/613 series, 4 door mid engined v8 sedan/limo 1960s-1990s.

look up these cars in wikipedia. some info would definitely be there.

midship front
1. new aston martin 4door sedan based on the db9. prototype stage. closest to a midship front as any 4 seater car with the engine in front can be.

regards

sorry, the tatra is rear engined...looks like only the ferrari mondial is a production mid engined 4 seater.

regards

must it be a performance car or what?

Proton Juara is a mid engine 4 seater also.

actually IDK if the juara is mid engined, but most vans are.. like Nissan Vannette, Ford Econovan etc...

Well technically midship = engine infront of rear wheels.
With the rear wheels far behind and the engine tilted slightly ahead of them, you'd have plenty of space for the 4 passengers and still quality for midship, no?

I mean, it doesnt have to handle right? :biggrin:

Design, or produce?
Design shouldnt be too much of a problem for engineering students...

The engine will be mounted transversely, like you would in those small MR cars(elise, VX220).

Can't help with finding chassis drawings, but think about those mid-engined dune racers constructions. One can elongate and 'biggerised' the chassis to accomadate 4 ppl.

I would look at Renault Clio or MR2 first. Then workaround from there. Elongate the front to look a little MPV'ish. Or you could look at Lotus Elise and work around from there. I think you could find lotus chassis design simple to work with.

why did ur lect. asked u for a midengined 4 seater in the first place?
u guys stole his gal?..
hahahaha..
there's a reason they dont make it into production, but since it's just designing..
like zeroed said, somethings can be compromised..
let us noe, ur results..
im definitely interested to have a look at it..

how about the new Ferrari 612 Scaglietti? this is the front-mid chassis, and it fits 2+2 no doubt.

got one!! Look at the Paris Motorshow's Peugeot 908 RC concept.... looks good.