best shops for ICE..

linges316 said:
in KKlau, The Full Alpine system (1 HU(9847), 4 channel amp, pair of 2 way speakers and 12" sub)
- cost(inc.installation) - RM5750

in CV Audio, (1 Alpine HU which is 9856, Rogers 4 channel amp, pair of Edent 2 way speakers, 1 Magnate Monoblock and 12" JL Audio Sub)
- cost(inc. installation) - RM5950

this is the actual brand written above.....that is in my budget....do you think i should go to any other shops to get other quotations......

Linges316,

It is very difficult to comment on the offers that you get as models/specs are not stated. The offer by CV may be good but what are the specs of the amps, woofer and speakers. Do you mean Magnat or Magnate amp? If Magnate, then it is cap ayam. You can count Alpine for reliablity (that is one of the reason why Alpine is more expensive):_:

soundstream30 said:
bro..
i need ur help..

can u give me adress for kk lau shop

or any recommend for other place in cheras or anyshop near in my place pandan indah??

anyone caan help me..???
:cry_smile:

Cheras area, then you can try Sound Quest, same row with Maybank nearby the Leisure mall.
If you can extand to kuchai, I know there have two nice ICE shop there as well..

Happy hunting ......

kyheng said:
Wah, now I become selfish people, I don't mind if you say like this. But before you flame me, ............................... The skills also by mouth talking? Come on, don't make people laugh how stupid are you, is still the same thing, looking for job, selling ICE or whatever things that have money transactions. Is all the same for nowadays, in this society. People won't know if a certain product is good without a paper or cert.
Back to ICE, who will not know if spend rm10-20k for ICE can get a so-called good system. But some people tends to have low budget or only willing to spend a certain limit. Is it always buy high ends product can come out good sound? This question will not have an exact answer, it is more towards individual's taste.
Some middle range acc shops also can gives us good sound if tune properly within a certain budget.

If you do not wish ppl to flame you, then stop using the attacking word in your reply.
If you wish ppl to respect you, you should at least respect other .. just ny 2 cents ..
Also, I am a bit confuse, you prefer mid range shop, which, is yor own preference..and you disagree on high end shop.. due to their above average pricing ......
but then, you demand for recognization, certification .....
For those shop who were certified, obviously, they have to charge a service fee which is aligned with their certification .. and then.. thats sotong ..

Maybe if you can find a mid range shop, which offering competative price for product and exelent tuning skill with reasonable tuning fee, you can perhaps share it to all members here ..

Lastly, if my reply offending you, my apology to u in advance.

devil said:
Cheras area, then you can try Sound Quest, same row with Maybank nearby the Leisure mall.
If you can extand to kuchai, I know there have two nice ICE shop there as well..

Happy hunting ......

Yup, as I said ealier SoundQuest, Cheras (Mr Jerry).... Ampang area If I not mistaken JS Audio.. (current Higher SPL Record Holder-Malaysia 176db, 1pc Sub)..

kyheng, you still did not understand.... If you are distributor company & I manufacturer, let say Lightning Audio... I give you solely distributor licences for Malaysia market but with 1 condition.. you need to sale my product 100K unit in 1 year than you are granted 2 years more renewal as my disrtibutor.. If you failed. I will revoke the licences & give to another company... Some distributor just gamble in their position... They will order 100K unit in 1 year.. but to get back the cost has been spend will take 3 or 4 years... that why you can see old stock/model still in our market/shop even the product has been discontinued.. In 1st year you will think they make money coz they can sale at higher price.. actually they can not recover the cost has been spend before.. lately we see certain product/brand have change their distributor, this 1 of the reason..

devil said:

Happy hunting ......

No offense but personally I think Soundquest do charge quite exorbitantly although they are quite profesional. If you have some sort of 'che kai' (cap ayam) sound system, they seems to be a bit reluctant do entertain you especially on tuning. Otherwise, they may propose u change this and change that and finally u end up poorer.:cry_smile: Well, it's your choice anyway.

Yes, I still don't understand on 1 thing, what is the price I get when I'm a distributer. Being as a sole distributor, certain terms and condition I must meet, such as take a certain amount of amps for a certain period of time, providing after sales service and warranties. Since the brand Lightning Audio brought up, so I will use this brand. In US, the price can be as cheap as USD65(rm240) for a B300.4. As they have to pay duty fees and tax in Malaysia around 40% from the price of rm240, so when reach Malaysia the amp is rm336 + shipping rm24(10%) = rm360. Then when selling at the rack in an acc shop in Seremban, the price tagged at rm2300. For your info, Lightning Audio is 100% manufactured in China. I have bought amps from US before, so roughly I know the tax imposed to me. Correct me if wrong. So what is the profit margin for the amp? 2300/360 = ~6.3. So if this profit margin divided into 2 between distributor and acc shop, how much they are getting if this is the case? This is when we getting 1 amp, if buying in bulk of 100, it will become cheaper, is this true?
As Devil said, I have to respect people first before people respect me. But I only telling some dirty facts behind all this then I was called selfish. Who is right and who is wrong? And for people to recognize us, is it just by mouth talking say that we won several awards or have a master degree? Is also no right? Some cert and paper we must have in hand to show that our statements is true. If this is called not respecting others, I really don't know what to say.
In Seremban, there are few shops that we can count onto, these shops are in Jalan Rahang area, 1 is in Temiang. They offer some cheap but value for money amps and others.
Execelent skills? This is too subjective. It vary from people to people. For same tuning maybe i say is great and you will say is bad.

