Bumpy ride at the back seats

evoace

bros,

My car is 3 yrs old, the ride of my car back seats is bumpy...like it is very sensitive, little little up and down. I have changed my tyres and check my pressure too and its fine. I even change my absorbers. The mechanic said my rubbers fittings are fine too. The ride has improved but has a little bit.

Wats wrong?

Can anyone help?

driving a camry 2.4liter? not enough info lar.. please provide the following information before anyone will have a clue on what is going on:

-rim size
-tire brand and spec
-spring rate
-absorber brand and spec
-modification done

but as a general info, from my personal experience, by putting heavy stuff in the rear trunk of the car, the car's rear part kind of stabilize, and less bumpy when drive on bumpy road. This method applies for pickup truck with leaf spring as well. but heavy stuff = more FC.

how does heavy weight at rear helps reduce the bumpiness??... each time when i fetch friends at the back, my rear tends to be more bumpy wo... hmm...

SkYwAlKeR said:
how does heavy weight at rear helps reduce the bumpiness??... each time when i fetch friends at the back, my rear tends to be more bumpy wo... hmm...

your friends must be very fat? lol u know y.....because those like water beloon once bounce doink doink doink.......so make it more bumpy?

lolz... no idea la... mayb they purposely jump up and down at the rear seat without my knowledge....

rollakid said:
driving a camry 2.4liter? not enough info lar.. please provide the following information before anyone will have a clue on what is going on:

-rim size
-tire brand and spec
-spring rate
-absorber brand and spec
-modification done

but as a general info, from my personal experience, by putting heavy stuff in the rear trunk of the car, the car's rear part kind of stabilize, and less bumpy when drive on bumpy road. This method applies for pickup truck with leaf spring as well. but heavy stuff = more FC.

Yes I'm driving a camry 2.4, everything is std spec. current tyres are Mich 215/60/16 oso stock spec.

can it be the wheel balancing not rite?

balancing does not contribute to ur bouncy ride.balancing is to ensure that ur tyres are "balanced" so that after about 60++ km/h you will not feel wobbly-ness.

Fluffy said:
balancing does not contribute to ur bouncy ride.balancing is to ensure that ur tyres are "balanced" so that after about 60++ km/h you will not feel wobbly-ness.

well if it isnt the wheel balancing or the rims, then what is wrong?

do u have anything heavy in the rear bonnet?if u do,throw em' out.

could be ur springs.but its only 3years old.

what abs did u change to?when did it wear out?

fluffy said:

strange.. i put more stuff in the back to make it less bumpy, same for my car, and my uncle do the same thing for his pickup truck.

reason for my car i have no idea lar, but the reason for that pickup truck is because the rear spring is designed to carry alot of stuff at the back. so without anything at the back, the spring is abit too stiff for the weight, thus bumpy. carry aditional 200kg at the back makes big big difference, the rear end very stable and when hit a pothole or a bump it won't jump as much.

i still think the best way is to try and empty boot and a fully loaded boot to test lar.. but then normal driving people won't want to have heavy things at the back. however, bumpy is better than too soft ler.. i don't feel safe at all in soft rides, go over 120km/h car felt like lifting off.. wooble wooble..

Fluffy said:

could be ur springs.but its only 3years old.

what abs did u change to?when did it wear out?

The abs is std...toyota original abs.

erm..is ur car got lowered from ori spec, even u didn lowered, but a soften spring can make ur car lower than ori..and it create a greater pressure to the abs..thus the abs will keep bump up when it can..(after road bump)

i found this from my car...while useing stock abs(longer stroke) with sport spring (lowered), my car bumpy..but after i add a rubber to the spring there to make it higher, no more bumpy...and the spring is a bit harder than ori..so now it's almost perfect..but due to my car always heavy loaded, my abs spoil again..sigh

btw, mostly bumpy is because of heavy load...but it depend on the matching of the abs, sping and car weight.....

so, bumpy is it because the shocks arent stiff enough??...

as for my case, i'm using lowered springs... should i change to gas charged oem height shocks or short stroke abs??.... i wanna reduce the bumpiness and achieve some comfort in my car....

The bumpiness is b4 I changed the abs and tyres. It has improved after the changed but is still there. Everything is std, I didnt change anything. The sensation is felt when the car is travelling above 40km/h on a straight road. It feels like little ups and downs (body goes ups and downs) just like you are sitting in a rear of a bus . I sat on my my friend's camry, the ride is smooth but mine is different.

Can it be the roll over bars?

skywalker. not really because not stiff enuff....if the shock are being push (like my car with lowered spring without additional rubber) then it will be damn bumpy...

actually it's because of the compression of the abs....u think of it...the abs are harder and harder when it being compressed from beginning to the end....same theory...when u lowered, it will become harder also..and it will bounce back when ur car goes up on eneven road.then fall back to the lowered height and bounce back it the road still uneven..so u will feel bumpy..and the response of the abs will faster and create all those noise on ur ride..,,,,

if u wan comfort, get local GAB...i m using it for front...i know it got better performance and it's quite comfort also....

but for me, i rather dun lowered so much, then using gas abs...even u change to short stroke, it's still being press when u pair with lowered spring ...and it still bumpy.
find another spring tat are stiffer a bit like say 0.5 / 1kg and lowered alittle bit from oem spring, and using gas abs..short or long depend on u like. tat will be my suggestion...

..if u got the rubber, then u add in into ur current spring...no more bumpy ride...

evoace said:
The bumpiness is b4 I changed the abs and tyres. It has improved after the changed but is still there. Everything is std, I didnt change anything. The sensation is felt when the car is travelling above 40km/h on a straight road. It feels like little ups and downs (body goes ups and downs) just like you are sitting in a rear of a bus . I sat on my my friend's camry, the ride is smooth but mine is different.

Can it be the roll over bars?

the bumpy u say means it;s fast bump or slow bump? or is it the car like a bit floating like boat?

if fast bump, then can cause by ur abs too stiff, ur tyre too thin (45/50) or ur tyre compound too hard......

if slow bump like slowly go up and down, then may be abs too soft, tyre too thick with soft compound.....

mind let me know the tyre size?

change different spring rating??... i wish too... haha... no money ler... now using kimex lowered springs only... dunno what rating also.... the boss never tell me anything about spring rating also...

GAB good??... i heard some previous user said that GAB shocks are kinda bumpy... thats why i feeling doubt about it...

Write your reply...