Charade Aura

brutus

All Sifus,

My mom just got herself a 2nd hand Charade Aura 1.0 (M) 1990. She's complaining the manual is becoming a hassle to drive around KL and wondering whether there are any options to transplant an auto halfcut.

Pls bear in mind the usage and no need to recommend GTTi or the likes of it. She just want something easy and also take the oppurtunity to have EFi (my proposal :P ) to go along with the auto.

Pls adv.

Originally posted by brutus@Apr 13 2005, 08:38
All Sifus,

My mom just got herself a 2nd hand Charade Aura 1.0 (M) 1990. She's complaining the manual is becoming a hassle to drive around KL and wondering whether there are any options to transplant an auto halfcut.

Pls bear in mind the usage and no need to recommend GTTi or the likes of it. She just want something easy and also take the oppurtunity to have EFi (my proposal https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' /> ) to go along with the auto.

Pls adv.
[snapback]892385[/snapback]​

Change to auto gearbox (>< RM1000) or buy Auto Halfcut (1.3i 16V)..

I would prefer to go for the 1.3i 16V Half cut. any problems in transplant since it is a 30% increase in CC? any idea how much this kind of half cut cost?

the 1.3 16v auto halfcut would costs anywhere in between RM 2000 to RM 2400....depends on where u found it...

the halfcut, transplant workmanship fees, registration fees and hidden costs will costs u around RM 6k...

registration can still be done....just need to find runner who charges accordingly....but the engine mounting has to be changed since the CB series engine mountings is diff from the H series mounting on the aura....

btw...im using aura with 1.3 16v manual engine....

Originally posted by anion@Apr 13 2005, 15:59
the halfcut, transplant workmanship fees, registration fees and hidden costs will costs u around RM 6k...

Wah, don't scare him lah. Typical halfcut around RM2K only or less. (I got my Deto at this price also, so maybe 1.3 is much lesser priced)
Registration fees RM50 only in JPJ.
Workmanship maximum RM1K with warranty depending on the workshop.
Hidden cost would mean timing belt and 'consummable' items :P

If just want to change auto, just change car lar. The only rational advise for a goal oriented purposes. If u're more into car modding oriented, conversion would be preferred.

ehehe....tibun....KL is diff over here....last time when i wuz scouting for the manual halfcut, i saw auto halfcut n to my suprise, they quote me for RM 2.4k for it and another for RM 2.7k.....

for now im not so sure as deto halfcuts prices is going down as 1.3 ones will maintain price coz of JPJ....JPJ runner fees i paid 300 bux....now no more those kind of RM 50 story edi....if wanna save on that....have to go thru all the hassle urself den can save ler....

workmanship is around RM 1.2k to RM 1.8k max.....C&C or dream machine is charging around RM 1.8 there....

hidden costs like the timing belt or whatever belts, plugs or whatsoever which is needed to replace due to wear n tear.....

Just use aura 1.3 engine laa..don't need to change mounting...don't use the espri one...

guys,

thanks for all the comments but I'm a little lost here. I thought only 1 type of 1.3 16V? now it seems more choices with Deto(??).
anyway, my mom like the car so he doesn't really want to change car. she just wants an auto tranny and a little bit more power.

what are my options?

How about you think more scary but easy to register and would cost you only RM5000 for everything..?

How about GTTi?

I know the GTTi is more fun but I do not think will get thru my mom's stage (literally speaking).

if GTTi conversion how much?

dude,

accourding to your state here i think ur 1st choice is already fit ur requiremnt. no need headache to think about the other engines. but i do agree with ceret spoon that it better to choose 1.3 16v aura with auto tranny, less hassle for u since it mostly plug n play only, no extreme mods involve. fyi 1.3 16v aura and 1.3 16v espri is different.

and make sure u get the rear disc brake and efi fuel tank with the halfcut.that what atleast that u need to do a conversion. better still engage with any workshop that u are convinient to convert ur car and deal with them what u want and how much they are offering. less hassle for u.

