Cables

r0yEE

wuzup peeps,
here are some stuff that i want to know and for others too.
how many types of cables are there for sound system and if there are so many different kinds, what is't for and what's the diff??
i heard of twisted pair rca, monster cable and bla bla blar.. can you guys please explain everything out?
thank you very much!!

only 3 types:

power cable - from battery to amp, or battery to distribution block to amps.
rca cable - from head unit to amps, or head unit to eq or xover then to amps.
speaker cable - from amps to speakers, or amps to passive then to speakers.

sometimes got 4th type, which is optical cable or toslink, this is from player to processor. some brands use bus cable la, ainet la,c-net la, etc etc lah

the more well known brands will be like:
monster, stinger, lightning, audison, etc. they have low end, mid end and almost high end

low end will be aura, etc etc u all know la

high end will be same as home audio ones, like cardas, ixos, audioquest, van den hul, etc etc

There is also telephone cables which are used as speaker cables, network cables which are used as RCS and also welding cables for power. The difference is its pretty to the eyes. Thats why I use streetwires :)

thankz guys for the info..
how about twisted cables??
any diff?

twisted rca cables are very common, so cant say its a big deal, u can try la...

any diff zen??

Bump: ohh yea, can you guys tell me what cables to use for what? as in this cable for the speakers to amp or amp to sub or HU to bla bla blar..
please tell me from the best cables to the worst and some brands to use and not to use. thankz guys for the info and zen, i can't wait to meet you in TT nite man.. will pm ya..

Bump: ohh yea, can you guys tell me what cables to use for what? as in this cable for the speakers to amp or amp to sub or HU to bla bla blar..
please tell me from the best cables to the worst and some brands to use and not to use. thankz guys for the info and zen, i can't wait to meet you in TT nite man.. will pm ya..

actually... you are asking about the material used or the "technology"?

oh ya.. adding on to the list as budget cables: Belden

i just want to know what kind of cables are there craziechild and also to know what is't for. cause i can always see RCA cables being sold but not power cables and speaker cables. and also which brand is good to use and which brand to avoid. the functionality of the cables as well.. some platinum or gold. what is't for?

Bump: yo zenn, how about bil-sound from germany?

sorry havent heard of bil-sound from germany...

aite aite.. cool..
what's a capacitor for?
and the grounding cables are for?

add capacitor if u have problem with your car's electricals. when the bass hits the lights dim or flicker. better to upgrade alternator, and keep monitoring your battery, after addidn system battery kong much faster. also helpful for amps that are high current, suck a lot of power. and also if u have lot of subs or play lot of bass music and play them loud.

ground cable is the one that u use for the amp la, no ground cable then amp kenot jalan. same cable as power cable, just that its wired to the car chassis. make sure the grounding is done properly, car paint is scrapped off before mounting it. can be screwed on to other available holes, or better still soldered on directly to the car body.

cool.. thankz much zenn

Bump: do you think a volt stabilizer would help too?

depends la, its effect depends on your oem car electrical system. if factory one lousy, then u get improvement. if factory one is good already, very little improvement.

monster is pretty expensive man..
but thankz loads peeps..