Carburetor Section

fstrader said:
you did not do some research first b4 getting a weber kah bro? yes there is mini's with 3 cyclinders using single dcoe, and yes it is HIGHLY not advisable to use a single dcoe on a 4 cyclinder engine....

dcoe's are for race and drag purposes, and can only be paired up using 2... below an example of my previous DCOE :p :-

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y3/fstrader/5808weber4.jpg

hi fstrader,
Thanks for your comments and advice. I did have some research before getting a webber but didn't see any materials saying that DCOEs are meant to work for a pair....i even saw many DCOE carbs selling for one unit on the ineternet...which gives me a wrong image that single DCOE can also runs well. I think I didn't do a deep-down enough research...still new for webber and learning. :regular_smile:

In that case, I will try to get another DCNF if possible...hope if can find ppl wants to sell...

btw, just wondering, what's the inside mechanical difference between DCOE and DCNF (except sidedraft & downdraft)?? for example...choke, jettings etc.?? why can this make single DCOE not suitable for 4-cylinder engine??

thank you.

PS: hey nice twin webber you've got!! Envy that you can find the intake manifold, is that Hot Bits??

fstrader said:
you did not do some research first b4 getting a weber kah bro? yes there is mini's with 3 cyclinders using single dcoe, and yes it is HIGHLY not advisable to use a single dcoe on a 4 cyclinder engine....

dcoe's are for race and drag purposes, and can only be paired up using 2... below an example of my previous DCOE :p :-

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y3/fstrader/5808weber4.jpg

fstrader,,,where did the trumpets gone ? can you get correct setup without the trumpets,,,must be "gila" to tune rite:regular_smile: . IMHO the engine must lost low to midrange power coz of no trumpets.

allo v8, photo taken on da side maa, dats why cant see da trumpets. fyi it is with trumpets.... not much tuning difference if without the trumpets, only thing noticeble is da sound is gone ehehhehehe..

below da trumpet photo :D
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y3/fstrader/5808weber3.jpg

waa.... those trumpets look vr ganas ler... if my carb put trumpet sure looks funny... hahaha... coz jz need 1 trumpet.... lolz...

anyway, i also looking for cheap trumpets for my CAI hose ler... wakakakaka....

wah..terer lah your car uncle fred..still have ah the weber...wana sell ah? :b

aiyah!!true ka unker fred?how about this?:_:

3461.jpg

try to look on the net regarding carb balancer..it will be great if we have it here or maybe DIY it....hehehehehe...

cscarbtune.jpg

can anyone tell me why it is not suitable to use a Sngle DCOE on 4 cylinder engine ???

why?urs is DCOE 40..you need single DCOE 45 or 42 to run it with the 4 cylinder engines....and it suit with urs cc engines......40 can run with 3 cylinder engine in single....heheheheheheh

http://www.tjwakeman.net/TR/WeberDCOEinfo.htm

hope this sites will help you....http://www.teglerizer.com/dcoe/thecomparison.htm

just my2 kupang

DCOE:
Weber’s sidedraft DCOE has become legendary, but like many legends it’s largely misunderstood. While the DCOE has powered all types of race cars, from tiny 1000cc screamers to big honking V8s, it’s not necessarily a performance/racing carburetor.

The DCOE’s great strength, and great weakness, is that it can be infinitely customized. Every part of it can be swapped or adjusted to achieve the desired results. You can optimize torque, horsepower, economy, or any combination of them.

The downside is that it can require a lot of know-how and experience to do so. A DCOE may meet your requirements right out of the box, or it may not, depending on exactly what you want it to do.

From a design standpoint, the DCOE is somewhat like two single throat sidedraft carburetors sharing a single float bowl and throttle shaft. From that standpoint, they share some similarities with SUs. Most commonly a 45 DCOE is offered for MGBs, but the smaller 40DCOE is sometimes found. The 40 and the 45 DCOE share most parts, but the primary difference is in the venturis. DCOEs allow you to set the actual venturi size, something DGVs and SUs can’t do, and the 40 will accept very venturis, while the 45 while take very large ones. As a practical matter it doesn’t make much difference which kind you have on an MGB, as most B motors want a 34 or 36mm venture, which either type will comfortably handle.

While properly setting up a DCOE and all of its varied tubes and jets can be a daunting task, it does have several advantages over other carbs. Like the DGV, once it’s set up, it’s 100-percent reliable and requires little or no attention at all. And because of its modular nature, it can grow with your motor. With one set of jets and chokes, it can provide trouble free motoring on a stock motor. With another set, it can fully exploit the hottest B motors long after a set of SUs have been pushed past their limits.

It’s also a bit better made than SUs: The throttle shaft rides in bearings, so wear is virtually non-existent, and the overall casting and design is a masterpiece of smart engineering.

haha ok really thanks for your answer...you guys always can find materials which i coudn't find...now already got many articles waiting for me to read.

now i got a friend has a 40 DCNF for sale...then i don't know should get it or not..bcoz it is also 40mm :Not_Impressed:

masta cookie has taken a berak =þ

anywayz, i dunno wether its my spark plug anot but so far the plug seems okie maa...looks gd still but i think its time to change soon, the tip is thinning off arleady...no more pointy pointy (>.<)

thanks Darth for providing me so much info...these documents really fills my day man :D