nicholaslkh said:
No offense but personally I think Soundquest do charge quite exorbitantly although they are quite profesional. If you have some sort of 'che kai' (cap ayam) sound system, they seems to be a bit reluctant do entertain you especially on tuning. Otherwise, they may propose u change this and change that and finally u end up poorer.:cry_smile: Well, it's your choice anyway.

so far I do not hv such problem. maybe I know what I want, i went there, and they give me reasonable price on the product.
Installer is very subjective, some might have proboem with installer A, but some forumers might have no problem with they.
the most important is, talk to them, if you are comfortable with them pick them as your installer, if not, go for another one .. afterall, we r the one who paid for it ..

hi linges316,

imo, there are no "best" ice shops, every single one will take d opportunity
to maximize it's profit. ice shops can only be "good", "so-so" and "bad".

take the advice offered earlier; look around for more options before you leap.
get the feel of the prices. then go back to d installer which you are most
comfortable with. negotiate further, another few percent or so. wait for a
few hours and enjoy your ice... i think you will get a pretty decent set up
for RM6K.

cheers.

linges316 said:
in KKlau, The Full Alpine system (1 HU(9847), 4 channel amp, pair of 2 way speakers and 12" sub)
- cost(inc.installation) - RM5750

in CV Audio, (1 Alpine HU which is 9856, Rogers 4 channel amp, pair of Edent 2 way speakers, 1 Magnate Monoblock and 12" JL Audio Sub)
- cost(inc. installation) - RM5950

this is the actual brand written above.....that is in my budget....do you think i should go to any other shops to get other quotations......

spending RM6k and get Rogers amp, edent spkrs & magnate amp are kind of too expensive for the money.

on kk lau, what is the model & brand of the amp, speakers & subs that the shop is offering?

alot thing you need to think...

1) Personel Cost:- 30%-40%
- Salary, Overtime, Bonus, EPF, Gratuity, Socso, Medical Expen & Insurance
2) After sale services & Warranty = 100%
3) Income tax
4) Donation/Sponsorship = 10%-15%
5) Transportation/postage = 10%
6) Office/Store maintenance = 10%-15%
7) Operation Cost = 20%-30%
8) Staff/Dealer Technical Trainning/Seminar = 50%
9) Import & sale tax = 40% + 10%
10) Local Player market price
11) Dividend for Share Holder
12) Currency Exchange rate
13) Director/External Auditor fee
15) ICT
16) & alot thing - can not write here lorr

When you direct import from overseas, you only have item no: 5 & 9... pleased be remind warranty did not provide by MANUFACTURER but 100% Distributor Respondbility..

oldskolboyz said:
alot thing you need to think...

When you direct import from overseas, you only have item no: 5 & 9... pleased be remind warranty did not provide by MANUFACTURER but 100% Distributor Respondbility..

which means, distributor hv to folk out more money to retain the stock ... or send the amp for repair under their own cost ....
And that amount .... is a large amount of money ...

anyway, the guy seems to be holding his own view very very strong, maybe we should just go back to the thread discussion instead huh .. hehe

Good estimation you have, but some are not true, as some cost is bare by distributor(1,2,3,4,6,7,9,11,12,13,15) and acc shops(5,8)
2. If every amp that sold to acc shops will send back for warranty and service, then this distributer will close down within 1 month already. But this is not always happen, less than 10% on average unless that batch really have problem. When this happens, distributor will not bare all the cost, but will send back to manufacture for warranty, the most is lost on transportation fees.
3. When submitting income tax, all the items above(1,2,4,5,6,7,9,11,13,15) is put under rebate as this is the cost for running the business. My wife is doing business now, so I know it. Unless a certain distributor is clever enough to give all his money to government.
10. As a distributor, sure he will charge a certain amount of money as he want to gain first. So if said the amp after all the cost is rm400, sure he will sell to acc shop at price of above rm400 and charge transportation fees to acc shops. So the cost for acc shop will be rm400+distributor's gain + transportation. Then acc shops will sell at a price that they will not lost.

dun flame me...

i think both of you are correct one way or d other.
but it's not helping our ah ling to decide which shop to go.

take it easy...

