B-series outputting more than 300hp.

shiro, i'm staying nearby to sunway.. n always in sunway but never hear any news bout it...

last time got one b-series oso with 300whp...
now he rebuild back the engine...
if not mistaken the owner name is udeng... not sure what is his last name...
now he targetting 350whp...
but the problem is he only drive his car from home to his office n its only about 5km distance... when ppl ask for game he will refuse n say his car no traction... hahahaha

lol... hahaha.. well, the tuner is japanese, so I'm sure you can dig up enough info from that.

no laa.. if the owner dun want to reveal it then it shud be ok...
no need to dig out the story....

now only waiting for udeng's new machine...
his tuner made in malaysia only...

mie, from ganu also can spend time online ka....thought u playing with your new baby... hehehe

shiro, with 300hp, how reliable the engine would be. i guess it wouldnt last very long right, must open up and check every few months perhaps, if not weeks

I wouldn't say not reliable, another one made slightly lower hp (250-260ish whp/280+hp on engine) without ITBs.. near similar setup (currently into it's second year, only minor maintainance stuff.), after all, it's running sleeves rated for 1000hp boosted setups, so no chance of cracking the sleeves. Currently not sure if the ITB contributes to the performance or not, but it is the only difference between the two setups.

But the engine can be considered reliable, but maintainance has to be done occasionally, but it's not that major, like needing to strip the engine or something. But it will come, that's the expense of pushing the engine to the limits when the an average(non-vtec) 2L only makes about half of the hp.The crank bearings will probably see more wear, but that depends on if the car is constantly abused or not. But naturally this engine does not use OEM parts, so it's rather sturdy, IMO.

Back to topic, I couldn't believe it at first too when I first heard it.
The torque output is insane on this one as you can see.

Now that I've got the chart, the rev limit is 9K confirmed, and as you can see, it wasn't just one run. This is the 6th and final run.

Well, a 2nd ITB setup coming soon, so we'll see how it compares to a non ITB unit, whether it's the ITBs or not.

No scanners 4 now, so you guys just have to be satisfied with crappy phone photos.

click to enlarge

I wouldn't say not reliable, another one made slightly lower hp (250-260ish whp/280+hp on engine) without ITBs.. near similar setup (currently into it's second year, only minor maintainance stuff.), after all, it's running sleeves rated for 1000hp boosted setups, so no chance of cracking the sleeves. Currently not sure if the ITB contributes to the performance or not, but it is the only difference between the two setups.

But the engine can be considered reliable, but maintainance has to be done occasionally, but it's not that major, like needing to strip the engine or something. But it will come, that's the expense of pushing the engine to the limits when the an average(non-vtec) 2L only makes about half of the hp.The crank bearings will probably see more wear, but that depends on if the car is constantly abused or not. But naturally this engine does not use OEM parts, so it's rather sturdy, IMO.

Now that I've got the chart, the rev limit is 9K confirmed, and as you can see, it wasn't just one run. This is the 6th and final run.

Well, a 2nd ITB setup coming soon, so we'll see how it compares to a non ITB unit, whether it's the ITBs or not.

No scanners 4 now, so you guys just have to be satisfied with crappy phone photos.

click to enlarge

the vtech point look like engage at 8k rpm n end to 9 k rpm
if this car dyno at MelXXum motorsports its not to believe so much from my experience i have doing compare between melXXum n jc asia at the same days different 30 whp n nothings have touch on the same setup
if more higher HP car dunno got more much different or not but this only experience from my self lar..
for my self HP on graph was no important the most important was respond or the car when u full throttle/part throttle respond to giving smooths driving

the vtech point look like engage at 8k rpm n end to 9 k rpm
if this car dyno at MelXXum motorsports its not to believe so much from my experience i have doing compare between melXXum n jc asia at the same days different 30 whp n nothings have touch on the same setup
if more higher HP car dunno got more much different or not but this only experience from my self lar..
for my self HP on graph was no important the most important was respond or the car when u full throttle/part throttle respond to giving smooths driving

It's dyno'ed at Links, heard the HPI dyno is a bit heavy and gives low readings...

And as you can see, the torque at the low end to midrange is very good. the ITB helps I think. The torque curve is nearly flat. 210Nm at 2K, and about 250-280Nm. at 3-4K, obviously the response will be very good. peak torque is at 5.2K, and carries quite a bit to 6.5K.

Part throttle.. ITB throttle openings are not small by any measure, and they're known primarily for their throttle response after all. comparing to the previous setup, this engine has a lot more midrange power, but peak is just a little higher than the previous setup.. like 10 hp.

