Beware - Handphone Chargers

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
Dear ZTH members,

Just becareful when u purchase 'compatible' handphone chargers. Recently my Dopod D810 charger went kaput, so i bought a 'compatible' charger. One night, i was in the living room while my son was sleeping. I heard popping sound, like u know, CNY red mercun like that. Pap pap pap.. to my horror, the bloody charger was shorting and small sparks were flying out of it.

Really, it's not worth it. Just buy ORI. I went to 2 shops and they say ' no stock ' so i thought 'compatible' chargers are the same. I was so damn wrong. Luckily things were under control. I do not know what will happen if the nearby curtain was set on fire by the sparks.

Anyway, i was charging the phone via USB cable through my laptop... by the time i had the chance to go looking for an ori charger, the phone died. 2 years, purchased at RM2995.00, it died. Stupid ass-wiped taiwanese phones.

Next time u wanna buy imitation / compatible chargers.. THINK AGAIN!

thanks bro. i agree with you about dopod real piece of work these fellows. my charger died and battery change 3 times.

how bout u take the charger a send back to the shop n complain...or charge infront them...give them see your "firework"..

suBRA kaler too garang creating sparks, thats y dont spray so HOT kalers :biggrin:

no offense meant ........ but i'm using a HTC , which used to manufacture for Dopod, if not mistaken, and had a similar bad experience.

the physical QWERTY keyboard ...... some buttons have to press lightly, some buttons have to pound on it , touch screen sensitivity is very uneven ...... and somehow, the OS (windows mobile 6.1) takes up so much system overhead, it practically LAGS 1 second after any button is pressed.

Smartphones = high in features, low in efficiency.

vagabond: I'm using blackberry bold now... it's great...

no offense meant ........ but i'm using a HTC , which used to manufacture for Dopod, if not mistaken, and had a similar bad experience.

the physical QWERTY keyboard ...... some buttons have to press lightly, some buttons have to pound on it , touch screen sensitivity is very uneven ...... and somehow, the OS (windows mobile 6.1) takes up so much system overhead, it practically LAGS 1 second after any button is pressed.

Smartphones = high in features, low in efficiency.

i am using samsung so far ok...

but i agree smartphones do give probs... mostly...

thanx for the reminder on the charger... patut la my bro bought a spare original charger....

im using e71.....currently no lags or whatsoever....using it for a month already....

user friendly and easy jump from my ol' N95 phone i used

tbh compatible chargers also got grade , but compatible or OEM doesn't come with warranty , therefore there's a risk ,

if you are using an OEM or compatible charger , DO NOT CHARGE OVERNIGHT , then shld be ok provided you bought a better grade of OEM chargers , how i know ? coz i semi-own a HP shop ...

agree with liz@rd,not all compatible charger not good

just to be on the safe side dun use compatible charger overnight or leave it unattended

sorry for ur dopod man..just bcoz the cheap charger,u lost:boxing: thousand..

thanks for the info,better get from authorized dealer..:top:

Dear ZTH members,

Just becareful when u purchase 'compatible' handphone chargers. Recently my Dopod D810 charger went kaput, so i bought a 'compatible' charger. One night, i was in the living room while my son was sleeping. I heard popping sound, like u know, CNY red mercun like that. Pap pap pap.. to my horror, the bloody charger was shorting and small sparks were flying out of it.

Really, it's not worth it. Just buy ORI. I went to 2 shops and they say ' no stock ' so i thought 'compatible' chargers are the same. I was so damn wrong. Luckily things were under control. I do not know what will happen if the nearby curtain was set on fire by the sparks.

Anyway, i was charging the phone via USB cable through my laptop... by the time i had the chance to go looking for an ori charger, the phone died. 2 years, purchased at RM2995.00, it died. Stupid ass-wiped taiwanese phones.

Next time u wanna buy imitation / compatible chargers.. THINK AGAIN!

I think the problem is the original charger, it always kaput, my HTC original charger gone case right after the warranty period over, and I'm always using USB for charging, was looking for original HTC charger, same answer like your experience, "no stock".

PS: my HTC touch died also within 2 years, purchased at RM2,000.00

bro.. blackberry bold compares to e71.. which 1 better ek? .. thx =D

i'm using E71 now, but I think BlackBerry BOLD has an upper hand,

BOLD has only 2MP camera, E71 has 3MP, but I have the feeling that photo from BOLD is better than E71.

the only drawback maybe is BlackBerry can't install GARMIN or not much free software available :biggrin: (but blackberry has it own MAPS software, just that not sure if it's free to use)