Kippo said:
spending RM6k and get Rogers amp, edent spkrs & magnate amp are kind of too expensive for the money.

on kk lau, what is the model & brand of the amp, speakers & subs that the shop is offering?

kippo san,

i agree that RM6K at d first glance quoted by CV is expensive.
but, ah ling mentioned "inclusive of installation"...

perhaps, ah ling could also describe a little how the installation
is done and advice us the rca and speakers cables that CV had
offered. then we all can have our final say.

anyway, a rough estimate for the equipment alone is already
around RM4.8K - RM5.0K

cheers.

6K budget ....
Assuming that is the max of the money he can folk out ..
for proper and nice installation, he got to take out following from his 6K budget
480 - carbon fiber for mid + tweeter
170 - normal speaker wires and rca (varies if go for better quality cables and rca)
100 - installation and tuning charges.
so, his total budget for equipment is limit to RM5250.

For a start, I would recom him to divert money to equipment then cabling, not that is not important, but better equipment first, and later if serious about ice, then only go into cabling .. then if really got extra money .. then proofing ...

my 2 cents ..

Since he got so much money to spend, as a newbie, he should list down all the things that he going to buy, start from HU till sub, what type of installations. As he go now is a 'pro shop', he should ask the first man to do the job, not the trainees to do the job. This is like when you step in to big restaurant and willing to spend more for a dinner, but will you ask the trainee that know less to prepare food for you?
Anyway rm170 for normal speakers and RCA cable is kind a too cheap, unless is 1 RCA and short lenght of wires used. This will normally cost rm400-500 for a 'pro shop'. As OFC wires is used what, unless he opt for red and black wires.
If I were him, I will survey more first before decide to buy a full Alpine set. I think he have the budget, but don't know what is his goal on ICE.

just curious......
can you list some of the "pro-shops" in klang valley ar???
how do you rate it as "pro-shop"??

devil said:
which means, distributor hv to folk out more money to retain the stock ... or send the amp for repair under their own cost ....
And that amount .... is a large amount of money ...

anyway, the guy seems to be holding his own view very very strong, maybe we should just go back to the thread discussion instead huh .. hehe

Last time laa, go to audit 2 or 3 our client company... that they answer with several black & white agreement... that why they create inhouse technical dept... repair & service done by them itself... but their technical ppl always forgoten about himself... after this company invest/spend afew thousand send/give them training/knowledge they left this company & create another company with provide repair & services... so bad... With their knowledge, they can manipulate alot thing.. let say.. your 2ch amp is Orion.. got 1ch burn.. if they can not find/get ori chip or capacitor to replace it... What they do.. they use others brand like RF or Alpine chip or capacitor with same value to replace it.. this can cost U double coz need change above ch (left & right) to make it balance...

All products bring to our market come with several agreement, just afew I remeber laa..

1) buy bundle at offer price but warranty at own respondbility....
2) buy bundle at distributor price + warranty, any cost repair/service manufacturer respondbility..
3) buy bundle at distributor price + warranty, only manufacturer allowed to repair .. this only on certain product.. normally very expensive product..

for Authorized Dealer also have several offer made by Distributor..

1) Buy 5 unit, got free 1 unit
2) Buy 20 unit, 20%-25% discount
3) buy 100 unit, price can nego (based per unit)
4) buy at offer price.. item sale not returnable

I'm oledi talk to much & alot secret has been spread.... I will stop here.. scared when I go home..somene waiting at my gate.........

kyheng, rebate only allowed on certain transaction & approved by Goverment like donation to register NGO, Cancer Ass, JKM, training organized by certain Intitution has been approved by Goverment (Only for Staff).. OPERATION COST is not under rebate or deductable component... Incometax is 28% from your Chargerable Income... after capital allowance adjustment.....

Wah, thanks for remind me, so actually my wife is cheating IRB on this rebate on operating cost and other sponsorships. But 1 thing very funny is, when my wife submit the income tax form, all this can be rebate, start from rental till petrol, even cars also can get rebate. And IRB approves all the rebates, never reject. So is this IRB's mistake? That's why I ask in the first place what car they are driving?
On the offer price, there are other offer that will make the dealer and distributors take more, such as if can clear the amount within certain time frame, will get another 10%. Like pc printers, the company will give free flight tickets to dealer that take 1000 with cheap price but have to pay cash. Warranty is still there but for 1year. As now all the products in the market are very competative, so every dealer and distributor will try to get the supplies cheap and more companies setup factories in countries that offer cheap labours to reduce total cost in order to sustain their market penetration in market.
How I define 'pro shop'? In Seremban, those shops that are selling expensive brands and with people's atitude that work there.