Dyno difference, I'm not too sure on this because you run tight ring gaps, you'll lose power when the engine gets hot, that's why dyno can be different each time, and sometimes when doing multiple runs without waiting for the engine to cool down, you can notice power coming down as the engine starts to heat up. Since the car is stationary, and the fan cannot duplicate the amount of air at 100kmh and up, any engine running on the dyno will heat up.

Once we had a B18C dyno tuned, and as the runs went into the 6-7th run, the power kept decreasing no matter what we did, increasing ignition, increasing fuel, decrease, power kept coming down. Stopped, let it cool, and the power was back.

Tyre pressure also affects dyno reading, but not by much, unless you have very low tire pressure and there's more drag and lowers your dyno reading. Overinflating don't affect things as much tho'.

once I finish the head work on mine, gonna go on-road tune it, and then I'm gonna go crazy on the dyno. Probably gonna dyno at a few places just to see how different dyno's can output different results. And I'm going to datalog everything (that's the entire point of having datalogs) and observe the difference in intake temp and air pressure, and if those two have any bearings at all on the dyno readings.

I simply don't think hp readings would differ as much as 30hp. 10-15hp, maybe, but 30hp? Think better mark down the temperatures each time dynoing, ECT, IAT, etc. It might be that underhood temps play a lot of bearing on dyno readings. Even without CAI, my air intake temp can vary by 10 degs depending on speed/ambient temp. (I think you can see the hondata video in my old thread how the intake air temp (IAT) decreases as the car gains speed) and definitely that's not duplicate-able on the dyno because of the fan they use just can't generate enough airspeed without blowing their customers away.. :P

Maybe AFR too (shouldn't be the case, since open loop WOT run doesn't have fuel trim like part throttle, which is why if tuning part throttle, it's actually only playing with the tip in-enrichment, because the damn 02 sensor keeps reverting to stoich for fuel economy if you use the same throttle percentage long enough, so unless sacrifice fuel economy and run open loop, I don't think throttle response will ever be as good as full open loop setups with proper tune.)

becareful with hyper power dyno...
make sure the figure is not the engine correction...

last time my b16a nearly 200atw hp... but its after engine correction...
try dyno it at other place... perhaps any using dynojet...

ops one more think u can play with the temperature reading when using hyper power... but using dynojet, it will be calculated automatically...

one good thing about altering the temp is u can get a consistent reading on dyno regardless u run the session at any weather condition...

well, actually the numbers are after engine & ambient correction. 2%only

Still, anything above 250hp is good already :P

A surprise with the ITBs though, midrange is well aboe the previous setup.

kinda thought is would be 290ish like the previous setup.

the dynojet oso got different in reading... especially when comparing from smaller drum n bigger drum... 224 and 248. but the graph shud be same.
i've never run any dyno using dyno dynamics, so cant comment much on it.. but heard a lot about it... :)

well, actually the numbers are after engine & ambient correction.

Still, anything above 250hp is good already :P

yes, 250atw is achievable using b-series... but not more than 300atw i think...
talking about common... forget about b-series scientist project like in usa...

Actually endyn only made 270ish hp at the wheel as well.. and he made 318 on the engine dyno as well.. not to far from expectations.

shiroi, when u going to start ur own 300hp b20b project?? :biggrin:

hahah.. crazy.. the price of the rods alone can buy me a complete normal B20B/Vtec engine oh.

Well, due to owner's permission, I can only show dyno results, but no details, although I know them, as for the general setup, big displacement, big cams, 9K rev limit, ITBs.

And total cost should be well below the price on the new Civic type R.. lol. Probably about a bit less than half for the engine alone.

Dunno if the ITB's contributed or not, because it was never dynoed with a plenum intake, but the previous result was about 200 something hp only, and that was at 6K rpm limit before the gasket 'mampos'ed. So on hold for quite a few months, but it was quite a surprise seeing 200+hp at 6K without running a turbo when I first saw the chart.

Initially thought the cams were too big for the setup, but it seems to work fine in the end.

Obviously it's not a daily driven car.

Not a surprise, your compression suits the ITB size thats why low-mid rpm power strong.

click to enlarge

That is a very fat tourqe with "fair" high end power. My guess is you using 48mm thrott ITB with a 3 inch (or less) intake plenum before butterfly to have that kind of powerband. It must be more than 2 litre (long block) ? Where are the injector placement, on the head or after butterfly ?