best intake manifold

ohhhhhhhhh icic~
eh bro what damn tat head u bought for rm500 come wif the gsr cams,valves,valve springs,retainers,cam pulley etc from gsr?? the gsr head and 4g93 head got wat diff ler other than the intake port is bigger than 4g93?

westcoast,
i forgot to measure the valves when i had rebuilt my engine. but it is claimed that the valve ports are slightly larger as well. the only thing that i measured was the lift of the cams and they were the same, i have no idea what was the cam degree.

just to be safe, use your 4G93P cams with the GSR head. all other items are similar from a visual inspection. remember to bleed the lash adjusters. or else you will get that irritating 'tack tack tack' noise when your engine's running.

hmm...tat means the 500 u spend comes with all those head stuff like cam,valves,retainers,cam pulley and all stuff tat is inside the head as well rite?
yo what damn mind to tel me what engine u running and wat mod u've done? willing to learn more from koko ^^

Can all 4g9x series intake manifold be plug and play?? How much diff in size?? Is it worth it in the first place?

Hmm.

I think some of you misunderstood. Adjustable cam pullies not sure can adjust ignition timing but can adjust cam timing.

Ignition timing can be affected in two ways.

1. by adjusting your distributor.
2. by getting a piggy back computer to do it.

I used a mechanics arm and his wrench and a strobe light to set my ignition timing to static 7 degrees. This HOWEVER does not mean it is properly putting out its maximum amount of power, to do that you need a piggy back to sort the fueling and the ignition timing to get the most out of the engine.

I am using a Mivec intake/inlet manifold. But i am also using Mivec heads on my car not stock 4G93P head therefore the ports on the 4G92 Mivec engine are bigger and they match up (i'm assuming). The intake manifold of the 4G92 Mivec should be around 60mm along with the Mivec throttlebody (need confirmation on this).

Either way once i put the Intake/inlet manifold and throttle body from a Mivec in i noticed a difference but not until i re-adjusted my ignition and fueling (SAFC). I went from 141 to 150 at the wheel horsepower. If i had a full piggy back i might have seen 155 maybe ....

dear bro deacon
u mean the runner outlet of the inlet manifold from mivec is larger than my stock 4g93's too rite? therefore if i didnt change to mivec head can i jz plug and play without bore-ing my 4g93 head inlet port?? yea heard mivec tb is 60mm n my 4g93's stock tb is approximately around 54mm but i jz plug n play (installed mivec tb without any bore job done to my stock inlet manifold oso can wor..jz maybe havent unleashead the full potential) so far i oso can feel car got more POWDERFUL in higher revs.
oh ya deacon koko ur afc cant tune ur ignition 1 ma rite? so u mean u jz simply ask an experienced mech to set the ignition timing for u? wow u taught me sth new i havent heard any of tat and never thought the distributor could have unleash a few more extra horsepower for us too(wont mind if it's very little improvement since it wont cost us anythn to free out horsepower by tat way) heh!!

oh ya bro deacon what do we call that? i mean ask our mech to adjust distributor for us will do? they understand?

I think Whatdamn answered the questions about the inlet/intake manifold when applying a mivec tb to a 4g93p intake/inlet manifold.

Just ask your mechanic to adjust your ignition timing lah hehe.

SAFC can not adjust ignition but you will need it's help because you will need more fuel if you tune i too high.

bro what damn is using gsr inlet manifold while deacon is using mivec 1..so any guys out there who have pic of both the manifolds to show all of us here wat's the actual diff between this 2 stuffs? any1 willing to contribute to this thread? ^^

Umm take a look at a 4G93P manifold it's the same as the Mivec manifold but the inside is different lah

if ur using the 4G93P, it does not have a distributor. therefore you adjust the ignition timing at the cam angle sensor.

Uh actually no. 4G93P engines do have distributor cap.

GSR intake is slighter shorter and bigger in diameter by few mm.

I've used both intakes on my SOHC 4G92.

Not sure about MIVEC 4G92, but for SOHC version, you need to machine a pc of groumet to close off the EGR jacket at the head.

My 4G92 SOHC engine was Turbocharged, so I went for biggest manifold I could find (MIVEC overbore 65MM T/B + GSR intake)

For NA engines, need to maintain V/E. THerefore, going for the biggest and shortest intake is not that good an idea (unless matched with complimenting cams, extractors, gear ratios, A/F, etc)

how much did it cost you to overbore your inlet manifold? and how the heck did you manage 65mm on the TB? the guys in NZ can only manage 63mm.. must be a damn pro job.

yo what damn ur so kind to contribute for this thread love ya!
okok i'l be waiting for ur post lah
eh if can get mivec inlet manifold as well lar..hehe.. >. oh oh oso measure the diff and state it on the pic thx ya koko

bro deacon we can adjust ignition timing on the distributor cap? izit an easy job to be done? need an experinced enuf mech to do tat? will have any harm or cons to our machine for long term? like side affects? sowee ask so much noobie here

Umm it's the same as what i described on page 3

GSR intake is slighter shorter and bigger in diameter by few mm.

I've used both intakes on my SOHC 4G92.

Not sure about MIVEC 4G92, but for SOHC version, you need to machine a pc of groumet to close off the EGR jacket at the head.

My 4G92 SOHC engine was Turbocharged, so I went for biggest manifold I could find (MIVEC overbore 65MM T/B + GSR intake)

For NA engines, need to maintain V/E. THerefore, going for the biggest and shortest intake is not that good an idea (unless matched with complimenting cams, extractors, gear ratios, A/F, etc)

waa...joeker,4g92p turbo ar???how much hp u manage to achieve with ur
bot???mind sharing???what turbo r u using???

westcoast,
sorry for the delay, internet was down last night...but anyway, here it is.
DSC00421.jpg

DSC00422.jpg

from the pics, you can clearly see the different runner lengths and also the additional EGR runner and valve on the 4G93P intake manifold.

pls note that if you do purchase the 93T manifold, make sure you get the bracket that sits between the underside of the intake manifold and the engine block because your original one won't fit unless you machine spacers to fill in the gap in between, almost an inch between it.