BMW 318 coupe engine swap

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
Dear all,

I have recently spike of interest to swap a better engine into my BMW 318ci (E46). My concern is with JPJ endorsement that now restricts me to swap an engine which its capacity is way over the limits. For e.g, dumping a 3.0L engine into my BMW's engine bay. So far has any BMW bros done this conversion or just stick to 2.0L range?

Thanks,

You can try see got any crank that fits to stroke the capacity bigger using same block. I know there was older model that did it but it was quite a while back....

Aikssss....Then how those car do it? I mean, they just illegal drive it out? They cant have road tax or insurance?
Well, there is the legal way, illegal way and the legal illegal way........hhahahhahahahhahaha:biggrin:

Even some high cc cars are being registered in Sabah (lower road tax rate) and used in West Malaysia and actually is illegal but there are people still doing it....:rolleyes:

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Well, there is the legal way, illegal way and the legal illegal way........hhahahhahahahhahaha:biggrin:

Even some high cc cars are being registered in Sabah (lower road tax rate) and used in West Malaysia and actually is illegal but there are people still doing it....:rolleyes:

Malaysia BOLEH!!!!:rofl::rofl:

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
u could go for 320i 2.2cc engine 6 pot
Is this engine from the other E46 coupe models as well? If could i would like to transplant with gearbox. SMG or Manual gearboxes. But i think manual gearboxes for E46 is hard to source.

You prefer to run on NA only? Because i have seen some that run on a 1JZ engine.
Yup, i prefer NA :). Or perhaps i would supercharged the new engine with Mini Cooper S supercharger kit. Since Mini Cooper is made by BMW anyways.

ken yeang

Malaysia BOLEH!!!!:rofl::rofl:
More accurately, the KOPI-KO power.....
Kopi money makes thing "work", in strange way.....

to make things work, there should be kopi server and kopi drinker......:biggrin:

ken yeang

The more demanding the situation, the more "kaw" the kopi should be.....:biggrin:

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
If you wish, you can try replacing the current 1.8L 4-cyl to a 2.0L 6-cyl M50, get it endorsed and later either:
- stay with the engine series specific and build towards an M50 2.8L
- or replace the 6-cyl with say a M54 3.0L and have the engine stamped to reflect the M50 series

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
If you wish, you can try replacing the current 1.8L 4-cyl to a 2.0L 6-cyl M50, get it endorsed and later either:
- stay with the engine series specific and build towards an M50 2.8L
- or replace the 6-cyl with say a M54 3.0L and have the engine stamped to reflect the M50 series
Hello Tom,

I have my sight set on a 6cyl M43 which produces 170bhp, its another engine for the e46 coupe as well. Sadly i think this engine is pretty rare, can be found on most UK spec BMWs. The M50 was the base for S50 engine it appears. Great suggestion, however how hard is it to find such engine?

!!!need help about custom car approval

all sifu out there or any 1 experiance
do i need JPJ approval after i fix some custom made body kits(car look different then original e.g. kenari mod to accord) to use it on the road???:Not_Impressed: