Buying A Skyline!

STYC

Hey, people.

First of all I would like to say hi and greetings to all Skyline fans and owners out there.
Secondly, I don't own a Skyline (YET!!!). I am thinking of getting one maybe somewhere after Chinese New Year 2009.
Thirdly, of course I need a lot, and I mean really A LOT, of advice and help from all of those who owns or owned one.

So, if possible, please, please, please do help me out on this:-
1. Currently I am earning RM2600 (excluding commission, bonus, allowance, etc.). So, most of the time my grand total pay, per month, is around RM3000 - RM3500.
2. I am 26, still single, buying my first car, no commitments (yet.... :proud:), no loans to pay, no owing of money anywhere, etc.
3. From my budget, I am planning for a Nissan Skyline R34, 2.5 GTT (or GTS). And of course, I would prefer a new, unregistered one.
4. Which is better; Automatic or Manual transmission? (I can drive both, no problems)
5. Is there a four-door version for sale in Malaysia?
6. Is it advisable for me to get one with my current situation or should I go for a different car model totally?
7. I am staying in the Subang Jaya area. Anyone know a nearby, good car dealer that is trustworthy that you have been dealing with for ages? (I will inform the car dealer of your recommendation)

Thank you. :driver:

1. Currently I am earning RM2600 (excluding commission, bonus, allowance, etc.). So, most of the time my grand total pay, per month, is around RM3000 - RM3500.
2. I am 26, still single, buying my first car, no commitments (yet.... :proud:), no loans to pay, no owing of money anywhere, etc.

Hey bro,

Glad to see more Skyline fans discovering these forums. In order to answer your question, I have to first ask - since you do not have any loans does this mean you own the house that you live in, have some savings and have investments that bring additional income other than your job? Do you use credit cards - that's owing money as well.

I really really really really hate to sound like a jerk but with the recession yet to really hit us, are you sure you want Skyline especially at this point in life? I'm about your age as well, not married thank God but lately I've been thinking of selling my car because it's not the best move financially to own one - maintenance can be substantial and if something breaks well, there goes your savings. Put it this way, your road tax and insurance per year, assuming 0% NCB since you said its your first car will probably equal a months salary. What about installments - or would you pay cash (also not smart cause now cash is best to hold onto).

Again, I apologize to you if I've offended in anyway and to the rest of the guys on these forums. I'm not preaching nor patronizing - God knows most of you have been walking this earth longer than I have. Just lately I've been thinking of the economic downturn and how most people are not prepared for what is yet to come and I keep asking myself why the hell aren't I driving a Suzuki Swift or something cheaper to maintain. Guess all I see is dollars and cents (but apparently not sense :banghead:)

So bro, to answer your question - if I were you - I'd wait awhile and put the car purchase on hold for the moment.

:rolleyes:agreed with pimpin.. but it all up to you.

any VspecII recon for sale ? wats the price.....cant seem to find in motortrader :D

What do you currently drive and is that vehicle fully paid? Is your current car being used to trade-in for the intended Skyline purchase?

Bro STYC.... so from you monthly income around 3-3.5k u wanna buy skyline? i'm agreed with bro [PIMPIN] statement.... but before you proceed, i would like to ask you... how much u think for the installment every month? then your ride need petrol + expenses like toll,food and etc..

do u think enough to cover since u said u're buying ur 1st car... not 2nd or 3rd.. means daily drive.. anyway, juz my 2cents... Think wisely before you regret.. :banghead:

crazy yo... earning 3.5k and thinking of buyin a skyline? bro, dont! what about the maintanence of the car? things u need to repair/change when its old like tyre, timing belt etc etc? roadtax insurance?? hahaha, u clearly have no clue at all.....
my suggestion to u is NO! with that kinda salary, (no disrespects) its best u look at a Myvi or something as u would not have major headaches every month plus u would have some extra cash to pimp out ur Myvi or start saving up money to buy a house as an invesment as u dont want to be a 26year old with no house under ur head... just think wisely...

-no offense-:driver:

bro SYTC,

26 is a critical point in your life, the dream of owning a skyline is a phase... it will pass... but life will continue for us way past 50 (hopefully)... think beyond the next 5 years.... calculate at least 2 years of maintenance, loan repayment + in case u knock some chick up, think of future salary increments, and please do factor in this (if you suddenly lose your job... how many months will you be able to survive?) also do factor in the current recession we r going thru...

I am not here to discourage u in any way... you did ask for advice, this is what I have for u... loan repayments and roadtax + insurance is only the tip of the iceberg!!, modding, maintaining, entertainment, gals... (thats the chunk over there)....U dont wanna be stuck in a situation where u get a lot of attention from gals but u cannot show them a good time coz u spent all ur dough on your car...

Please do consider what i have given above... End of the day decision is in your hands...whatever your decision, it is yours, and be happy with it...

P.S( there is also a positive side to it... it will make you work a lot harder and smarter to earn more $$$, depends how u handle pressure)...

to own a skyline or even any other sportcars,u need at least >rm5k per month bro..just ask from any other skyliners here,hw much do they earn a month..
agree with the rest of the guys here, think wisely,ur petrol,roadtax n insurance,maintenance(at least >1k a month in case of anything happen)...no offense,sorry to say that u should find other car which is cheaper n low maintenance cost=proton/perodua..

or maybe u gonna dump a 100k for a d/p:banghead:???that might be possible for u to get it..
if ur d/p less than 50k with ur mtly earning 3.5k,i dont think there's any bank to approve ur loan.

u need n advice, you are in the right place to ask to..think of ur hard earning money..but if u still wnna get it,its all up to u man.

Thanx for all the advice people. But like I've said:-
1. To sidious, like I've said, this is my first car.
2. I'm not going to use the car to speed or anything. I was thinking of getting the car for its looks. That's all.
3. To Pimpin, I don't believe in credit. So, no credit card and such.
4. And I'm not going to use the car often. Maybe a weekend car or such.
5. Cos' my office is only 10 minutes walk from my home. And yes jeffsandhu, I already own a place to live in, so no worries, I think....:confused:
6. Additionally, I don't have any other commitments (No house loans, or any loans for that matter. Education loan already paid up and such.)
7. To fokyerdoder84, I'll take your advice to heart, but I'm not a spendthrift type of guy. All my money earned goes into my bank. Only once in a blue moon (actually, once a year), I use some of my savings to buy Toy models like Gundam, Armored Core, etc. (Never spend above RM200)
8. And I forgot to inform all of you is that, by February 2009, I will be promoted. So, promotion means, more $$$. :biggrin: (I hope it goes above RM4K)

Once again, I'm not offended by any comments and advice. Instead, I appreciate all of them very much. I'll take all of what you guys have said to heart. And if I say anything up there that is offensive, I'm sorry. Thank you

The rest of the boys have said it and everyone meant well. If you're still interested, then go get one! Skyline is not just a car. You'd wanna scratch that itch when you own a skyline and you'd keep going for more. And if you insist... go get yourself a skyline and get a manual transmission. Auto's only 4 speed and not 5 speed. Future replacements gonna cost you a bomb with autos transmissions. And you can't mod much with your auto transmission.

Good luck!

i think unless you are going to use as a second car
or as a weekend car if u really have extra money and
really want to spend for a skyline....
anyway it really true wat all the guy try to mention
due to current economy crisis and recession
good luck.....

if u think u can spend around rm15000-19000 for d/p and around rm1800 per month installment for the car price, and on top of that, the constant upgrading (MOST BASIC is airfilter n exhaust, speed limiter removal, lowering n some sport rims - these alone will set u back around rm3-4k, sky is the limit if u wish to go more), expensive/exotic alarm system to keep the car with u, expensive tyres (if u stick to buy new principle), insurance (as mentioned by bro PIMPIN) that will halve ur salary, and last but not least, the maintenance that is going to cost a lot if u choose to really take care of ur car with only the best service parts, then u would be okay. go for it.

skyline ownership is not only about having the car in the garage n using it as a daily commute/babe magnet. it is supposed to be DRIVEN and ENJOYED the way the car is designed to. it is not a wild beast to tame or a widowmaker (like the F40 or original GT2), but in my most humble n honest opinion, do buy something more modest as ur first car, maybe an altezza or evo and do keep the skyline as a target in the near future, maybe 1-2 years time. by that time, u will already have a good repayment record with banks which will help in acquiring loan for the car, and i'm sure u will truly appreciate what a skyline is then. that differentiates between a skyline owner n a skyline driver...

p/s i'm not a skyline owner but i do hang around with skyline owners way before i even join zth (and that was quite a while back). used to follow them do trackdays, wangan runs, TTs and i had the opportunity to truly understand what a skyline can do. do join skyline gatherings if u have the time bro. skyline owners are a bunch of true n genuine car enthusiasts which will guide u to the right way.

yeah go get it, once u owe it i m sure u will find ur way around to maintain it. get a manual r34 u wont regret it and welcome to the club.

