Autogauge AFR gauge

Choon

Recently i've installed autogauge air-fuel ratio meter to my wira se. When i start the car, the needle points to the 'optimal' region. Once you start driving, the meter will fluctuate from 'lean' to 'rich' region continuously. I would like to ask all the people out there, is this normal? I noe the ECU is trying to adjust the afr continuously, but even at idling, the meter fluctuates. And the worst thing is, it fluctuates end-to-end when i accelerate.. erm.. considerably hard.. Sumore can hear the sound 'tick, tick tick' then the meter hits the end of the range.. wah.. so scared.. like gonna break..

could be faulty o2 sensorand for info , ecu only adjusts its settings on idle and crusing, on other driving times, o2 sensor doesnt function to the ecu

oo.. lidat.. thanks for the info..

so meaning it's normal for the reading to fluctuate during idle and cruising speed and not during acceleration?

check ur o2 sensor....

afr gauge fluctuates might also due to ur diving style.... normally a fuel injection car runs on 2 loop system... open-loop and closed-loop.... when open-loop, needle usually points to rich region... and when close-looped, usually points at optimal region....

i've seen some devices like the Apexi rev-timer or the ARK rev-shift-timer ........ among other functions, they also have a digital readout of the AFR. But it is not a solely dedicated digital afr meter

ok thanks... atleast Innovate not the only 1 or 2 product that can show the digital AFR in market... i just looking for those small small 1 only....:adore:

the Apexi turbo timer, pen type, also shows theoretical afr, in digital form rite?

skywalker, i lazy to check the o2 sensor ad.. dun have the proper tools sumore.. have to jack the whole car up using the normal jack, use hand to pusing that type. i think just see whether the fc will increase o not la. if increase, then o2 sensor faulty, rite?

i used to have a dedicated AFR meter for my previous ride. purchased it as a DIY kit from jaycar australia. forgot how much already but its around 60AUD. tapped to stock OEM oxygen sensor (narrowband)

when tapped to a mitsu oxygen sensor, the reading is comparable to a wideband. when wideband showed 14.7 on idle, the narrowband show the same and same goes during boosting. its roughly 10-20% different during boost. the only difference was during driving, the wideband reacts faster to throttle changes (off boost to on boost and full boost) while narrowband reacted slower but when wideband showed 12.0 at full boost, narrowband showed around between a range of 11.8-12.5. i can say that it is quite reliable.

but when i installed it to a nissan oxygen sensor, it all goes haywire. from 11.5 during idle, to 15.3 during full boost. either faulty oxygen sensor or the AFR meter not compatible with the oxygen sensor.

trying next on a toyota oxygen sensor, dunno how its going to be...

here's a pic of my digital AFR meter
25e.jpg

correction: i didnt install it myself, actually my tuner did it and credits to him too for assembling n installing the meter to my car. hehehe

i used to have a dedicated AFR meter for my previous ride. purchased it as a DIY kit from jaycar australia. forgot how much already but its around 60AUD. tapped to stock OEM oxygen sensor (narrowband)

when tapped to a mitsu oxygen sensor, the reading is comparable to a wideband. when wideband showed 14.7 on idle, the narrowband show the same and same goes during boosting. its roughly 10-20% different during boost. the only difference was during driving, the wideband reacts faster to throttle changes (off boost to on boost and full boost) while narrowband reacted slower but when wideband showed 12.0 at full boost, narrowband showed around between a range of 11.8-12.5. i can say that it is quite reliable.

but when i installed it to a nissan oxygen sensor, it all goes haywire. from 11.5 during idle, to 15.3 during full boost. either faulty oxygen sensor or the AFR meter not compatible with the oxygen sensor.

trying next on a toyota oxygen sensor, dunno how its going to be...

here's a pic of my digital AFR meter
25e.jpg

wah...:smokin:
can get 1 for me..?? i'm very interested....:smokin:

i've been looking around, couldnt find any. thats why i ordered from aussie...
now lying around in my room cos my car is still in workshop hehehe

ai bro can specify the product name n model?
i got fren cming from aussie to msia soon...

yaya.. let us know so that I can ask my fren buy 1 from me at AU...hehehe

hey ppl, i notice something today on my afr gauge. after accelerating hard on high gear, then the needle will tick tick tick as i mentioned earlier la.. but after that when i decelerate, the needle point the leanest end..

then i got me thinking, is the ecu so smart that when it detects high vacuum with zero throttle position, the fuel injectors stop injecting fuel to the cylinder, causing super lean exhaust? got such thing ah?

Write your reply...