rough estimation around 5K is enough. either it be more or less usually depends on what u wanna do or change, the least u have to change usually timing belt and engine oil.the others depends on the halfcut u get. usually the cost will blow up if u include bodykits, seats, sport rim bla-bla...and the list go on an on..... no need to buy if u dont need them, but if u do...well its ur money..nobody can stop u..rite.

hope this help u make decision....

yep....1.3 16v auto tranny engine is good enuf....

lets say :

halfcut - 2k
transplant - 1.5k
rear discs + fuel tank - 700
registration - 300
hidden costs - 500

added up all together also 5k already....btw...i did my conversion for RM 6k alltogether.....confirm edi that putting the HC-E into aura G100 chassis have to change mounting....onli that GTti into aura G100 no need change mounting....

change mounting no shiok already. thought can keep everything in "original" form. anyway, thanks for all the advise. need to talk to my mom first because initially thought about 2-3K can kau tim. now it is like 5-6K!

all sifus, TQ.

Hey anion how would u know DM charge MAX RM1800 for labour charge ??? U've convert there ?? As what I know....nobody ever converted to 1.3 there....and I've just converted to GTTi....they charge me only RM1300......
My point here...don't say anything that u don't know.....U say that seems like u wanna give bad impression bout those shops.......sooo better watch out what u say or type....

u better give allan a call...explain ur statement dude...1.8k,u sure??

dude.....i've done my transplant at C&C last time around october year 2003 where mail and allan is doing up my car.....so i would confirm that C&C charged RM 1.8k for it....coz i payed for it.....

and pls note that i didnt insist on DM is charging RM 1.8k....GTti conversion is easier coz no need to change mounting thus its cheaper...get it ? not to say im giving bad impression bout thier shops....i still visits their shop and coz of the high price i paid, they gimme absolute perfect workmanship....thats my point....

i still thinks that C&C did a very good job to my car and DM is a very good workshop for charades....did i every say anything bad bout them here ?

so ceretspoon....mind ur words as its a little harsh and offensive....i will not simply say if i hadnt had the experiences....cheers.....

Thats between u and C&C not DM rite......so don't just say that DM also charge RM1800......And if u install 1.3 Aura...u don't need to change any mounting rite.....will that also cost RM1800 ???
Its like u just convert ur car at DM and they charge you RM1800.
So state clearly which shop u've done ur conversion and the price...not just 'tangkap muat jer'.

pls note once again dude....i didnt insist on DM is charging 1.8k too....i did mention in between 1.2 to 1.8k and around 1.8k for C&C and DM....

do u know that the CB series and H series engine has diff engine mountings for the G100 chassis ? so from CB 23 to HC-E on the G100 chassis have to change mountings....do u know that before making assumptions that it doesnt need to change mountings ?

so what is the big deal for charges of RM 1.8k for engine transplant ? obviously u didnt do ur homework nor reading properly before making assumptions or conclusions by urself....

mabby u r just a hardcore fan of DM....but its the fact that once Allan is from C&C and now he is a boss of his own....u can support him no matter how and im not trying to sabotage or condemn anybody....

no point arguing over the charges of engine transplant....here n there charges diff everywhere....just keep to the topic n help our fren brutus here.....

Aiyak..Don't fight loo among Charaders..Cheers..DM ok maa..

Brutus, easy story aa, you just convert to GTTi..No need to change mounting, no need to check at Puspakom, no need to wait till 1 month to finish, no need to worry about excessing 25% JPJ rules..With RM5K you can get all and just ride your car..And you can be glamour too if you want la..

GTTi is not only for fun..I drove my GTTi slow also..No need to hurry if you are not in hurry..Gear 1 = 10km/h, Gear 2 = 30km/h, Gear 3 = 70km/h..But when one Waja cucuk me, I left him very far away this morning (KL-Ipoh..Hehhe..Tomorrow going back to KL la..)..No only for fun, but you can use if you need to speed..If not, drive like usual..Slow2 also can..

Wah fellow charadians :P dun argue now.
Brutus, since all discussion is around Dream Machine (DM), hence recommend you to visit the shop if you are seriously considering changing auto tranny there.
012-2657005 Allan.
But I did mine in Ijok, Kuala Selangor :D Also a nice place, but might be far for you.