Bro,

Again, I must apologize if my reply set the tone for the replies this thread has gotten so far. I'm just giving advice from a financial point of view since your initial post included information on your salary, etc so I assumed that cost was a factor in your decision to purchase a Skyline.

I have to point out that you said this was your first car - so what do you drive now? Then you go on to mention that you'll only use it occasionally. I'm sorry but that's a bit silly cause if you have one car I believe you should be able to use it everyday regardless.

I've spent and continue to spend a fair amount on my numerous cars but like you, I have no credit cards neither do I owe the banks anything and I'm not saying that I'm a financial guru - far from it to be honest - but I own properties, businesses and cars outright no debt whatsoever. I'm not telling you this to show-off but the point is that what I spend on cars is excess funds after taxes, charity donations, money to grandmother, bills, etc etc meaning after every single commitment I have to live up to, the left-over cash I use for my hobbies.

So, please don't take this the wrong way, but if you're counting on a promotion which you have no idea will happen just so you can buy the Skyline then I suggest you think long and hard. I think the bros here have said all you need to hear - I hope you listen to them cause they're much older than you and I and have makan garam way before we have.

But should you decide to buy the Skyline, let me be the first to congratulate you on a purchase that will change your life. I hope I speak for the rest when I say that you're more than welcome to join us - with or without a Skyline (hell, I'll take you in my car if you want to experience what it's like but please wear two pairs of undies unless you're used to 300km/h runs :driver:). And I sincerely hope that whatever has been said in this thread does not affect how you feel towards me or any of us in the future when you do join this weird bunch of car-crazy manics. :wavey:

Bump: Bro,

Again, I must apologize if my reply set the tone for the replies this thread has gotten so far. I'm just giving advice from a financial point of view since your initial post included information on your salary, etc so I assumed that cost was a factor in your decision to purchase a Skyline.

I have to point out that you said this was your first car - so what do you drive now? Then you go on to mention that you'll only use it occasionally. I'm sorry but that's a bit silly cause if you have one car I believe you should be able to use it everyday regardless.

I've spent and continue to spend a fair amount on my numerous cars but like you, I have no credit cards neither do I owe the banks anything and I'm not saying that I'm a financial guru - far from it to be honest - but I own properties, businesses and cars outright no debt whatsoever. I'm not telling you this to show-off but the point is that what I spend on cars is excess funds after taxes, charity donations, money to grandmother, bills, etc etc meaning after every single commitment I have to live up to, the left-over cash I use for my hobbies.

So, please don't take this the wrong way, but if you're counting on a promotion which you have no idea will happen just so you can buy the Skyline then I suggest you think long and hard. I think the bros here have said all you need to hear - I hope you listen to them cause they're much older than you and I and have makan garam way before we have.

But should you decide to buy the Skyline, let me be the first to congratulate you on a purchase that will change your life. I hope I speak for the rest when I say that you're more than welcome to join us - with or without a Skyline (hell, I'll take you in my car if you want to experience what it's like but please wear two pairs of undies unless you're used to 300km/h runs :driver:). And I sincerely hope that whatever has been said in this thread does not affect how you feel towards me or any of us in the future when you do join this weird bunch of car-crazy manics. :wavey:

Greetings to all,

To brother Pimpin, no worries. I'm not offended by anything you said. After all, I am the one asking for advice and all, and of course, there will be criticisms and such. So, don't worry about it. :biggrin:

I've even gone through what everyone has said at least 3 times. By the looks of it, I will be buying a Skyline, but not soon. Hopefully, in the very near future, probably after my promotion.

So, once again, thank you to all, for your great advice and patience :adore: .

i aso thinking if i shud buy a skyline....If u wan cheaper price get a R33....Its just as nice as the R34.>!!:wavey: