cat remove

ahead

i overhear from vios user saying that remove "cat" kinda of electronic control unit to improve acceleration n pick up. Do you have any idea about "cat"? how they do it

Isee.
By removing Catalytic so we need to add on extra ecu like Emanage?

If u've read the wiki page, you should know that it's part of the exhaust system and you can remove it if you want because it's only for emission control purposes. It will only affect pick-up if it has fail which will clog the exhaust flow. Any exhaust shop can remove it for you -- a straightforward job. No emanage needed..

unless u r talking about something else..

Isee. Thanks for the advise shall meet exhaust sifu for further clarification.

I noticed a bit of an improvement when I removed my cat, although I also installed my headers and front pipe at the same time so it's hard to say exactly what sort of difference it made without chucking the car on a dyno. There are no negative affects from removing it if that's what you're worried about (apart from polluting the atmosphere a little more, lol).

by removing the cat converter is it necessary to modify another hollow steel tube to fit the o2 sensor? is the o2 sensor fit into cat converter? i wouldnt know because lazy to jack up car to view.

My 5A-FE didn't even have an o2 sensor for the cat converter. It just had a small probe called a pyrometer which measures the exhaust temperature. You simply just spot weld the probe onto your exhaust piping when you remove the cat (I tucked mine up under the heatshield until I had access to a welding machine and there were no ill effects). If you do happen to have an o2 sensor for your cat then you can get an o2 sensor eliminator which tricks the ECU into thinking the cat is still in place.